Allan Takes Aim Blog

Carry on politically

Posted on: 11 August 2009


Published in The Chronicle, Canberra, Tuesday 4 August

Recently watching parliamentary debates on TV a deep sense of déjà vu overcame me so I turned off the TV and started to read the film and book reviews in Panorama, the Canberra Times Saturday Magazine.

 Interesting as they were, the reviews didn’t manage to stifle the sense of déjà vu. Why? I  asking myself. Was it because they brought back deep -seated memories of famous parliamentary debates I had heard or read about – they didn’t – or school debates? As I mused on, I realised it couldn’t have been the school debates either: they had been sensible.

 And though there was a connection but because school debates did not quite fit the bill, I googled parliamentary debates and thought I was onto something when one section said: “ … the quality and depth of a debate improves with knowledge and skill of its participants as debaters. Deliberative bodies such as parliaments, legislative assemblies, and meetings of all sorts engage in debates the outcome ofwhich may be decided by audience vote, by judges, or by some combination of the two.Formal debates between candidates for elected office, such as the leaders debates and the U.S. presidential election debates, are common in democracies.”

When I read these words I wondered had I been really been watching parliamentary debates or an amateur dramatic society rehearsing a series of badly written and farcical political dramas. If the latter, what I saw would have been excusable, but when I looked up the TV Guide and found they really were parliamentary debates, I was tempted to write to the Speakers of both Houses saying that if what I saw on television was the best politicians could do, the broadcasts should be stopped. I then thought of adding, that with the Government seemingly having an unlimited amount of cash to give away, perhaps consideration should be given to refunding taxpayers their eight cents a day.

Then the school connection clicked in. The debates were like school fights where combatants yelled at each other although, in parliament, expletives were implied but not voiced.

Later, while watching “Corner Gas,” a Canadian comedy show on SBS my sense of déjà vu was stirred again. Not that Corner Gas was anything like the parliamentary debates; like the school debates, it was too intelligent. No, what Corner Gas brought to mind were the “Carry On” films, which took my mind off in another direction, the local film industry.

Many people in Canberra know of my interest in the film industry because, over the years, I have written a number of columns suggesting that Canberra had everything needed to become Australia’s film making capital. Indeed at one time during the days of Pauline Hanson, I suggested that the political events of the day could be the theme of a science fiction film set in Canberra, a suggestion, unfortunately, that came to nought. Had it been adopted, it’s possible that the “Utegate” and the “OzCar” sagas played out before the nation in the National Parliament before it rose for the winter break might not have occurred.

Although my suggestion was not taken up, I am not easily put off. So in light of Utegate and OzCar, let me suggest another political film that could easily be made in Canberra. Not a political science fiction film this time but a farce, tentatively titled ” Carry On Politically” sub titled: a true view of the Canberra political scene.

 The great thing  about this film  is that it could be made when Parliament was sitting so avoiding the need to build scenery, write a script, or pay actors – taxpayers would already be paying them. Indeed the only thing needed would be a musical score with a dramatic overture, some music in the style of a Gilbert and Sullivan; some dull symphonic music to accompany major announcements; and some chamber music.

Putting Parliament on the big screen perhaps might also bring to light some Australian equivalents of Carry On stars Kenneth Williams, Joan Sims, Frankie Howerd, Sid James and Hattie Jacques, et al. Indeed, I would put forward some names but for the law of defamation so Instead I’ll let you Carry On doing that for yourself.

For Canberra local news get “The Chronicle.” Published every Tuesday

1 Response to "Carry on politically"

Woah! I really loving the template of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that perfect balance?between superb usability and visual appearance. I must say you have done a fantastic job with this.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
