Allan Takes Aim Blog

‘Idle talk’

Posted on: 16 April 2011


A Take Aim blog

 ‘Idle’ talk

Politicians of all shades in the political spectrum who rabbit on about idlers give me the pip when they talk about Australia’s low unemployment rate.

The current Government also boasts about how it kept unemployment low despite the Global Financial Crisis. And that’s another thing: how will we know when the GFC has ended and perhaps more importantly when will we know the real state of unemployment in Australia?

Well I think we’ve all heard that famous phrase there’s lies, damned lies and statistics. Well that’s what’s at work when Governments – this applies to all Governments – talk about employment statistics. Statistically if someone works for four hours week the raw number of unemployed drops by one and the employment rate goes up by one.

 Now I don’t know about you but in that four hours one would need to earn at an hourly rate equivalent to an hourly rate based on salaries earned by politicians, some millionaire developers and business executives not to mention some very well paid sporting if you didn’t want to be close to the poverty line.  

Why can’t people know the true state of affairs?

Worse still, many of those who work fours a week to try and keep the wolf from the door and a roof over their own heads and that of their children still need welfare assistance. This seems odd when politicians are still patting themselves on the back for a low rate of unemployment.

So at the next election, if by definition I fell into the ‘idler’ group, I’d be taking a very close look at the policies the various candidates support before deciding on who to vote for.

dca@netspeed.com.au

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
