Allan Takes Aim Blog

Calling all Picts

Posted on: 28 October 2010


First published The Chronicle, Canberra ,Tuesday 26 October 

The only connection between SETI and Seti is that both deal with the extra terrestrial. SETI is the acronym for Search for Extra Terrestrial Intelligence while Seti, the son of Pharaoh Rameses II, is already extra terrestrial having gone there many centuries ago. And though I don’t know where he went to, I doubt SETI will encounter him. 

Now you might be inclined to think it would make more sense if SETI, rather than try to find extra terrestrial intelligence – a search similar to that of finding a needle in a haystack – mounted a search to find earthly intelligence. Indeed considering the state of Australian politics, readers might think they should concentrate their search in Australia.

Although the idea of life on other planets has many sceptics, I am a believer. To show my belief, and though not able to see any of the millions of planets in the universe, I have decided to adopt one which in tribute to my ancestry I have called Planet “Gael.”

Planet Gael, a thousand light years from earth, is inhabited by a super intelligent race called Picts and has a Capital called Caledonia. And though I cannot imagine Gael’s topographical features one thing I can imagine is Picts staring out into space wondering if other planets are home to species of intelligent beings.

For the purpose of this column I have decided to call the Picts “beings’ if only to distinguish them from earthly humans. Clearly if SETI finds Gael and makes contact with the PICTS this will create a problem for those humans who believe earth is the only inhabited planet

And if it turns out the Picts are super intelligent beings those humans who think a mysterious God made humans the only intelligent species, will find it difficult to accept the idea of Picts living on Gael. But perhaps even more frightening for them, even if not frightening to many other people on earth, will be the thought of the Picts being more intelligent than humans.

While not dismayed at the thought of SETI not being able to make contact with Gael, what dismays me and makes me jealous is that it is unlikely that I will be living when this great event occurs. I am sure too, that when found, and due to the Picts’ superior intelligence, it will be discovered that, unlike Australia, the Picts have developed a society that is not in thrall to politicians and developers.

That apart when contact is made we humans will want to know what the Picts look like. I confess I have no idea answer although I cannot imagine them looking like us. And by way of consolation to those for whom earth is the only planet in the Universe, I offer the following. With Gael more than a thousand light years from earth, unless a means of keeping humans alive for light years is discovered, a meeting between humans and Picts seems highly unlikely because a light year equals 10 trillion kilometers (9.5 x 1012 km).

On the other hand there could be another reason. If beings from other planets are of superior intelligence, perhaps the Picts have visited earth already and decided not to make their presence known because they do not want to make contact with planets where the intelligence of the residents is so woeful that conversation with them would be impossible. 

Nevertheless, and despite my belief that it would be a great disaster if Picts never made contact with humans beings or vice versa, I am aware that in the quest to make contact with extra terrestrial intelligences, the challenges are enormous.

And though the scientists running the SETI programme are aware that the capacity of their equipment is limited, and despite the fact that great strides are being made in the development of sophisticated communications technology, they remain ever optimistic.

I suspect also, that not a day passes without them hoping to make a breakthrough in establishing contact with other civilisations. If that happens, I feel certain their shouts of success will be so loud they will be heard around the world without having to resort to facebook, twitter, you tube or any other communication device.   

dca@netspeed.com.au

For Canberra’s best community news The Chronicle published every Tuesday

 

 

4 Responses to "Calling all Picts"

Exceptional post, thank you a good deal for sharing. Do you have an RSS feed I can subscribe to?

There are certainly a lot of details like that to take into consideration. That is a great point to bring up. I offer the thoughts above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you bring up where the most important thing will be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, but I am sure that your job is clearly identified as a fair game. Both boys and girls feel the impact of just a moment’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

Your place is valueble for me. Thanks!…

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
