Allan Takes Aim Blog

Lessons to learn before election

Posted on: 20 October 2011


First published The Chronicle, Canberra, Tuesday 18 October 2011

Andrew Bolt is not alone at being thought politically biased. From time to time I’m accused that when writing about Members of the ACT Legislative Assembly not only am I biased but insulting. This is a classic case of the pot calling the kettle black because often the language of the accusers would shame the devil.  

For example, in a recent letter I was accused of showing Liberal bias because, in a column on disability, I used the name of the Liberal MLA who had expressed the views of many people connected with disability but had not mentioned the name of the Minister responsible for the disability portfolio.

But the annoying thing about the letter was less the accusation of bias than that its language was of a kind that had a copy of the letter been sent to the editor it would never have graced the Letters to the Editor page in The Chronicle. 

I hope you don’t get the idea that I’m afraid of being insulted. Not only do I expect to be insulted I encourage people to express their views as strongly as they can. However, they should remember it is possible to be polite even when expressing strong views. Indeed I think strong views have a better chance of being accepted when expressed politely. Of course people might have different ideas on what is or is not polite but I doubt the difference would be great.

However, political bias is in a category of its own: how does one decide what is political bias? The fact is: arguments about political bias have so many twists and turns they can, and often do, go on forever without the issue ever being resolved. In a way, of course, this describes the political process itself, be it Federal, State or Territory.

Canberra voters should note that if the current Federal Government runs its full term then the next election voters in Canberra will face is the Territory election next October. Some people might also think that voters who have moved to Canberra from say Brisbane or Perth might find it difficult to adjust to Canberra’s election issues. I doubt that’s the case. I venture to suggest the election issues in Canberra are little different to the issues in Brisbane or Perth.

Indeed I think most voters see elections as a case of déjà vu. The only thing new voters might possibly find different are the candidates. But current voters might also find it difficult because it is becoming increasingly difficult to see the difference in the parties because, as one listens to candidates spruiking policies all their statements sound like echoes of the policies of opposing candidates.

Unfortunately these policy echoes can have the unintended consequence of giving some voters minor headaches. And while this is unfortunate more unfortunately these minor headaches can become raging headaches that require medication to cure or ameliorate. Worse still, depending on who gets elected, the raging headaches can become so severe they lead to depression that might require ongoing psychiatrist treatment.

I mention these problems not only to inform Canberra’s new voters but also to inform current Canberra voters that all should start preparing for the headaches they might experience next October. While hopefully this might not be their experience and more in hope than expectation perhaps the major parties have learned their lesson.

Labor’s lesson: workers have deserted it because it has ditched the principles that once attracted them and replaced them with the goal of simply acquiring power. The Liberals lesson: Liberals who once were attracted to the party’s philosophy have ditched it because acquisition of power has become its goal. The Greens are slightly different: they are still a party of apprentice social engineers and yet to convince voters they are a party with a future.  

However, the main problem for all parties is that a sufficient number of voters do not trust them to govern responsibly. Indeed, voters think parties have become clubs for academics, lawyers, union officials, political apparatchiks and social theorists who treat voters as if they can’t think for themselves. Come next October they might be forced to realise they have made a mistake.

94 Responses to "Lessons to learn before election"

Beneficial information and superb design you got here! I want to thank you for sharing your ideas and putting the time into the stuff you publish! Fantastic work!

We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with useful information to paintings on. You have done an impressive activity and our entire group will be grateful to you.

Brilliant web-site, now we should uncover a few handy free chat rooms

Thank you ever so for you article.Really thank you! Want more.

You have built an amazing blog! I really hope that you continue the good job. I absolutely really enjoy your blog posts.

It?s actually a great and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you shared this useful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Nice blog here! Also your web web site loads up rapid! What host are you currently the usage of? Can I get your associate hyperlink for your host? I desire my net web site loaded up as speedily as yours lol

Jamie, If I knew how to do what you ask I’d tell you but unfortunately I have no technical skills

You made some superior points there. I looked on the internet for the subject and identified most individuals will go together with with your blog.

This blog appears to get a large ammount of visitors. How do you promote it? It gives a nice individual twist on things. I guess having something authentic or substantial to post about is the most important factor.

I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

I believe this is the most vital info in my situation. And im glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The web site style is best, the articles is absolutely great : D. Good job, cheers

Hi there, You’ve done an excellent job. I will definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

Good write-up, I am regular visitor of oneˇ¦s site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

I have read some good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you put to create such a fantastic informative website.

Hi. I read a few of your other posts and wanted to know if you would be interested in exchanging blogroll links?

Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

A formidable share, I recently given this onto a colleague who had been doing somewhat analysis within this. Anf the husband in truth purchased me breakfast because of I ran across it for him.. smile. So permit me to reword that: Thnx with the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending enough time to debate this, I must say i feel strongly about this and love studying extra within this topic. If doable, while you become expertise, might you thoughts updating your weblog with extra details? Its extremely useful for me. Big thumb up for this weblog publish!

Hiya. I was thinking of adding a link back to your website since both of our websites are based mostly around the same topic. Would you prefer I link to you using your site address: https://donallan.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/lessons-to-learn-before-election or web site title: Lessons to learn before election Allan Takes Aim Blog. Be sure to let me know at your earliest convenience. Kudos

Just use donallan.wordpress.com

Extremely properly written post. It will likely be helpful to anybody who utilizes it, including me. Maintain performing what you are performing – can’r wait to read much more posts.

I agree with preceding poster, seems to be like you will do properly out right here around the world-wide-web.

Thank you for another informative web site. Where else may I get that type of info written in such a perfect way? I have a venture that I am simply now operating on, and I’ve been at the look out for such info.

I haven’t checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your theme. Cheers

I just picked my site from the WordPress range

I have no complaints about WordPress

It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read even more things about it!

Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such excellent info being shared freely out there.

Incredible! I’m genuinely enjoying the design and style of your weblog. Are you using a customized theme or is this freely available to all individuals? If you really don’t want to say the name of it out in the public, please make sure to contact me at: johnlevy@live.fr . I’d love to get my hands on this template! Many thanks.

My website comes form the WordPress range Just look it up

The theme is from WordPress. All you need do is get in touch with them

It’s almost certain that I will be writing more about politiucs in the days ahead

Why not send me a sample of your blogs

Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

You obtained a really useful blog I have already been right here reading for approximately an hour. I’m a newbie together with your accomplishment is quite considerably an inspiration to me.

Thanks, I’m new to the blogging world and I think this is great, I will have to read more about your articles in the future 🙂

Can’t wait to read the rest of your blog.

I am really inspired together with your writing talents and also with the structure to your blog. Is this a paid subject or did you customize it your self? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is uncommon to look a great blog like this one nowadays..

This really is my first time i pay a visit to right here. I identified a lot of entertaining things within your blog site, particularly its discussion. From your tons of comments in your articles, I guess I’m not the only one obtaining each of the satisfaction here! Keep up the good work.

I’m still learning from your blog, but I’m trying to achieve my goals. I certainly enjoy reading all that is posted on your blog.Keep the information coming and keep up the good work. I loved it!

How can I install WordPress without losing all the indexed html pages?

My brother recommended I might like this website. He was once entirely right. This put up actually made my day. You cann’t believe simply how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

My website cost me nothing. It comes from WordPress. So my recommendation is that you talk to WordPress

This is a question you’ll need to put to WordPress directly

Have no idea. All my writing is free

Have no idea. Ask your ISP

Awesome Article! Excellent read and informative.

Dou mean my political or food diet?

So Great! I need some infos in the following paragraphs for my rapport de stage. Can i have your contact please? I require your permission to quote it :D. Anyway, That’s congrats. Dont stop learning ..

Quote what you like but do let me know how you get on. My e-maii: dca@netspeed.com.au

As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

I have no idea

In answer to your question: I do not know

Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Substantially, this post is really the sweetest on this notable theme. I harmonise with your conclusions and will thirstily look forward for your incoming updates. Declaring thanks will not just be sufficient, for the phenomenal clarity inside your writing. I will straight grab your rss feed to remain knowledgeable of any updates. Admirable operate and much good results within your company dealings!  Please excuse my poor English as it is not my 1st tongue.

Hey there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

I conceive this web site has got very fantastic composed articles posts.

Thanks for such a great blog. Exactly where else could anyone get that kind of info written in such a perfect way? I have a presentation that I am presently writhing on, and I’ve been on the appear out for such great details.

I’ve wanted to write about something like this on my webpage and you gave me an notion. Cheers.

Hello, I just hopped more than for your website on the internet by way of StumbleUpon. Not something I might normally find out, but I preferred your feelings none the much less. Thank you for producing 1 thing value reading.

As I web-site possessor I believe the content matter here is rattling wonderful , appreciate it for your hard work. You should keep it up forever! Best of luck.

I will immediately clutch your rss feed as I can’t to find your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me know so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

Resources like the a single you mentioned right here will be very useful to me! I will publish a link to this page on my blog site. I’m sure my visitors will locate that extremely useful.

i have checked this page several times now we need to point out that i have found it quite great actually. keep writing! 🙂

I was reading through some of your content on this website and I believe this internet site is rattling instructive! Retain putting up.

You…are…my…hero!!! I cant think one thing such as this exists on the web! Its so accurate, so honest, and more than which you dont sound like an idiot! Lastly, somebody who understands how to speak about a subject without having sounding like a kid who didnt get that bike he wanted for Xmas.

Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Exceptional blog and great style and design.

Nice article. Its realy good info for us. Thanks a lot!

Can’t help I’m afraid

This really answered my problem, thank you!

A disabled person myself I know the problem so why not put your suggestion to the disability organisations in your neck of the woods.

Yes

Thanks for this great information! I really appreciate this. I actually let my husband have a look and he posted a link to it on his blog 🙂

Straight answers you. Thank you for sharing.

Straight answers you. Thanks for sharing.

Bon alors c’est qui ki le superkador seo?

Good sharing of concept here any way thanks for posting valueble information..before I really could thank allowed coment on your blog, I buy plenty of information from you, I wish I possibly could be a lot more information from you .

This is actually great content. Thanks for this. I wear it my website to also find latest video game and technology news and reviews . I linked returning to your internet site and bookmarked it so I can call at your new posts.

Whoa! that post was quite helpful thanks.

nice posts and nice site Great post man! Keep it up!

Its pretty cool what blogging can do. Connect you with everybody else.

This really is great content. Thanks because of this. I wear it my website to also find latest game and technology news and reviews . I linked to your site and bookmarked it so i could see your new posts.

I’ve observed that in the world these days, video games will be the latest popularity with kids of all ages. Often times it may be unattainable to drag your children away from the games. If you want the very best of both worlds, there are various educational activities for kids. Interesting post.

Leave a Reply

    • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
    • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
    • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
