Allan Takes Aim Blog

2012 is my year of no resolutions

Posted on: 12 January 2012


First published The Chronicle, Canberra, 10 January, 2012

Billions of people fall prey to Resolution Sickness, also known as making New Year Resolutions, the short term pandemic that strikes the world on January 1 every year. Because of its regularity this pandemic is now seen as more of tradition than a sickness although many a person affected by a resolution’s secondary effect will disagree about that particularly when their bankcard statements arrive.

Thankfully for most people, the sickness passes rapidly and normal life resumes. Unfortunately for a group of people who think the sickness has passed, it hasn’t; in fact it is merely lying dormant, waiting for the cue word that will trigger it into action later, not just on January 1 but on every day of the year. (More later about this group.)

The distinctive symptoms of this sickness are, that on January 1 every year, nearly every adult man and woman in the world feels compelled to make resolutions even though they know it unlikely they will ever keep them.

During my study of the pandemic and based on anecdotal evidence, the most common resolutions made by adult males in 2012 were: they would curb their drinking and smoking stop swearing in mixed company; never cheat on wife or girl friend; exercise more; and help around the house. As for women, they too resolved to drink less; smoke less; go on a diet; swear less; exercise more; stop spending so much on clothes; love their enemies; not gossip about their best friends; and, where applicable, stop cheating on their husbands.

Not wishing to be outdone and copying their adult role models, children made extravagant promises to be behave better, while teenagers and slightly older young adults promised to respect their elders. Far be it from me, an optimist by nature, to believe they do not intend to keep their resolutions but the fact is experience tells me such resolutions have as much chance of lasting as an ice block lying exposed to the full glare of the sun in the Simpson Desert in the height of summer.

Indeed many resolutions last no more than a minute, although when the temptation devil makes himself known, they last for hours, days or weeks; more rarely, they last for a year. But no matter how briefly or how long they last, people believe the benefit of the resolutions is that for a time they get a subconscious feeling of saintliness at having have donned the hair shirt of purity.

Now, if you make resolutions for reasons of tradition, what you may not know, is that you’re not following the idea of a much admired parent or grandparent but a long dead Babylonian. Indeed you can thank the Babylonians for the tradition of making and breaking resolutions on January 1, a tradition which, I have to say, has been practised assiduously not only by Babylonians but into the present millennium by other than Babylonians.

Finding out that the Babylonians were the creators of New Year resolutions was a huge shock to my system because, ever since I can remember, I believed making New Year resolutions was a Scottish tradition. That being the cases and being Scottish not Babylonian, seems to me like a good excuse for not making resolutions and a liar of myself, so I won’t.

But don’t let that put readers off making New Year resolutions: you may not know it but perhaps you’re a cousin 2000 times removed from a Babylonian and so I wouldn’t want you to break with what might be a family tradition.

As to the group of people I mentioned earlier in whom resolution sickness did not pass but lay dormant until being triggered many years later. No one quite knows what the trigger is. Some think ego is the trigger. I have to say this would not be an unreasonable conclusion to draw considering the people I’m talking about are politicians.

As for myself, hoping to make a good start to this year I haven’t made a resolution not to write about politicians but neither have I made a resolution to write about them either except to say that politicians are probably the world’s best resolution breakers.
dca@netspeed.com.au
The Chronicle, for Canberra’s best community news. Pubished every Tuesday

112 Responses to "2012 is my year of no resolutions"

Winston Churchill said, “Political ability is the ability to foretell what is going to happen tomorrow, next week, next month and next year. And to have the ability afterward to explain why it didn’t happen.”

Charles de Gaulle was quoted in “Newsweek” in 1962, as having said, “Since a politician never believes what he says, he is surprised when others believe him.”

Nikita Krushchev remarked at Glen Cove, New York in 1960, “Politicians are the same all over. They promise to build a bridge even when there’s no river.”

There’s no hope I’m afraid.

Hi there! I simply want to give a huge thumbs up for the nice information you may have right here on this post. I shall be coming back to your blog for more soon.

You made some first rate factors there. I appeared on the internet for the problem and found most individuals will associate with with your website.

Spot on with this write-up, I actually think this website wants far more consideration. I’ll most likely be once more to learn far more, thanks for that info.

You made some respectable factors there. I looked on the internet for the issue and found most individuals will go along with with your website.

Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thanks Nevertheless I am experiencing situation with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

I’d should check with you here. Which isn’t something I normally do! I get pleasure from studying a publish that will make people think. Additionally, thanks for permitting me to remark!

What is here it is an interesting article. But first of all I must salute all the visitors. Hello. And second I must say that I will post https://donallan.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/2012-is-my-year-of-no-resolutions/ on my Hi5 profile. And this because at long last I found what I was looking for. What you share here is really the best sharing. In the minute I saw this tittle, 2012 is my year of no resolutions Allan Takes Aim Blog, on my google search I was very glad. It is possible I found something with the same ideea here http://www.toplevel-traduceri.ro , I’m not sure but I thing it was the same. Thank you

Sorry, my friend, I can’t help you with this. I have the same problem, so I read the duplicates quickly and delete them.

Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find any individual with some original ideas on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this website is something that’s wanted on the net, someone with somewhat originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

I’m impressed, I need to say. Actually hardly ever do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you could have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the problem is one thing that not sufficient individuals are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

It’s best to take part in a contest for probably the greatest blogs on the web. I’ll recommend this web site!

I found your weblog site on google and verify a number of of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the excellent operate. I simply further up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Seeking ahead to reading more from you in a while!…

Can I just say what a reduction to search out someone who really is aware of what theyre talking about on the internet. You positively know how one can carry a difficulty to light and make it important. More people have to read this and perceive this aspect of the story. I cant believe youre no more popular since you positively have the gift.

After research a number of of the weblog posts on your web site now, and I actually like your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website listing and will likely be checking again soon. Pls try my web site as properly and let me know what you think.

Whats up! I simply would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the good info you could have right here on this post. I will be coming again to your blog for more soon.

I’d need to test with you here. Which isn’t one thing I usually do! I enjoy reading a publish that can make individuals think. Additionally, thanks for permitting me to remark!

Howdy! I simply want to give a huge thumbs up for the nice information you might have here on this post. I shall be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

What you have here it is an interesting piece of information. But first of all I must say all the visitors. Salve. And second I must say that I have post https://donallan.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/2012-is-my-year-of-no-resolutions/ on my Twitter profile. I will do this because at last I found what I was looking for. What you say here is really very good post. In the second I saw this tittle, 2012 is my year of no resolutions Allan Takes Aim Blog, on my google search I was very glad. It is possible I found something like this here http://www.vast9.com/blogging/affiliate-marketing-start , I’m not sure but I thing it was the same. Thank you

It’s best to participate in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I’ll advocate this website!

An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing somewhat analysis on this. And he in reality bought me breakfast as a result of I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love studying more on this topic. If attainable, as you develop into experience, would you thoughts updating your blog with more particulars? It is extremely useful for me. Big thumb up for this blog put up!

I have not checked in here for some time as I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

I am usually to running a blog and i actually recognize your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your web site and hold checking for brand new information.

I’m usually to blogging and i actually recognize your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your site and hold checking for brand spanking new information.

You made some respectable factors there. I looked on the internet for the issue and found most individuals will associate with with your website.

I am usually to blogging and i actually respect your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your web site and hold checking for brand new information.

For those who know the answer this is a chance to show the net working as it should.

This website online can be a walk-by for the entire data you wished about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse right here, and also you’ll positively uncover it.

As soon as I observed this website I went on reddit to share some of the love with them. “Love the little trade which thou hast learned, and be content therewith.” by Marcus Aurelius Antoninus.

Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my blog thus i got here to “return the choose”.I am attempting to to find things to enhance my web site!I guess its adequate to use some of your ideas!!

Thank you for sharing excellent informations. Your website is very cool. I’m impressed by the details that you have on this site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched all over the place and simply couldn’t come across. What an ideal web-site.

Howdy! I simply wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the nice data you have here on this post. I will probably be coming again to your weblog for more soon.

Very interesting points you have noted , thankyou for putting up. “Success is a journey, not a destination. The doing is often more important than the outcome.” by Arthur Ashe.

Your house is valueble for me. Thanks!…

This website is mostly a walk-by means of for all the information you wished about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse right here, and you’ll positively uncover it.

What is here it is a great piece of information. But first of all I must say all the visitors. Hy. After this I must say that I will post https://donallan.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/2012-is-my-year-of-no-resolutions/ on my Hi5 profile. I will do this because in the end I found what I was looking for. What you give us here is really nice post. In the second I saw this tittle, 2012 is my year of no resolutions Allan Takes Aim Blog, on google search I was very glad. It is possible I found something with the same ideea here http://www.secretsantagenerator.com , I’m not sure but I thing it was the same. All the best

Much as I am pleased with the comment let me add that a further three identical comments were received from: toplevecom.google.com; mamamea.gmail.com; and vps@gmail.com. Not that I wish to discourage people from making comment let me reiterate what I’ve said previously, that it’s your personal ideas and comments that interest me. I can understand four people thinking alike but it is likely also they will have ideas that are diferent. It is those different ideas that make the internet a valuable means of widening people’s knowledge of how others in different countries around the world think.

Great write-up, I am normal visitor of one’s blog, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was searching for!

Unquestionably consider that that you stated. Your favourite justification seemed to be on the net the easiest factor to take into accout of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed even as folks consider concerns that they plainly do not understand about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and outlined out the entire thing without having side-effects , folks could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thank you!

What you have here it is an interesting article. But first of all I must salute all every one. Bounjour. And now I must say that I have post https://donallan.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/2012-is-my-year-of-no-resolutions/ on my Facebook profile. I will do this because in the end I found what I was looking for. What you say here is really the best sharing. In the second I saw this tittle, 2012 is my year of no resolutions Allan Takes Aim Blog, in my google search I was very glad. Maybe I found something that have the same ideea here http://www.dbametrix.com , I’m not sure but I thing it was the same. Thank you

I really enjoy reading on this web site , it has good content . “The secret of eternal youth is arrested development.” by Alice Roosevelt Longworth.

Deference to article author , some great information . “If you don’t leap, you’ll never know what it’s like to fly.” by Guy Finley.

Only wanna say that this is extremely helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this web site. I’m hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own website now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a great example of it.

I am continuously searching online for articles that can aid me. Thx!

Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such fantastic information being shared freely out there.

Yay google is my king helped me to find this great internet site ! . “They used to photograph Shirley Temple through gauze. They should photograph me through linoleum.” by Tallulah Bankhead.

You could definitely see your enthusiasm in the paintings you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to mention how they believe. All the time follow your heart. “No man should marry until he has studied anatomy and dissected at least one woman.” by Honore’ de Balzac.

I loved as much as you will receive performed right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an impatience over that you would like be handing over the following. unwell undoubtedly come more before again since precisely the same nearly a lot often inside case you defend this hike.

I’m wanting to look at blogs containing music I like, but sifting through all the detached, outdated and crap blogs is a hassle. . I know there are thousands of blogs, is there a good resource to seek out the preferred ones?.

… [Trackback]…

[…] There you will find 50508 more Infos: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/2012-is-my-year-of-no-resolutions/ […]…

This it is an interesting article. But first of all I must salute all the visitors. Hy. And now I must say that I m going to post https://donallan.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/2012-is-my-year-of-no-resolutions/ on my Hi5 profile. And this because in the end I found what I was looking for. What you say here is really respectable sharing. In the minute I saw this tittle, 2012 is my year of no resolutions Allan Takes Aim Blog, on my google search I was very glad. It is possible I found something like this here http://www.freetopdir.info/index.php?q=www.toplevel-proxy.com , I’m not sure but I thing it was the same. All the best

Real nice design and wonderful content , nothing at all else we need : D.

Would you be all in favour of exchanging hyperlinks?

How soon do you think web crawler will pickup my blog posts?

I do not really understand how how this is much different between the San Diego Tribune publishing this or some online site. Stuff like this must to be administered out more to the public. I wish that people in America would want to take a stance like this.

What i don’t understood is if truth be told how you’re no longer really much more neatly-appreciated than you may be now. You are so intelligent. You already know therefore significantly when it comes to this subject, made me personally consider it from numerous varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t interested except it’s something to do with Girl gaga! Your own stuffs excellent. At all times handle it up!

Would you be considering exchanging links?

There are certainly lots of details like that to take into consideration. That is a nice level to carry up. I supply the thoughts above as common inspiration however clearly there are questions just like the one you bring up the place a very powerful thing will be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if greatest practices have emerged round things like that, however I’m positive that your job is clearly recognized as a fair game. Each girls and boys feel the impact of only a moment’s pleasure, for the remainder of their lives.

After study just a few of the weblog posts on your website now, and I really like your means of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site checklist and will likely be checking again soon. Pls take a look at my web page as effectively and let me know what you think.

I don’t know of similar sites but if you trawl the web I’m sure you’ll find sites that will meet your needs.

I have recently started a website, the information you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work. “It is no use saying, ‘We are doing our best.’ You have got to succeed in doing what is necessary.” by Sir Winston Churchill.

Just put out a ghneral request to all contributors whenever and if you next post a comment. Put it in large bold text and I’m sure someone will come to your rescue.

I’m not sure exactly why but this web site is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot approximately this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I believe that you simply could do with some % to pressure the message home a little bit, however other than that, this is excellent blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

I’ve noticed that fixing credit activity needs to be conducted with tactics. If not, you may find yourself destroying your position. In order to realize your aspirations in fixing your credit ranking you have to ensure that from this moment you pay all your monthly dues promptly prior to their booked date. Really it is significant given that by not necessarily accomplishing that, all other actions that you will choose to adopt to improve your credit rank will not be efficient. Thanks for revealing your thoughts.

Its such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to know a lot approximately this, like you wrote the e book in it or something. I feel that you could do with some p.c. to power the message house a little bit, but other than that, that is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

I have recently started a web site, the information you provide on this web site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

Great work! This is the kind of information that should be shared across the net. Shame on Google for not positioning this submit upper! Come on over and seek advice from my web site . Thanks =)

An interesting discussion is price comment. I feel that you need to write more on this subject, it won’t be a taboo subject but typically persons are not sufficient to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

Thank you for some other fantastic article. Where else could anyone get that kind of info in such a perfect approach of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such info.

Peggy, thank you for the compliment. I hope it is of help with your presentation. I would be pleased if you could let me know.

There are some attention-grabbing time limits on this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There’s some validity but I will take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we would like more! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

I actually respect Ron Paul. He is not afraid standing up for what he knows is right. I don’t know if I will vote for him. I do not know if he can win. It isn’t looking so good right now. Maybe things will pick up.

I greatly like this post… If you will post more posts.

A lot of of what you mention is supprisingly precise and it makes me ponder why I had not looked at this in this light previously. This particular article truly did switch the light on for me as far as this particular subject goes. But there is actually 1 issue I am not necessarily too comfy with and whilst I attempt to reconcile that with the central idea of the position, let me observe just what the rest of the visitors have to point out.Well done.

With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement? My blog has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any techniques to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

Plagiarism is the plague of writers but as you seem to be working in the legal field I expect you know that. However to put your mind at ease and because the copyright law in Australia is likely to be different from the US Law if you are losing money because of plagiarism perhaps you should consult a legal aid office as to how you might protect your writing. That’s the best advice I can offer.

Thanks for the writeup. I definitely agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my brother so hopefully this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

Thank you your submission, it is interesting and compelling. I discovered my way here through Google, I will come back one more time 🙂

Couldn’t have said it better myself.

Spot on with this write-up, I truly assume this web site wants far more consideration. I’ll most likely be once more to read rather more, thanks for that info.

Advantageous information and facts and amazing layout you obtained the following! I’d personally love to thanks for sharing your options and putting the time into your articles you publish! Wonderful deliver the results!

I was looking through some of your content on this website and I conceive this web site is really instructive! Keep on posting.

There’s noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made certain good points in options also.

Unknown: “Some people succeed because they are destined to, but most people succeed because they are determined to.”

Would you be focused on exchanging hyperlinks?

I used to be more than happy to search out this net-site.I needed to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I undoubtedly enjoying each little little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you weblog post.

Thanks for the helpful article. It is also my belief that mesothelioma has an really long latency time period, which means that the signs of the disease might not emerge right up until 30 to 50 years after the initial exposure to asbestos fiber. Pleural mesothelioma, which is the most common sort and has effects on the area across the lungs, might cause shortness of breath, upper body pains, including a persistent cough, which may lead to coughing up body.

It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

Many thanks for the art, previously interesting and compelling. I discovered my way here through Google, I’ll go back over again 🙂

Hi, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

It is best to participate in a contest for probably the greatest blogs on the web. I will advocate this web site!

I found your weblog website on google and verify a number of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the superb operate. I just further up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Searching for ahead to studying more from you in a while!…

Somebody necessarily assist to make severely posts I would state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and so far? I amazed with the research you made to create this particular publish incredible. Fantastic job!

Are there global regulations that regulate just how these websites run?

Many thanks for your submission, previously interesting and compelling. I found my way here through Google, I’ll return over again 🙂

It is best to participate in a contest for probably the greatest blogs on the web. I will recommend this website!

hey hey you can call me crasnal man, that’s what i am

Have you ever considered creating an ebook or guest authoring on other websites? I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

I can’t appear to get the comment form to work, maybe you have disbaled comments on the website?

Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.

A formidable share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he the truth is bought me breakfast because I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love studying more on this topic. If attainable, as you become expertise, would you thoughts updating your weblog with extra particulars? It’s highly useful for me. Large thumb up for this weblog post!

What is here it is a great article. But first of all I must say all the visitors. Hello there. After this I must say that I will post https://donallan.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/2012-is-my-year-of-no-resolutions/ on my Twitter profile. I will do this because at long last I found what I was looking for. What you post here is really respectable post. In the second I saw this tittle, 2012 is my year of no resolutions Allan Takes Aim Blog, on google search I was very happy. I think I found something that have the same ideea here http://www.toplevel-proxy.com/web-proxy-sites , I’m not sure but I thing it was the same. My regrds

Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics? Thanks a lot!

Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

wonderful . Thanks for informations . Ill be back. Thanks once again

Loving the information on this internet site , you have done outstanding job on the articles .

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
