Allan Takes Aim Blog

An interesting week in politics

Posted on: 6 April 2011


First published The  Chronicle Tuesday, April 5 2001 

 What makes an interesting week in politics? Silly sods like me think an interesting week is when some politicians manage to put out new ideas or new policies they think will help benefit the people they represent rather than ideas and policies they think will help improve the image they have of themselves as innovative and intelligent.

But silly sod or not, like most people, I think I can sort the political wheat from the political chaff and so the only thing I’m likely to think when I read what some politicians put out is that they are even bigger dills than I thought.

Nevertheless, two weeks ago as I contemplated the political program of the week ahead, it gave promise of being interesting. The first item on the program showed that on the Wednesday, an anti carbon tax protest would take place on the hill outside parliament house while on the Saturday, a mass execution of New South Wales Labor politicians would take place.

I was in no doubt the carbon tax protest would attract a large crowd and also generate heat in parliament. It did both. The former from the pro carbon tax lobby, the latter to the extent that, if Australia had a pollution policy that fined people for creating unnecessary volumes of (CO2) the politicians would still be paying off the fine even after the next election.

A fact not generally known is that expiration of breath produces more nitrous oxide (N20) – known as laughing gas – than CO2, although in this case the volume must have been lower than usual because laughter was noticeable by its absence.

Indeed neither the words on the placards of the protestors that some pro carbon tax supporters alleged maligned the Prime Minister, nor the later verbal sparring in Parliament, inclined one to laughter. If anything, the poverty of expression in the exchanges from both sides displayed a poverty of intelligence that did little to aid the cause of either.

But of the two, the verbal sparring in Parliament was the most serious because it will be enshrined in Hansard and become a model for future generations of parliamentarians to follow.

Of course, watchful of votes, Cabinet Ministers in the minority Labor Government aided and abetted by Senator Bob Brown, Leader of the Greens Party which is helping keep the minority Government in power, called on the anti carbon Placard People – many of them older citizens – and Opposition Leader Tony Abbott, to apologise for maligning the Prime Minister.

However, if anyone needed to apologise it seems to me Senator Brown is the one who should be apologising, at least to the older Placard People (Tony Abbott can look after himself) for the words of James Higgins, a Greens candidate at the 2008 ACT election who, it was alleged on a local radio station had twittered in relation to the protest of the Placard People, that this was a world for young people and that the Placards People, should GTF away. And there was I thinking that Twitter was a social network. So what about it Senator Brown? 

And then on Saturday came the political show of the week, the mass execution of NSW Labor politicians predicted by various political oracles. Like the curate’s egg their predictions were only good in parts.

You might say the NSW elections have nothing to do with the ACT. Well, yes and no. It is important for the ACT as part of the larger regional area that includes Queanbeyan, maintains good cross border relationships with the NSW government particularly with reference to the areas where we serve each other.

These areas are many. With so much of Canberra’s needs being serviced by road, it is important that roads within the region that connect to, and are used to service Canberra, are well maintained. These roads are also important to Canberra’s tourism industry, as they carry the bulk of domestic tourists, the mainstay of Canberra’s tourism industry.

But Canberra is connected in many other ways: hospital, education services, sport, fitness and many cultural activities. Last, but certainly not least, Queanbeyan and surrounding areas house thousands of people who help keep the wheels of industry turning in Canberra.

dca@netspeed.com.au           

The Chronicle for Canberra’s best community news. Published every Tuesday.

And if you’ve got something to say email  a Letter to the editor news@chronicle.com.au

2 Responses to "An interesting week in politics"

This it is a great article. But first of all I must say all every one. Hello there. After this I must say that I have post https://donallan.wordpress.com/2011/04/06/an-interesting-week-in-politics/ on my Digg profile. And this because at last I found what I was looking for. What you share here is really good sharing. In the second I saw this tittle, An interesting week in politics Allan Takes Aim Blog, on my google search I was very happy. Maybe I found something with the same ideea here http://www.xbileteavion.ro , I’m not sure but I thing it was the same. All the best

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
