Allan Takes Aim Blog

Does the adage a change is as good as a rest also apply to politics?

Posted on: 19 June 2011


Plus ça change plus c’est la même chose best describes the recent changes to the ACT Assembly. Not unhappily, ACT members of the Australian Labor Party occupying seats in the Assembly personally hope the situation does not change for a long time and that their party retains a majority of seats. On the other hand Liberal Members Party hope the situation will change in the future and that they will secure a majority of seats.

Once upon a time the names Labor and Liberal might reasonably have described what was the ethos of each party while today many people find it hard to determine if they have a different ethos.   

And then there are the Greens. What is their ethos? While some members of The Greens seem truly interested in the environment, the issue that spurred its formation, since it became a political party one would hesitate to say today that seems to be its main motivation. Today it seems that some Greens don’t know whether they’re Artha or Martha, while others seem well to the left of left wing Labor but lack the conviction to declare themselves as such, lest they be seen as deep red rather than green.

Naturally, none of the parties agree with any of these propositions.

But apart from the foregoing parties, Canberra has other parties that the local media has relegated to the political sidelines. Indeed in a sense it has even relegated the Liberals to the political sidelines perhaps because of bias or dislike of its national image.

Other relegated parties are, the Community Alliance Party and the ACT Democrats, both of which contested the last election and will, I understand, also contest the next election. And while I don’t know, perhaps other parties that contested the last election will again be throwing their hats in the ring at the next election.

Despite their use of ‘community’ in their names, it seems to me that with regard to these parties, local media act like mushroom growers by keeping the community in the dark about these parties. Is that because they know more about politics than the community? If they do could they please explain how they gained their expertise?

But perhaps it’s not politics but popularity that interests them, which is why they publish and broadcast constantly rumour of internal party squabbling between people who seem more interested in acquiring office, like people who squabble over an estate they think they are entitled to, leaving constituents forgotten until the squabbling is over.

dca@netspeed.com.au

10 Responses to "Does the adage a change is as good as a rest also apply to politics?"

Great!…

You know i dont usual comment, but i truly like your blog and i thought i would introduce myself. I have been reading it for awhile but this is my very first comment….

Welcome to the site. I write into the blogosphere in the hope that if what I say makes sense, readers will pass the message on to their friends who, in turn, might pass it on to their friends. In the past I’ve found this to be the best way to foster discussion and possibly bring about change

Here is a link…

I love this blog and every thing about it. I have been reading it for awhile but have yet to say hello. well…Hello!…

And hello in return. It’s always good to get someone responding and even better if they liked what they read. Let me say I also welcome correspondents suggesting possible blog subjects to write about that’s if they don’t want to write them personally. I can only say that if anyone suggests a subject and I write about it they will get full credit for the idea. So keep reading, writing and encouraging people to join with you

Great page, now let’s come across a number of beneficial free chat rooms

Howdy! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

I’m excited to find this site. I need to to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!! I definitely liked every bit of it and i also have you saved to fav to check out new stuff on your web site.

I’m more than happy to uncover this web site. I want to to thank you for ones time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely liked every bit of it and I have you saved as a favorite to see new things in your website.

May I simply say what a relief to uncover a person that truly knows what they are talking about online. You certainly understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people really need to check this out and understand this side of your story. I was surprised you are not more popular since you most certainly possess the gift.

Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and also the rest of the website is extremely good.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
