Allan Takes Aim Blog

The IPCC: climate change Jeremiahs

Posted on: 20 April 2011


First published The Chronicle, Tuesday,  April 19,  2011

I view the Inter Governmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) as pessimists. I incline to that view because their theories say oceans will rise, islands will disappear and much of earth will become uninhabitable due to anthropogenic warming and a view that runs contrary to a commonly held view that science will solve the difficult problems with which humanity is faced.  That apart, why did oceans rise and islands disappear when man wasn’t around?

Indeed it seems to me the IPCC has lost the positive attitude most scientists have of give us time and we’ll solve even the most difficult problem without the need to alarm people.

Alas the attitude of the IPCC is negative. Like religious zealots they say their gospels on global warming and climate change cannot be questioned and like zealots when sceptics raise doubts they try to frighten them into believing by scaring them witless. In the case of the IPCC this is by saying that unless they believe, their children and their children’s children will not be able to live on Planet Earth adding the words: ‘the science is settled.’

Generally on the side of the IPCC the media dismisses the sceptics without questioning the science is settled statement. Even when it is clear that there are many mistakes in the IPCC’s published data the media endlessly supports it, particularly when it comments about the ignorance of sceptics because an argument on the future of life between leading groups of scientists is sure to capture the headlines.

In Australia, the Federal Government’s rhetoric identifies with the science is settled argument and so it says, never believe the opposition: only Government knows what is right. As for me, the IPCC has become a body of scientific Jeremiahs. Indeed if I believed in the IPCC’s bleak view of the future, my faith in science as a discipline that says there is no such a thing as an unsolvable problem would be destroyed.

Apart from media, some economists also have jumped on the IPCC bandwagon. This does not surprise Sceptics who know that economists even famous ones such as Britain’s Lord Stern and Professor Garnaut are, like Nostradamus, accurate predictors of the future.

That the IPCC and its supporters think of sceptics as being ignorant shows just how little they know about them. Their view that sceptics don’t believe in global warming and climate is wrong. To a limited extent sceptics believe in global warming and climate change but what they do not believe are the IPCC’s extremist forecasts.

The fact is that not only are sceptics not negative but unlike IPCC fundamentalists, some economists and politicians, they are optimists more interested in developing clean power than political power and corresponding agendas. 

Let me end by quoting Matt Ridley, B.A. Hons., D.Phil. (Oxon.), Hon.D.Sc., F.R.S.L., F.Med.Sci., (web: www.rationaloptimist.com ) who in talking about the future quotes what historian Macaulay said in 1830 : ‘ We cannot absolutely prove that those are in error who tell us that society has reached a turning point, that we have seen our best days but so said all who came before us and with just as much apparent reason.

‘The eternal, enduring pessimism of human beings about the future does real harm by persuading people, especially the young, to retreat from adventure and enterprise into anomie. Sure, the world has problems: Aids, Islamofascism, carbon dioxide. But I bet we can solve them as we have solved others.’

And to complement Ridley’s words let me now quote Harold Lewis, Emeritus Professor of Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara, former Chair the Defense Science Board, Chair Technology panel; Chair DSB study on Nuclear Winter; Former member Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards and President’s Nuclear Safety Oversight Committee; Chairman APS study on Nuclear Reactor Safety.

On October 8, 2010 after 67 years as a member of the American Physics Society and twice its President, this eminent Professor resigned. His letter of resignation sent shockwaves through the scientific community coming as it did from such a distinguished source. Lewis wrote: ‘Global warming is the greatest and most successful pseudoscientific fraud I have seen in my long life’ (web. GLOBAL WARMING: GREATEST PSEUDO-SCIENTIFIC FRAUD – HAROLD LEWIS)

For Canberra’s best community news get The Chronicle, published every Tuesday

dca@netspeed.com.au

3 Responses to "The IPCC: climate change Jeremiahs"

In it something is. Now all became clear, many thanks for the help in this question. 😥

hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this website, since I experienced to reload the website lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

What you have here it is an interesting article. But first of all I must say all every one. Salve. And second I must say that I will post https://donallan.wordpress.com/2011/04/20/the-ipcc-climate-change-jeremiahs on my Facebook profile. And this because in the end I found what I was looking for. What you post here is really respectable post. In the minute I saw this tittle, The IPCC: climate change Jeremiahs Allan Takes Aim Blog, in my google search I was very happy. Maybe I found something with the same ideea here http://www.xfly.ro, I’m not sure but I thing it was the same. All the best

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
