Allan Takes Aim Blog

Are social sites really social

Posted on: 1 September 2011


First published The Chronicle, Canberra, Tuesday 30 August,2011 

When elections get closer, politicians not only say they have the answers to existing problems but also policies that will ensure these problems won’t occur again. If only one could believe them. Forgive my scepticism but these statements are merely the re-iteration  of statements that politicians make before every election.

I have heard such statements many times over and expect to hear them again before the ACT election in October next year and before the next Federal election, whose date seems to depend on how the government in office perceives its chances of being re-elected. Has this happened because the crystal balls politicians once used use to discover what the future held have cracked or fogged over as, breathing heavily with expectation, they sat peering intensely into their depths or because they have turned to technology?

Metaphorically speaking the technology now being used is Face book and Twitter because these days these are the crystal balls, runes and entrails of chickens that once upon a time politicians used to divine the future. You can make up your own mind.

To read this technology they use a lap top or table top computer or one of the range  of communication devices – mobile phones, smartphones, tablets etc – that every politician now seems to think they need to avoid voters thinking of them as not very ‘with it.’Politicians and many other people swear by these devices, athough I know many others who swear at them. 

Increasingly, and apart from Face Book and Twitter, politicians also use you Tube and myriad other sites too numerous to mention. And while I can understand politicians wishing to be seen as ‘with it,’ there’s a feeling growing in some quarters of the community that these sites are more anti social than social.

In some respects also, the sites could be called the Andy Warhols because they give many people, too many some say, the opportunity for fifteen minutes of fame. That would be fine if fifteen minutes was all the time they wanted. Unfortunately fame and its many faces can become an addiction. Indeed some people become so addicted they spend most of every day on social sites trying to add to it.

In many cases too, these people are either illiterate or ill; in some cases both. And much as their illiteracy or Illness can be guessed at by what they put on the site, it seems little can be done to help them. In part this is due to the technology keeping their location secret, while any attempt to help them might be seen as an invasion of privacy.  

This concerns me, particularly when I hear of, or read reports which say, in effect, that because contributors to these sites have limited capacity to present news in depth the brief information they present can be wrongly interpreted and, albeit unintentionally, create dangerous situations.

Unfortunately on more than one occasion the wrong interpretation of a message has led to people becoming involved in serious anti social behaviour. Worse still, others have become suicidal. 

It would be wrong to think I am suggesting that any politician in any of our parliaments has become addicted to fame or that their bursts of messages on various sites indicate illiteracy or illness.  But I would be less than honest if I didn’t say the thought has never crossed my mind.

What do you think? For example: do you think Julia Gillard, Wayne Swan, Kevin Rudd, Tony Abbot, Joe Hockey, Julie Bishop, Bob Brown and Lee Rhiannon are fame addicts or is it that all politicians are naturally so? I would be doing some politicans and others who want to be politicians a dis-service if I believed this to be the case. On the other hand I know one or two politicians whose problem seems to be narcissism rather than addiction to fame.

I admit also that I am an occasional user of use these sites because I believe communication technology plays a major role in life today and that, in days to come, it will play an even greater role. At times, nevertheless, I find myself in agreement with people who think such sites anti social.

34 Responses to "Are social sites really social"

Intriguing and informative. But are you going to talk about this blog more? I can’t quite remember what he was selling.

Websites you should visit…

[…]below you’ll find the link to some sites that we think you should visit[…]……

Read was interesting, stay in touch……

[…]please visit the sites we follow, including this one, as it represents our picks from the web[…]……

Sources…

[…]check below, are some totally unrelated websites to ours, however, they are most trustworthy sources that we use[…]……

Recent Blogroll Additions……

[…]usually posts some very interesting stuff like this. If you’re new to this site[…]……

This is definitely an amazing blog, are you serious about making time for the interview concerning the best way you made it? In that case e-mail my family!

Were a gaggle of volunteers and starting the latest scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with valuable information to paintings on. You’ve done a formidable job and our whole neighborhood will probably be grateful to your account.

I think youve made some actually interesting points. Not as well many people would really think about this the way you just did. Im definitely impressed that theres so very much about this topic thats been uncovered and you did it so well, with so very much class. Great 1 you, man! Really good stuff here.

I’m speechless. It is a excellent blog and really enticing too. Great paintings! That’s no longer truly much coming from an amateur writer like me, but it’s all I could say after diving into your posts. Great grammar and vocabulary. Not like other blogs. You truly know what you?re talking about too. So much that you just made me want to discover more. Your blog has turn into a stepping stone for me, my friend.

Good site! I adore numerous with the articles which have already been written, and especially the comments posted! I will without any doubt be going to as soon as once more!

I very lucky to find this internet site on bing, just the thing I was looking for : D too saved to fav.

you happen to be my aspiration , I possess few web logs and rarely run out from to brand : (.

I feel that is a captivating element, it made me think a bit. Thanks for sparking my thinking cap. Every so often I am getting such a lot in a rut that I just feel like a record.

I do believe this is the single most important info in my opinion. And im glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, It style is fantastic, the articles is actually excellent : D. Good job, cheers

I love the dear info you provide in the articles. I’ll bookmark your website and appearance again here regularly. My business is quite sure I’ll learn a good amount of new stuff here! Best of luck for the following!

Good post. I learn the first thing tougher on very different blogs everyday. Itll at all times be stimulating you just read content business writers and observe a bit the first thing from their site. I’d must use some together with the content in my small weblog whether you never mind. Natually I’ll give you a link in your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

You lost me, friend. What i’m saying is, I imagine I get what youre saying. I am aware what you’re saying, however, you just appear to have forgotten that might be some other folks in the world who view this matter for it really is and could perhaps not go along with you. You will be turning away many people who was lovers of this website.

There are numerous fascinating time limits here however I don’t determine if I see every one of them center to heart. There exists some validity however I’m going to take hold opinion until I consider it further. Good article , thanks and now we want extra! Added onto FeedBurner as properly

I have been reading your entries right through my morning holiday, and I must admit the whole article has been very enlightening and really well written. I believed I’d permit you to know that for a few explanation why this weblog does no longer view well in Web Explorer 8. I wish Microsoft may prevent changing their software. I have a query for you. May you thoughts exchanging weblog roll links? That may be truly neat!

I do think that is probably the most vital information personally. And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The internet site style is ideal, the articles is absolutely excellent : D. Good job, cheers

You should check this out…

[…] Wonderful story, reckoned we could combine a few unrelated data, nevertheless really worth taking a look, whoa did one learn about Mid East has got more problerms as well […]……

This really is my new Concerning visited your blog. I came across plenty of interesting stuff as part of your blog. On the a ton of comments for your articles, I reckon that I am not saying individual! keep up the impressive work.

Recent Blogroll Additions……

[…]usually posts some very interesting stuff like this. If you’re new to this site[…]……

nice issues you have posted here.. it seems like you have put great effort in some recoverable format this

Nice! Just wanted to respond. I thoroughly loved your post. Keep up the great work.

Awesome website…

[…]the time to read or visit the content or sites we have linked to below the[…]……

We are a gaggle comedianof volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable info to paintings on. You have performed a formidable task and our whole community will probably be thankful to you.

Despite the fact that engaging in a look for the phrases that are on this webpage I stumbled on this web page. I just say I recognize the delightful important information.

Very interesting topic , thankyou for putting up. “Remember when life’s path is steep to keep your mind even.” by Horace.

I like you through your whole effort here. Betty really loves managing research and it is not hard to grasp why. We hear every one of the dynamic manner you give both useful and interesting tactics from the blog as well as strongly encourage contribution from some people about it material plus your girl is definitely discovering many things. Enjoy the remainder year. That you are always doing great job.

Great Share! After study a few of the websites with your website now, and that i truly just like your means of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will also be checking back soon. Pls check out my website too and tell me what you think.

When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Thank you!

you’ve got an excellent blog here! would you like to make some invite posts on my weblog?

Let me knwow what you’d like for a blog. Don

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
