Allan Takes Aim Blog

Signs not words are the future

Posted on: 25 January 2012


This is an extended version of the column posted in The Chronicle Canberra Tuesday 24 January 2012.

From time to time I’ve come across articles in which writers forecast the end of handwriting becauser computers, mobile phones, tablets (keep that word in mind ) and voice recognition technology are pushing it to the point of extinction at an ever increasing rate.

They may well be right but what worries me more is not the end of handwriting but the end of words we use when writing. More worrying still is their failure to put a date on when they think this extinction will take place. Indeed, and depending on the writer, the date varies from eons to centuries.

So let me state my personal preference: if it is going to happen I hope it happens sooner rather than later and preferably before the start of a Christmas season. Anything that makes it un-necessary for me to handwrite dozens of Christmas cards will be a blessing in disguise.

But let me be frank about the demise of handwriting; by the end of the next century people will be talking about how technology caused the demise of handwriting in the same way as we talk tday about the demise of the dinosaurs. For example, their Tyranosaurus Rex will be the Commodore 64 et al.

Among the et al, will be the various computers that killed off older computers with everyone who helped develop a new computer claiming it was the best. Unfortunately for them, just as the T-Rex Commdore was overwhelmed by a new computer each sucessive computer met the same fate: they became redundant.

Examples of the technology that will help cause the demise of handwriting are: the world wide web, e-mail, texting, twitter, facebook, you tube; skype, along with many other technological developements that at present we cannot even begin to imagine. Computer operated TV, fridges and sundry other items that the present generation ooh -ah over, willl be old hat.

Importantly however, people will no longer need to worry about where the power will come from to run these appliances: fusion energy will have arrived. Fusion energy of course, is not technology that will become redundant. If it did there would be no world to live in because that means the sun would have shut down.

But I won’t get on to fusion energy but return to handwriting. And while handwriting as we know it will have ceased there will still be handwriting of a kind. Fortunately too, some old adges will remain also because as people will still talk, the saying there’s many a slip twixt lip and cup will still be in use as will ‘beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.’ That these sayings will still be around is only because humans won’t have become redundant. Unfortunately, some of them will still become politicians.

And though hand writing of a kind will remain there’s every possibility that in the next century many of the words we use today will ceased to have meaning. The suggestion is not as silly as you think. With regard to the writing of words I think many of you will be familiar with the phrase ‘what goes around comes around.’

In my opinion we are headed into a second age of cuneiform writing similar to Sumerian cuneiform, which dates back to c.3300 BCE. You’ll have seen those television programs where explorers erupt in excitement as they manage to decipher the cuneiform messages etched on the their walls – were cuneformists the first graffiti artists? Not for them page after page of words when one etched stone wall carried hundreds and hundreds of messages.

I don’t know what name to give the the new form of etching and so have settled for ‘compuglyphs.’

While you might say all this is nonsense, it isn’t. Take a look around you at signs that don’t use words but give you messages without words. For example: no smoking, speed bump, blind corner, cattle grid and that’s only a few; there are thousands more

And if that’s not proof enough, take a look at your mobile phone. I’ve just taken a look at mine and found fourteen hieroglyphic signs that have replaced words. And that’s just the advance guard from the growing lexicon of compuglyphs.

dca@netspeed.com.au

The Chronicle for the best of Canberra Community news. Published every Tuesday.
By the way if ever you want to send a letter to The Chronicle send it to: letters@chronicle.com.au

27 Responses to "Signs not words are the future"

Food for thought. Perhaps we might go back to telepathy, with compuglyphs as back-up.

Thanks so much for the post.Really thank you! Really Great.

1yt3hm twmjojqpgept, [url=http://bomlvtyntead.com/]bomlvtyntead[/url], [link=http://mbndgkrqfcmu.com/]mbndgkrqfcmu[/link], http://kytqndgsnbon.com/

I really enjoy the article.Really looking forward to read more. Really Cool.

I not to mention my friends appeared to be looking at the best suggestions found on the blog and quickly developed an awful suspicion I had not thanked the web blog owner for those strategies. These young men were for that reason glad to learn all of them and now have undoubtedly been tapping into these things. We appreciate you simply being very considerate as well as for finding variety of awesome issues millions of individuals are really desirous to discover. My personal honest regret for not expressing appreciation to earlier.

Hi. Actually would like to leave a short note and question where you bought your particular web-site layout I might be initiating own web publication and absolutely like your layout.

Vance, It’s a free website from WordPress.

Nice to be visiting your blog again, it has been months for me.

Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

… [Trackback]…

[…] There you will find 21509 more Infos: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/signs-not-words-are-the-future/ […]…

Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

Melannia, Thnk you for your kind words but I’m not disappointed at lack of popularity. Had that been my aim, every blog would contain phrases calculated to achieve that end. But the fact is that close to 46,000 comments have been made of which only 4,000 have been allowed through. But what does disppoint me, is that few correspondents seeem willing to offer contradictory views. I had hoped I would provoke new ideas that would help open up new fields of thought. Regards, Don Allan. web: https://donallan. wordpress.com.au; dca@netspeed.com.au

I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today..

Intl Funds Transfer Manager 26 yrs. Wall Street-Excellant-PBS Needs to Continue to Inform

great points altogether, you simply gained a brand new reader. What may you recommend about your post that you just made some days in the past? Any positive?

I have been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Sorry to disappoint you but I use but I use WordPress and am more than happy with the result.

Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is magnificent blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this website, since I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

Probably the reason I haven’t experienced any hackers is they don’t think my material worth hacking

hello there and thank you to your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I did then again expertise some technical issues the use of this site, as I skilled to reload the web site lots of occasions prior to I may get it to load correctly. I have been puzzling over if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, however sluggish loading instances occasions will sometimes have an effect on your placement in google and could damage your quality rating if ads and ***********|advertising|advertising|advertising and *********** with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this once more soon..

I discovered your blog site on google and check a couple of of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the superb operate. I just further up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Searching for ahead to reading extra from you in a while!…

Hello there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this website.

My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

Yep….

I couldn’t have said it better myself……

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
