Allan Takes Aim Blog

A New Year Blog

Posted on: 31 December 2010


A New Year’s message

I’d like to ask a favour of everyone who logs on to Allan Takes Aim or reads The Chronicle, Canberra’s free community newspaper.

However, before asking, I wish all of them Happy New Year and hope it is a year of good health, prosperity and success.

The favour: I’d like you to pass on the same wishes to those people who because of poverty or homelessness, can’t log on. I’d also like to ask the same of those who don’t log on regularly.

I ask this favour because, a young man, I could have gone on to become permanently poverty stricken and homeless without the help and encouragement given by people I didn’t know.

I have since found that kind words and encouragement given by honest people are among the greatest spurs to a better life than are many other incentives.

A short blog

As a blog beginner I realised quickly that getting people to read ‘Allan Takes Aim’ was more difficult than I had ever imagined. Indeed I started the blog based on nothing more than the words of friends that what I wrote was so good it would soon become essential reading for people interested in politics among other things.

It didn’t take long for me to be quickly brought down to earth; people did not log on or make comments in droves. People have been slow to visit the web site but signs are encouraging.

Some people have suggested that to encourage visitors I try a few marketing gimmicks. I won’t because the opinions contained in the blogs are meant as a serious commentary that I hope will help stimulate people to take a greater interest and comment on how they are governed and other issues that concern them.

My thanks to all who read, comment or even just muse on its content. Let me assure you the blog will continue in the same vein and with your help visitor numbers will continue to grow.

1 Response to "A New Year Blog"

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
