Allan Takes Aim Blog

Answers to euthanasia and same sex ‘marriage’

Posted on: 24 March 2011


First published The Chronicle, Tuesday 22 March, 2011

 Much as I believe the Greens when they claim it is in the interests of democracy that they want the ACT to have the same law making powers as the States (don’t we all?), I believe their agenda is much narrower. I believe their agenda is to make euthanasia and same sex ‘marriage’ legal.

With power over the minority Federal and ACT Labor Governments they believe the time is opportune to realise their goals. However, I believe that Australian voters, Labor, Liberal, Democrat, Independent, Anarchist, Agnostic, Atheist et al, are starting to think the Greens agenda is bad for Australia and so at the next Federal or ACT Election the Green vote will be less successful. 

That said, in my opinion they are now manipulating the Assembly by supporting ACT Labor as a minority Government in expectation that Labor will support their agenda for same sex marriage, which the Chief Minister supports, in preference to euthanasia, which he opposes. It would be wrong of me not to state my position: I support neither. But let me make it clear that my opposition is not founded on religious belief, of which I have none. And, being apolitical also, agreeing with the Chief Minister about euthanasia is not politically based.

Indeed I have never discussed with the Chief Minister why he opposes euthanasia, although I have discussed the subject with many supporters and understand why they support it. However, their reasons are not for me.

My opposition to euthanasia is based on the philosophy expressed by Dylan Thomas in his famous poem about death, titled: ‘Do not go gentle into that good night’ which is said to express his thoughts as he watched his father grow weak and frail in his old age. For me the poem seems to say that no matter how they lived their lives or their pain, they should die fighting. Indeed for me the words imply that one should not die without fighting for one’s life.

As for same sex marriage the words themselves seem to indicate that it is something out of the norm. It is. And nor has it ever been the norm since man travelled out of Africa to the various parts of the world they occupy today.

During their travels groups of them decided to settle down in various places and in doing so not only did they create new cultures they also changed physically. However, history shows that in all of the new cultures and regardless of physical change or change in their political environments, marriage between a man and a woman held its special place as a social priority. Indeed marriage became a special rite that even Prime Minister Julia Gillard supports even if, like me, she does not think it sacred. 

But what is happening today is that would be social engineers are trying to change marriage from being a special rite which, even in the millenniums before the Sumerian civilisation of 5,000 years ago and the Indus Valley civilisations of 3,000 years ago, their ancestors practiced in the interests of social engineering, into a ‘right’ that has no social engineering value except the one they have created for it which is that it apply to people of the same sex.  

Over time marriage has been seen to confer special social values, particularly to children because it is through marriage that they learn they are the result of a unique physical relationship between a man and woman that cannot be replicated by any other two humans.

For various reasons, not all children will be able to enjoy that special relationship because it is beyond the skill of social engineers. And though not all children will go on and be able to enjoy this particular unique and special relationship nonetheless they should be able to enjoy and celebrate a special and unique relationship.

Having thought long about this problem it seems to me ‘Betrothed’ conveys the love and constancy of a same sex special relationship that can be celebrated with joy.

I believe also that, not only does it give equality to such a relationship it also creates a relationship that will be found acceptable in most countries around the world.

The Chronicle for Canberra’s best community news. Published every Tuesday

6 Responses to "Answers to euthanasia and same sex ‘marriage’"

I am very happy to tell you that all of your articles are amazing and I truly adore the way you put each and every sentence. I would rate you 8.75 out of 10. Brilliant work,Get going. Your grammatical sense is just superb. Carry on the good work.And yes i have tweeted your site donallan.wordpress.com .

Many thanks for your comment. Hope many others feel the same. I look forward to reading more of your comments

This is very intriguing indeed. I’m shocked this information is not more widely available, however thanks for your attention to it! This is likely the most comprehensive source I have found thus far, and it really is quite useful. Cheers

Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

so much superb information on here, : D.

Thankyou for this post, I am a big fan of this internet site would like to proceed updated.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
