Allan Takes Aim Blog

Start mourning now: Facebook and Twitter are doomed

Posted on: 17 January 2011


Blog of 17 January, 2011

I try to keep abreast of friends and enemies by taking a squiz at Facebook from time to time. Once upon a time I used to take a look at Twitter to check on them but because Facebook seems slightly better I decided to become Twitter free.  

For me also, being able to say anything really meaningful about politics and politicians in 140 characters (with spaces) on twitter was beyond my capacity. And while the words “they are frauds and charlatans” is meaningful, because constant repetition would make it less so, the decision to become Twitter free was made for me.   

Although Twitter and Facebook were lauded as social networks I confess I have always thought of them as anti- social. Indeed it is my contention their real effect will not be seen for some time, that time being when they have been consigned to the technology graveyard in cyber space although I suspect they will hang around for a time in the same way as hula- hoops, Rubik’s cube and skateboards.

I expect also that at some time in the not too distant future, a baby currently engrossed in crawling around the floor in search of something it knows not what, will announce, even before it reaches its first two digit number birthday, another new type of social network.

As to what kind future networks to expect I haven’t a clue although it seems to me that like Facebook and Twitter they, too, will be new versions of drum language and the morse code. And, speaking of the latter, it seems to me also that there is good reason to keep drum language and morse alive because, in the future, if there is a total breakdown of technology we may need to turn to drumbeats and dots and dashes in sound to maintain contact over a distance.

A further good reason: in future people might have given up the power of speech and become totally reliant on technology for communication.

With technology and speech gone, drums and morse would also bring a substantial bonus to politics and business. Not only would spin doctors disappear but politicians, diplomats, spies, business operators and developers would no longer be able to deal secretly and silently, as everything they wanted to say to each other would be exposed and become part of the public domain. Another bonus: there would be lean pickings for any would be Julian Assanges.

Now if only I could be sure this would happen I could write a book: I rather fancy 2184 as a title.

2 Responses to "Start mourning now: Facebook and Twitter are doomed"

Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all Ill be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Simply want to say your article is as astounding. The clearness in your publish is simply great and i could assume you are knowledgeable on this subject. Well along with your permission let me to take hold of your RSS feed to keep up to date with drawing close post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please keep up the gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
