Allan Takes Aim Blog

Power and status drive politics

Posted on: 4 August 2011


First published  The Chronicle Canberra, Tuesday 2 August, 2011

Little wonder young voters are cynical about whether or not their right to vote is a right worth exercising. From talking to them it seems their cynicism is based on the performances of some Federal, State and Territory politicians of whom they said, that rather than being transparent their performances seemed part of an introverted world of plotters that would put a dozen Guy Fawkes to shame. That apart, they thought too many politicians wanted power not because they wanted to use it in the interests of constituents but to boost their egos.  

 It would be easy to dismiss such views as nonsense but it seems to me that politicians, and those intending to take up a career in politics, should be listening to what young people are saying. And it wouldn’t do them any harm either to listen to what older voters are saying.

For example, during a recent conversation about politics with a group of young people, one young woman said there was clearly a lack of common sense among power brokers as the various Costello/Nelson/Abbott/Turnbull brouhahas over leadership. She added that the brouhahas had the unintended consequence of handing Labor’s leader Kevin Rudd the 2007 election on a plate, and a well filled plate at that. Was she right? 

In an attempt to find out I conducted a telephone poll of thirty Canberra voters and asked them what they thought. Of the thirty, 15 said they thought these brouhahas were unseemly political squabbles that had placed the Liberals in a bad light; 10 said they would never trust the Liberals; 3 said the brouhahas were simply arguments between men who thought they had a right to be Leader and wanted power; and 2 said: no comment.

Would that more of our politicians had the same common sense as that young woman. Indeed too many politicians today now seem to think common sense a fatally infectious disease they must avoid catching at all costs.

After the 2007 election as Labor continued to be popular in a stream of never ending opinion polls with Prime Minister Rudd’s level of popularity the best ever enjoyed by any Prime Minister, Labor congratulated itself feeling sure that Rudd and the party’s popularity would keep it in government for a long time. However, if Labor Party’s power brokers had had the same degree of common sense as they had complacency, they would have seen the danger signs. Unfortunately when finally they saw the danger signs they seemed to lose what little common sense they had and committed an act of political bastardry that still reverberates today.

The political assassination of Prime Minister Kevin Rudd showed Labor lacked common sense. It also confirmed that common sense now seems to be at a premium among politicians regardless of party, hence the recent squabbling among Liberals about leaders.

This lack of common sense as n the Gillard/ Rudd affair, also gave life to unintended consequences from which Labor still suffers. But there was a difference: not only was the Gillard/Rudd affair carried out when the party was in Government it also lived up to what young people thought of politicians, that they preferred the introverted world of plotting to transparency.

Not to put too fine a point on it the current hung Federal parliament created by the 2010 election can be attributed less to the increasing popularity of Greens and Independents than to lack of common sense among Labor’s power brokers. 

One of those unintended consequences was that it pushed the Liberals into creating a united front or as united a front as one can get in politics and in doing so improved their standing with voters. But some questions remain: will the unity last or will a new series of brouhahas take place?

 That said, it must be said also that elections today are contests more about popularity where candidates are judged winners because they have the best smile, hairstyle, looks and clothes than they are about policy.

Sadly, no longer are political parties centres from which will emerge ideas to improve the social and economic landscape for the benefit of the community but centres where selfish people congregate to compete for power and status.

The Chronicle for Canberra’s best Community news. Published every Tuesday

143 Responses to "Power and status drive politics"

great blog man, I really feel your writing style that you are using for your posts and stuff, really hollywood…

Sensible people don’t last long in politics these days – if they ever did. If they don’t give up politics voluntarily, disgusted by the lack of common sense in those around them in the political world, they are rapidly bundled out by their colleagues, who don’t want any sensible talk getting in the way of their own careers. Voters have trouble wading through the garbage to get to what the candidate is trying to hide. Usually the truth.

Thanks for your comment Marylin. Knowing there are people who share the same sentiments as me with regard to politics, even though we might not necessarily be in agreement on some of the issues that voters face today encourages me to continue expressing opinions that many politicians think should never be expressed. Would that the thousands of voters who think the same way expressed their views at the ballot box instead of being frightened of the thought that like Henny Penny (Chicken Little) the sky would fall if the status quo was not maintained, would welcome the thought that the sky would fall in on many of the candidates on the ballot paper. Indeed the very thought of a revolution taking place at the ballot box not only in Canberra but across Australia is a revolution I hope to live long enough to see. Could all of you please hurry it up as time is note on my side.

The United States is really composed of a bunch of small countries. It is really neat to see how there are different laws in each state and how each of them keep order. I am surprised that there isn’t more arguing between states but I think someday there will be. There is too much pride in each one for horrible things not to happen some day. It might not be a bad idea to just have one law for all states instead of them being able to make their own. Thoughts?

We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

Thanks, Power and status drive politics Allan Takes Aim Blog is a really excellent blog. I adore the information posted here regurarly and I frequently come back here for more. Just keep updating it.

Kiddos on the blog, a well deserved pat. Made me think about a few things you talked about. Gautam T Goudar

If I can help in any other way send me an e-mail: dac@netspeed.com.au

I couldn’t agree more but would be interested in what other readers think.

Pass the blog on to friends and see what they think

You surely understand how to carry an issue to light and allow it to be essential. I cant feel youre not more common because you undoubtedly have the reward.

Will only become better known with your help. For exampl:, encourgaging people on your own network to log on to Don Allan takes Aim

Great!! Nice and informative.

Great!! Nice and informative.

Needed to post you the very little word so as to give thanks once again on the stunning tips you have documented in this case. This has been certainly wonderfully open-handed with people like you to give unreservedly exactly what a lot of folks could have offered as an e-book in making some bucks for themselves, precisely since you might have tried it in the event you decided. Those inspiring ideas also served as the easy way to be certain that someone else have the identical desire similar to my own to see good deal more on the topic of this matter. I’m sure there are several more pleasurable periods up front for individuals who scan through your site.

I love to read this type of posts!!

Hey nice blog!! Thanks!!

Great blog.Thanks for sharing!

I had bad techniques for a long time and I am thrilled I have better techniques these days.

Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.

Very informative post.Thank You!

Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.

You are a very intelligent individual!

Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, very good site!

Nice and informative.Thanks for sharing.

very good post, i definitely love this web site, keep on it

This is a smart blog. I mean it. You have so much knowledge about this issue, and so much passion. You also know how to make people rally behind it, obviously from the responses. Youve got a design here thats not too flashy, but makes a statement as big as what youre saying. Great job, indeed.

whoa looks like some spammers got a hold of your site here, eh?

Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such wonderful information being shared freely out there.

I have a question, Where did you get your theme from?

Based on the behaviour of many politicians

Thanks for your reply

Yes I wrote a book “Pot Shots” about politics and politicians. Unfortunately it is now out of print

As long as the spammers are intelligent they can keep on spamming and commenting with short blogs of their own

I only wish everyone thought he same as you

Always pleased to accept positive advice.

Renaldo, it’s a pleasure to share.

Hope you like the rest of the blogs. Unbore and e-mail me a short blog of your own

I believe in sharing

While I agree with you not everyone will.

Just take your time and you’ll get something done. And as long as you like it, don’t worry about what other people think

Many thanks

Thanks for the useful post, But I’ve got a question, isn’t that somehow impossible?

Everyone complains about the Government doing nothing, but in reality it’s us doing nothing. If the people of this country would make a stand and make a demand for what is correct then things would finally change. It’s tiring hearing about what’s wrong with our land without action. Stand up for what you believe in.

Hi good blog and helpful.Thanks!!

Admiring the time and energy you put into your website and in depth information you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Really great info, exactly what i needed Thanks!

Nice post. I study one thing more challenging on totally different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to learn content material from other writers and apply a bit something from their store. I’d prefer to make use of some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a link in your internet blog. Thanks for sharing.

Nice share!! I Love to read this kind of post.

Thanks for your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back down the road. I want to encourage continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

Great information.

I just added this web site to my favorites. I really enjoy reading your posts. Thanks!

I read your blog and I like it! Thanks.

Can I just say what a relief to seek out somebody who really is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know easy methods to convey a problem to gentle and make it important. Extra individuals have to learn this and understand this side of the story. I cant consider youre no more fashionable since you definitely have the gift.

I’m having a tiny problem I cannot make my reader pick up your rss feed, I’m using google reader fyi.

This is a smart blog. I mean it. You have so much knowledge about this issue, and so much passion. You also know how to make people rally behind it, obviously from the responses. Youve got a design here thats not too flashy, but makes a statement as big as what youre saying. Great job, indeed.

Hey Admin/ Site Owner, This is an awesome blog. If you might ever need any backlinks visit- http://bit.ly/10k-backlinks .You would get 10,000 + links for $5, and you’ll see amazing result for this awesome site! Cheers & Wish your site all the success.

Nice and great post!!

As a person in his sixties, it’s unedifying watching Gloria Steinem raging against the tv show based around the Playby Club. It’s like seeing dinosaurs arguing long after they both should have been extinct. I’m absolutely for womens’ rights myself, and one of those is the right to walk around in skimpy clothing and let men make fools of themselves for money if they want to. Gloria, enough already!

I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You’re amazing! Thanks!

Can anyone help

Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

good info here glad i came

I like the valuable information in this blog.Thanks!

I see the youthful Peaches Geldof, changing tack a little here, has shed a remarkable amount of weight just recently. No-one seems alarmed about this but I have to wonder, given her family history of perhaps over-exuberant behaviour, whether this likeable young lady is as healthy as she might be. I do hope she is.

This is a smart blog. I mean it. You have so much knowledge about this issue, and so much passion. You also know how to make people rally behind it, obviously from the responses. Youve got a design here thats not too flashy, but makes a statement as big as what youre saying. Great job, indeed.

I used to be very happy to search out this net-site.I wanted to thanks on your time for this wonderful learn!! I positively having fun with every little little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you weblog post.

This is the perfect blog for anyone who wants to know about this topic. You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

Thank you for another essential article. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a complete way of writing? I have a presentation incoming week, and I am on the lookout for such information.

Wonderful site, where did you come up with the information in this article? I’m happy I found it though, ill be checking back soon to see what other articles you have.

I like this post.Informative!

Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people consider worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

I like the valuable information that they provide their articles. I’m going to bookmark your blog and check here regularly. I’m pretty sure I will learn many new things here! Good luck for next! Thank you for your hard work.

Simply, admirable what you have done here. It is pleasing to look you express from the heart and your clarity on this significant content can be easily looked. Remarkable post and will look forward to your future update.

Hey, just looking around some blogs, seems a pretty nice platform you are using. I’m currently using WordPress for a few of my sites but looking to change one of them over to a platform similar to yours as a trial run. Anything in particular you would recommend about it?

Hello.This post was really remarkable, especially because I was browsing for thoughts on this matter last Friday.

Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?

I’m hoping the same very best perform from you in the long run also. In fact your inventive writing skills has inspired me to begin my own BlogEngine blog now.

I’m hoping the same very best perform from you in the long run also. In fact your inventive writing skills has inspired me to begin my own BlogEngine blog now.

Simply desire to say your article is as astounding. The clearness in your post is just nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

I enjoyed reading this article. I need to learn more on this subject.. Thanks for writing this nice post.. Anyway, I’m gonna subscribe to your rss feed and I hope you post again soon.

This is the perfect blog for anyone who wants to know about this topic. You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

I’ve attempted very difficult to eliminate fast food from my diet regime. Naturally energy are the most significant problem, but for wellness purposes, I’ve targeted on minimizing harmful saturated fat. I never believed the day may arrive once I’d be thrilled to learn how great my cholesterol figures looked…hard getting old I guess! I agree that Subway is the go-to for healthy and balanced rapid super food however.

I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today..

You make it entertaining and you still manage to keep it smart. I cant wait to read more from you. This is really a great blog.

About time i found a blogger who knows whatn they are talking about good advice thankyou.

That was a truly great read. How long have you been publishing? I loved this article so very much, I linked to it from my web site at bed liner !

This is the appropriate weblog for anybody who wants to search out out about this topic. You understand a lot its nearly laborious to argue with you (not that I truly would need…HaHa). You undoubtedly put a brand new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, just nice!

I always read such kind of blogs.

I loved Power and status drive politics Allan Takes Aim Blog WOW!. my favorite posts of all time.

Wow…great site…https://donallan.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/power-and-status-drive… is #1! Please keep it up admin….amazing work…thumbs up!

Helpful meterial.I was looking for this.Thanks!

Great stuff from you, man. Ive read your stuff before and youre just too awesome. I love what youve got here, love what youre saying and the way you say it. You make it entertaining and you still manage to keep it smart. I cant wait to read more from you. This is really a great blog.

Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read something like this before. So good to search out any individual with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this website is something that is wanted on the net, someone with slightly originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the web!

Thanks for your comment. Keep writing but write to please yourself. If you don’t originality is lost. And if you try to write for newspapers etc., be prepared for your efforts to be turned down. As you will find out for some editors free speech is when you agree with their opinions.

I really liked the article, and the very cool blog

Glad you liked the blog and the comment. Let me encourage you to encourage your friends be they old, middle aged or young to statrt offering your opinions about what policies they think are needed to make the world a better place.

A real good web site. Just the loading time really are a little sluggish.Is this fact because I am in Germany or the page is often so gradual?

To deprive any prisoner of habeas corpus is dangerous and a slippery slope. During the enemy combatant frenzy, many innocent people were jailed without access to a lawyer. Any efforts to infringe on habeas corpus will endanger democracy in this country.

You shared very usefull infomation over here! I just wanna thank you for doing that! When you posted more articles like this, I wanna visit your blog even more!

very nice put up, i definitely love this web site, carry on it

thank you very much for sharing

I am glad that i found this web site through my search “google reklam ver”.

This was an interesting post

What youre saying is completely true. I know that everybody must say the same thing, but I just think that you put it in a way that everyone can understand. I also love the images you put in here. They fit so well with what youre trying to say. Im sure youll reach so many people with what youve got to say.

quite intriguing post

Congratulations on having one of many most sophisticated weblogs Ive come across in certain time! Its just amazing just how much you’ll be able to get away from some thing simply due to how visually beautiful it can be. Youve put collectively a great weblog space –great graphics, videos, layout. This can be undoubtedly a must-see weblog!

Great blogging. Keep it up 😉 Btw i found my self here while i was searching for “temizlik sirketleri antalya”

I can see that you are an somebody in this matter. I am beginning a site soon, and your info will be very functional for me.. Thanks for all your help and wishing you all the prosperity in your business.

quite intriguing post

Websites we think you should visit…

[…]although websites we backlink to below are considerably not related to ours, we feel they are actually worth a go through, so have a look[…]……

Websites you should visit…

[…]below you’ll find the link to some sites that we think you should visit[…]……

thanks good for topic

This was an interesting post

keep it up! Thanks

Mastering starting from earlier errors is most likely the best tips available for bloggers whom commonly by pass writing a blog if achievement isn’t featuring up promptly. However the search engines pays endurance and simply by obtaining persistence and by adding far more linked material to some internet site, you can previously pass several site owners inside your niche who don’t have persistence.

Terrific Article! Your ideas as well as information are well worth learning. You truly myself effective material. Thank you for posting this!

Good post! The concepts and information happen to be well worthwhile researching. You really us helpful data. Thanks for sharing that!

Excellent post! All of the ideas as well as information are very well worthwhile researching. You actually myself useful data. Thanks for sharing it!

I discovered your weblog website on google and check a number of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the superb operate. I simply further up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you in a while!…

It’s good to easily understand whereby your own target audience usually are plus promote there.

thanks good for topic

Thank a lot good post!

Everything is interesting

quite intriguing post

Cool sites…

[…]we came across a cool site that you might enjoy. Take a look if you want[…]……

I’m pleased I located this web page,

In regards to Power and status drive politics Allan Takes Aim Blog, I’d have to say what a great post! Thanks very much

hello, I disagree with you, doing that might cause you some problems.

I’m pleased I located this site.

Thanks! Take Care

In regards to Power and status drive politics Allan Takes Aim Blog, I’d have to say what a great post! Thanks very much

Hello I noticed your website https://donallan.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/power-and-status-drive… it is similar to mine. You Are Doing A Great Job! Keep It Up Please!

Keep making comment. At the same time if you want to say something privately send me an e-mail to: dca@netspeed.com.au

By the way this applies to every reader

This it is a great piece of information. But first of all I must say all every one. . And second I must say that I m going to post https://donallan.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/power-and-status-drive-politics/ on my Facebook profile. I will do this because at last I found what I was looking for. What you say here is really nice post. In the second I saw this tittle, Power and status drive politics Allan Takes Aim Blog, in my google search I was very happy. Maybe I found something with the same ideea here http://www.toplevel-traduceri.ro , I’m not sure but I thing it was the same. All the best

This it is an interesting article. But first of all I must salute all every one. Hello there. And now I must say that I m going to post https://donallan.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/power-and-status-drive-politics/ on my Facebook profile. I will do this because at long last I found what I was looking for. What you post here is really nice post. In the minute I saw this tittle, Power and status drive politics Allan Takes Aim Blog, on google search I was very happy. Maybe I found something like this here http://www.21articlemod.info/index.php?q=www.toplevel-proxy.com , I’m not sure but I thing it was the same. Thank you

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
