Allan Takes Aim Blog

Christmas: the universal day of the child

Posted on: 21 December 2011


First published The Chronicle, Canberra, Tuesday 20 December, 2011

Although agnostic I like Christmas, as do most Canberrans. People who don’t, it seems to me, are people short of the spirit of giving and happy childhood memories that, at Christmas, overcome the sad memories such as periods of personal sickness, death of a sibling or death of a parent. Indeed as I grow older and see children in Canberra enjoying Christmas, that childhood joy I experienced at Christmas has not diminished; if anything it has grown stronger because I now realise why it gave me joy.

The origin of Christmas comes with a story that pre dates the day now called Christmas Day, a recognised public holiday and revered by Christians as the day they believe that Jesus Christ the Son of God was born. The truth is, Christmas Day derives from a ritual observed by an ancient pagan agrarian society that offered gifts to its gods to ensure good spring harvests and prosperity.

And though people profess to belief the religious aspect of Christmas Day they still observe its pagan origins only their gift giving is more Mammon (Mammon: a Sumerian deity whose name translates into property and is synonymous with wealth, greed and avarice in the New Testament) than religious and the wishes slightly different. What many people wish for today is a harvest rich in material things. Sadly that rich harvest is found in places where Mammon still holds sway rather than religion. The Sumerian civilisation might have passed but the belief in Mammon has not.

What redeems society today is the innocence of children one sees exemplified by children on Christmas Day because venality is absent. Having no idea of the cost of their Christmas gifts, lavish or otherwise, the squeals of joy and pleasure as they unwrap their gifts, as they unwrap them best expresses their value. Would it were otherwise but, unfortunately, and too quickly, children grow up and lose their innocence.

But Christianity is not the only religion with days of celebration: Hindus, Jains, Sikhs and Muslims also have days of celebration; the Bahá’í celebrate according to the Bahá’í calendar while Jews have several celebratory seasons: the Spring Feasts of Pesach (Passover) and the Fall Feasts of Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Sukkot, and Shemini Atzeret. None however, are the equivalent of Christmas Day

Although such differences should not make any difference in our alleged multi-cultural society, these celebrations seem to be treated as less important than Christmas. In a sense this conflicts with Christianity, which preaches peace and good will to all men, outcomes that more often are seen in the breach than the observance.

Even more sadly the fact that peace and good will seem permanently absent between people world wide, raises the important question: will peace and goodwill ever become permanent residents of our world? I hope so. Even if my attempts to practice this philosophy – which is how I try to treat everyone on every day of the year occasionally fails, I cannot, and will not, accept, that even on the basis of religion, race and status, peace and good will between all people is impossible.

Without effort and with faith absent, it is children who give meaning to the message of peace and good will at Christmas. Children do not distinguish themselves from children of other colours or faith. In this they are unlike adults who, in many cases, because of blind beliefs imprison their children behind what are often impenetrable walls of prejudice.

I can only abjure adults to look at children for whom race and religion are meaningless and copy their behaviour. By doing so they will help create a world where peace and good will are permanent. Perhaps too, they could do no better than daily recite the poem by William Wordsworth: My heart leaps up when I behold/ A rainbow in the sky:/So was it when my life began;/So is it now I am a man;/ So be it when I shall grow old,/Or let me die!/The Child is father of the Man;/I could wish my days to be/Bound each to each by natural piety.

With peace and good will Boadicea and I wish you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
dca@netspeed.com.au; http://www.donallan.wordpress.com
The Chronicle for Canberra’s best community news. Published every Tuesday.

15 Responses to "Christmas: the universal day of the child"

whoah this weblog is fantastic i like reading your posts. Keep up the good work! You know, many persons are hunting around for this info, you could aid them greatly.

This actually answered my downside, thank you!

What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & aid other users like its aided me. Good job.

Considering the info introduced here I found some advantageous conclusions. I would really like to appreciate the effort suffered in composing.

After study a couple of of the blog posts on your website now, and I actually like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website record and might be checking again soon. Pls check out my web page as effectively and let me know what you think.

Howdy! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

fantastic points altogether, you simply gained a brand new reader. What would you suggest about your post that you made a few days ago? Any positive?

I used to be suggested this website through my cousin. I am now not positive whether this publish is written by him as nobody else understand such unique about my trouble. You are amazing! Thank you!

Nice Work…

It is really a great and useful piece of information. I¡¦m satisfied that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing….

What is here it is an interesting article. But first of all I must salute all every one. Bounjour. And now I must say that I m thinking to post https://donallan.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/christmas-the-universal-day-of-the-child/ on my Twitter profile. I will do this because at last I found what I was looking for. What you post here is really respectable information. In the second I saw this tittle, Christmas: the universal day of the child Allan Takes Aim Blog, in my google search I was very glad. I think I found something that have the same ideea here http://www.toplevel-traduceri.ro , I’m not sure but I thing it was the same. Thank you

Wow! This can be one particular of the most beneficial blogs We have ever arrive across on this subject. Actually Wonderful. I am also an expert in this topic so I can understand your effort.

Thanks for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting information. “The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it.” by James Bryce.

I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog. I’m hoping the same high-grade site post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own web site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a great example of it.

Hey, this is a quite good article now! I quite love a nicely updated blog.

Hello! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
