Allan Takes Aim Blog

What Labor says

Posted on: 10 August 2010


Published The Chronicle Tuesday 10 August, 2010

This the third of the four pre election columns

 Gai Brodtmann. Labor Candidate For Canberra. E-mail: brodtmann@netspeed.com.au

 I love Canberra. I’ve studied and taught at our universities, worked in the public service, run my own small business and volunteered with community organisations to improve local services. I want it to continue prospering.

 Canberrans want a stable public service, growing and thriving businesses and strong local economy. For me, this election is all about public and private sector jobs, economic stability and continuing to build better health and education services. Like many public servants I experienced first hand the Howard Government’s public service cuts. Now, as a small business owner, I appreciate how public service cuts cause pain for Canberra businesses. I’ll stand up for Canberra.

As a volunteer with community organisations, I’ve delivered real results with a commitment to lifting organ donation rates, raising funds to improve health services and increasing access to services for people with disabilities. Federal Labor has put health and education at the core of its reform and investment agenda. These are essential services and I will work to ensure we get our fair share of Federal funding. Canberra is a beautiful city that needs local members who know how to build on its assets while balancing the needs of our environment and lifestyle. I will be a strong voice for Canberra.

Andrew Leigh, Labor Candidate for Fraser. http://www.andrewleigh.com.

 I believe in an Australia where equality of opportunity is not only the foundation of our society but also a guiding principle for how we live. It is also a place whose wealth should be shared by everyone. I believe in an Australia where a fair go is extended to all, including society’s most vulnerable, where every citizen should be able to contribute to making their country a better place for everyone to live in.

I believe in an Australia where, as we celebrate the golden threads of our history we also work together to meet the challenges of today and strive as one nation and one people to reaffirm our conviction that the best is yet to come. We know there is more to do. For example Labor will continue to improve the health system; ensure our education system can still transform lives; ensure Australians get a fairer deal for the resources they own; and, by working hard ensure the environment we leave our children is better than the one we inherited. Labor’s history has always been one of bold vision and reform. Canberra is a great example of these values so, by returning a Labor Government you will help continue this tradition. 

 Opinion

Basic research would have alerted Labor that voters thought the ‘Moving Forward’ slogan inane, a view that gained even more credibility when Prime MInister Gillard announced her Citizens’ Assembly policy. Voters thought this even more inane because it sounded like a Focus Group, apart from which, how could such an Assembly be established? 

And because of the role perception plays in politics today people are judged by how they look and sound what of the Prime Minster? She looks not bad but her inflectionless voice and repetition of the slogan is more likely to send voters into a trance than woo them to her cause. And though she uses the word passion often, her speeches, which seem to have been determined by political expediency, lack passion. And though the slogan was intended to show her interest in progressing Australia, it could also be seen as suggesting that Australians had stopped working.

That said, to where does she want to move Australia? She cannot afford another failed revolution like the BER, nor have people wondering if her policies will lead to more pink batts disasters. And although appearing to contradict my earlier statement that she lacks passion, I think she has a cold passion but it is for power rather than people.

And so she should be careful. While Australians admire people with ambition they condemn, rather than congratulate, them if they destroy people to realise it. On that basis I suspect that like Lady Macbeth, Prime Minister Gillard will forever be tainted by the notoriety attaching to her role in the execution of ex Prime Minister  Rudd

The Chronicle, for Canberra’s best community news. Published every Tuesday

2 Responses to "What Labor says"

Yes, I think that there is a real danger of Australia being saddled with Tony Abbott as Prime Minister. And why are Labor politicians referring to the Greens as Communists? Haven’t they made a preference vote deal with them? I am bewildered.

Marylin, you are not the only bewildered Canberran. In fact I’m so bewidered that for the first time in my life I might use the chinese method to pick who to vote for.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
