Allan Takes Aim Blog

Family: the gold of marriage

Posted on: 13 October 2011


Original article published in The Chronicle Canberra, Tuesday, 11 October, 2011  

As my columns are usually about politics, some people might be surprised by this one. It is not about politics but a Golden Wedding celebration that brought home to me why marriage is that union of man and woman that confers on them the opportunity to enjoy a range of unique experiences unachievable by any other union of two people. While some people might disagree with me it seems to that no other union of two people can produce the same range of opportunities and unique experiences.

This Golden Wedding, celebrated on Friday 30th September, was one Boadicea and I were glad to attend because the couple celebrating their fifty years of marriage had been guests of Boadicea and I when we celebrated the same mark in our married life.

In this case the celebrants were Doug and Brenda Sarah who, relatively speaking, are unknown to most Canberrans (a situation of their own choice) despite their outstanding contribution to Canberra’s tourism industry and helped make Canberra known around the world. Indeed during their more than thirty years of building and developing Cockington Green, now one of Australia’s best known international family tourist attractions, their efforts at making Canberra known is better than that of many well – known Canberrans. 

That Cockington Green was a family attraction was revealed when the Master of Ceremonies, Brenda and Doug’s son Mark, said on behalf of himself and his sisters that although they had worked there and were still working there they were not and never had been hostages of the business. He said the love of his mum and dad for each other and for him and his sisters, was what made them work there.

But a golden wedding would not be much of a celebration without some surprises. I can only say this golden wedding lived up to expectations.

The first surprise that probably few people expected was that the same people who comprised the bridal party fifty years ago – Best Man, page – boys, Matron of Honour and bridesmaids- were in attendance. And to show how much Doug and Brenda were loved and respected, these very special guests had come from all points of the compass. To complete this particular surprise, one of the page-boys, now CEO of a major building industry group in Canberra, came dressed as he was fifty years ago – in a kilt.

Then came the time for a few guests to say a few words. First, the best man of fifty years ago spoke briefly and emotionally of the friendship he had maintained with Brenda and Doug since their schooldays together in Ballarat. The retired Canberra lawyer who helped Doug and Brenda buy their first home in Higgins reiterated that same feeling of friendship.

Doug then spoke on behalf of himself and Brenda. He started by paying tribute to their children for their qualities, values plus espect and love they bestowed on Brenda and himself. He then went on to praise by name, his grandsons, granddaughters, nieces and nephews, in -laws, staff (and their children) some of whom had worked at Cockington Green (some were still working there, for twenty- six years. This was unsurprising, all being members of Doug and Brenda’s extended family.

With typical modesty Doug, went on to thank the rest of the more than hundred guests for the compliment they had paid Brenda and himself by attending the celebration. He went on to pay tribute also to absent friends with the words that their constancy of friendship had proved valuable to him and Brenda when they experienced those moments of despair, common to all families, whose support not only played a role in restoring their confidence but also helped make Cockington Green the success it is today.

But the piece de resistance of surprises was one that Doug had kept secret, even from Brenda. The surprise: MC Mark announced that Mark Vincent, the young fifteen years old tenor who in 2009 won the Australia’s Got Talent Quest, would entertain guests.

On behalf of Doug, this young man with the golden voice, serenaded Brenda with the ballad that speaks the real message of marriage: “You raise me up.” The guests’ acclamation guests showed they agreed.

61 Responses to "Family: the gold of marriage"

Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can I subscribe for a blog website? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

I am not really excellent with English but I come up this rattling easygoing to interpret.

A powerful share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing a little bit evaluation on this. And he the truth is purchased me breakfast because I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading extra on this topic. If possible, as you grow to be expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more particulars? It is highly useful for me. Huge thumb up for this weblog publish!

Write to me at my e-mail address and I’ll answer as best I can.

Thanks for putting up this information. I have been desperate to move from my practical nurse level to an registered nurse degree for quite some time now. I do not have over much extra time to take on more school (not to mention afford it) but I am keeping my eye on related blog sites like this and remaining in touch with welcomed information. Thanks over again 🙂

Some times its a pain in the ass to read what blog owners wrote but this internet site is really user pleasant! .

There are some attention-grabbing points in time on this article but I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There may be some validity however I will take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as nicely

Wonderful website! I seriously think you’re posting very well, continue the good work! Can someone please make clear to me what the preceding poster implies tho?

I have to get across my affection for your kindness supporting individuals who absolutely want support with this situation. Your special dedication to obtaining the message along had become actually powerful and has continuously produced guys and females a lot like me to reach their ambitions. The informative guide denotes significantly to me and further more to my colleagues. With thanks; from all of us.

After reading this I thought it was very informative. I appreciate you taking the time to put this blog piece together. I once again find myself spending way to much time both reading and commenting. What ever, it was still worth it

It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or tips. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

very good post, i certainly love this web site, carry on it

I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this type of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web-site. Reading this information So i am glad to show that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I necessary. I so significantly no doubt will make particular to don’t fail to remember this web-site and gives it a glance regularly.

Enjoyed looking through this, very good stuff, regards .

Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you created blogging look simple. The overall look of your internet internet site is exceptional, let alone the content material!

If I could compress the story of my 52 years of marriage into a single blog I’d be happy to do so. So you’ll just have to take my word for it

If i could compress the story of 52 years of maariage into a single blog I’d be happy, otherwise you’ll just have to take my word for it

It’s not like me to read much online content like this, but I really enjoyed your article. It’s a well done article with interesting information.

Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your web-site is so cool. I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this blog. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the information I already searched everywhere and simply could not come across. What a perfect web-site.

Many thanks for sharing this with us you really know very well what you are discussing! Bookmarked. Please also visit my website =). We will possess a exchanging links contract between us!

I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i am happy to convey that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to do not forget this website and give it a look regularly.

Fantastic goods by you, man. I’ve got understand your stuff prior to and youre just too magnificent. Simply put i like whatever you have acquired here, enjoy what you really are saying and how the place you say it. You create it enjoyable but you just attend to to help keep it smart. I can’t wait to see much more from you. This is a fantastic website.

This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

I usually don’t post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. beautiful …

Greetings! I just noticed your webpage: Family: the gold of marriage Allan Takes Aim Blog when I was surfing around stumbleupon.com. It looks as though someone enjoyed your website so much they decided to bookmark it. I’ll positively be coming here more often.

I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thx again

I’m also writing to let you understand what a outstanding discovery my cousin’s daughter encountered checking yuor web blog. She learned numerous details, with the inclusion of what it’s like to possess an amazing teaching mindset to let the mediocre ones smoothly learn about various multifaceted matters. You undoubtedly exceeded my desires. Many thanks for rendering such precious, safe, educational and as well as fun thoughts on your topic to Sandra.

That’s a informative blog post! Do you mind if I link back to your blog?

Wow, marvelous weblog layout! How long have you ever been running a blog for? you make blogging glance easy. The full look of your web site is great, neatly as the content!

I don’t mind

Glad the blog was of help

To be sure utilizing your thoughts right here and that i genuinely like your internet site! I’ve bookmarked it so that I’m in a position to return & read more in the foreseeable future.

I consider something genuinely interesting about your weblog so I saved to favorites .

Definitely, what a fantastic site and educative posts, I surely will bookmark your website.All the Best!

How do I create a feed of the comments I add to others’ blog posts?

I’m speechless. This can be a superb blog and very enticing too. Nice work! That’s no longer truly so much coming from an novice writer like me, but it’s all I may say after diving into your posts. Nice grammar and vocabulary. Not like different blogs. You really know what you?re speaking about too. Such a lot that you made me want to explore more. Your blog has change into a stepping stone for me, my friend.

I do consider all of the concepts you have introduced to your post. They’re really convincing and will certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for beginners. May you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

I wish I knew

You are not right. I am assured. Write to me in PM, we will talk.

Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

I’m afraid I can’t help you.

Why not write and tell me where I’m wrong

Whichever i go through your article it usually come to one conclusion.. you happen to be indeed a great writer..

I am curious which blogging platform you are using? I’m new to blogging and have been thinking about using the Quizilla platform. Do you consider this is a good foundation to start with? I would be really thankful if I could ask you some questions through email so I can learn a bit more prior to getting started. When you have some free time, please get in touch with me at: romainlevy@ymail.com. Thanks!

It contains wonderful and helpful posts.I have read most of them and learned a lot from them.

Hey would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a fair price? Kudos, I appreciate it!

I use WordPress

I have recently started a blog, the information you provide on this web site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

I read every spam message and if I don’t think them of any value I delete them

Nice article. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your articles.

good blog thank you Take care and try to understand that Only health is wealth and like the excellent health tips in your soul weblog and suggest then other pregnancy as well as show maintain the pregnancy gallery pictures..

Reliable information you. Thank you for sharing.

This is actually great content. Thanks a lot because of this. I use it my website to also find latest game and technology news and reviews . I linked returning to your website and bookmarked it so i could visit your new posts.

nice posts and nice site Great post man! Continue the good work!

very nice blog thank you Be mindful and try to understand that Only health is wealth and including the excellent health tips in you weblog and suggest then other pregnancy ladies and show maintain the pregnancy gallery pictures..

Hey good blog!!! Man .. Beautiful .. Incredible .. I am going to bookmark your blog and go ahead and take feeds also great article thanks Hi. I desired by way of thanking you for that fantastic information you’ve posted on your own site. I am going to definitelycome to take a look once again and possess subscribedto your Feed. Possess a fantastic day.

Many thanks for writing valuable post concerning the subject. I am a fan of your site. Maintain the great work.

OMG ! I recently found a error within your site! See if your plugins is configured correctly!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
