Allan Takes Aim Blog

Cicero would do it all differently

Posted on: 2 February 2012


Published The Chronicle, Canberra, Tuesday January 31, 2012

The budget and Grandma’s Lye soap

Whenever I hear politicians promise to make sure older people have a good life,help people with a disability and a multitude other problems, Johnny Standley’s old gospel style song ‘Grandma’s Lye soap’ comes unbidden to mind. The song “Remember Grandma’s Lye soap, Good for everything in the home – and the secret was in the scrubbing – It wouldn’t suds, and couldn’t foam,’ best describes for me the politicians’ promises.

Probably most Australians have never heard of lye soap which got it’s name due partly to the fact that shortly after clothes were washed using lye soap for washing clothes they had a habit of disintegrating. (If you substitute lie for lye, this should remove any puzzlement you might have about the relationship between Lye Soap and Politicians.)

Metaphorically speaking, lye soap has great relevance at budget time and with Canberra soon to face both a Federal and ACT Budget it is particularly relevant when you read the great Roman Philosopher Cicero’s words about what a budget should be. “The budget should be balanced, the Treasury should be refilled, public debt should be reduced, the arrogance of officialdom should be tempered and controlled, and the assistance to foreign lands should be curtailed lest Rome become bankrupt. Instead of living on assistance, we must again learn to work.”

But I doubt even Cicero could have foreseen that more 2000 years later, budgets would have departed from philosophy and become tools treasurers would use to enhance their image. That said when the Federal budget (I nearly wrote pre-election budget) is brought down although it might seem to meet Cicero’s philosophy in part, it will be seen fairly quickly that it is more in line with Grandma’s prediction. And when this happens people already finding it difficult to pay either their mortgage, rent or keep their small business going, might be in for the biggest shock of their lives.

Some will accept this stoically and say Que Sera, Sera, while others used to being let down by government will ask their doctor for a pill to relax so that they can rest up and build their mental strength so as to withstand any shocks the budget contains. I can only add that I have yet to experience a budget that didn’t shock.

Budget optimists take a different tack. As they watch the Treasurer on TV spin his fairytale of bad news in glowing language that suggests everything in life’s garden is rosy, they wash down a Bex with a strong cup of tea or something stronger.

But what of the ACT budget?

For some unknown reason, and unlike Cicero, both the Federal and ACT Treasurers seem more concerned about a budget surplus than a balanced budget. Indeed it seems the Federal Treasurer wants to achieve his objective this year even if it means that old cars will become home for many distressed families because they have not been able to pay their mortgage or rent; or that people will be living in homes without electricity or gas; or that they will have to live on one meal a day not to mention that children at school will be seriously disadvantaged.

But even if the Federal Treasurer achieves his objective, as good Australians, the distressed will be so pleased they will dance and sing his praises as they wend their way to Centrelink, St Vinnie’s, The Salvation Army, Smith Family or some other charity, chanting Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi Oi Oi. And during their break from chanting and singing his praises they will demand a monument be erected in memory of his great feat of achieving a surplus

And what of the ACT’s treasurer? Unlike his Federal colleague the ACT treasurer does not seem to be aiming for a surplus this year, not that it’s likely he would achieve one anyway. But wealthy as Canberra is, his Federal colleague’s budget is still likely to affect it.

I suspect too, that the ACT budget will be used to boost Centenary Year, because if the Year is to achieve the success the ACT Government wants, lots of money will be required. The result: Canberra’s distressed families are likely to become even more distressed.
dca@netspeed.com.au

The Chronicle,for Canberra’s best community news. Publsihed every Tuesday

35 Responses to "Cicero would do it all differently"

As I say to anyone who wants to listen (no-one so far this year) a government is not a business and should not be making a profit. Our tax money is supposed to be used for the benefit of the collectivity. Any money that has been taken from us but has not been used, should be returned to us in one way or another, and the taxes that provided a profit (or “surplus” in government jargon) should be reduced the following year. What’s all this hoarding of public money about, anyway?

Lady Marilyn has made the kind of comment that should make people interested in deomocracy and good government think.

That said I hope what she has to say encourages interested people, wherever they live, to make their own comment after reading “Cicero would do it all differently.”

More comments about whether of not they agree with either the article or Lady M will help to spread the message about making democracy work better better and the importance of good government. And don’t just comment at http://www.donallan.wordpress.com, send a letter to The Chronicle editor at:letters@chronicle.com.au

I want to point out my affection for your kindness supporting men and women that have the need for help on this one area. Your special commitment to getting the message throughout turned out to be extremely effective and has in every case helped professionals like me to attain their pursuits. Your entire informative guide can mean a whole lot to me and much more to my office workers. Warm regards; from each one of us.

Good day. Basically want to place a quick comment and enquire exactly where you grabbed your particular weblog theme I am initiating own site and honestly appreciate your particular model.

Keva, The answer is the same as for Vance.

Thank you for your warm regards. Hope you continue to progrees.

You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

This is my first time I have visited your site. I found a lot of interesting stuff in your blog. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the impressive work.

Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thanks!

You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Wonderful work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the net. Shame on Google for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my web site . Thanks =)

I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish only about gossips and internet and this is really annoying. A good blog with exciting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for keeping this web site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

Thanks for your write-up. Another factor is that being photographer involves not only difficulty in recording award-winning photographs but additionally hardships in establishing the best digicam suited to your requirements and most especially struggles in maintaining the grade of your camera. This is very genuine and clear for those photography fans that are in capturing the actual nature’s exciting scenes : the mountains, the actual forests, the actual wild or the seas. Going to these amazing places definitely requires a dslr camera that can surpass the wild’s severe area.

Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually know what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also visit my website =). We could have a link exchange arrangement between us!

Very good written article. It will be valuable to everyone who utilizes it, including me. Keep up the good work – i will definitely read more posts.

I do believe that this certain blog was ever most useful in my adventures of blogging. Ever more I think everyone should know and learn the information posted. Good day.

A level of perfection should always be the goal for any web designer. Of course, no website is going to be perfect. But if you have the attitude that you want your website to be as perfect as possible, you’ll constantly look for ways to improve on your website design. No matter which type of website you are trying to build, having this attitude will help you out.

One thing I’ve noticed is always that there are plenty of fallacies regarding the financial institutions intentions when talking about foreclosed. One delusion in particular is the fact the bank wishes to have your house. The financial institution wants your dollars, not your property. They want the funds they loaned you along with interest. Steering clear of the bank will still only draw the foreclosed conclusion. Thanks for your publication.

Almost all of whatever you articulate happens to be astonishingly legitimate and that makes me ponder why I hadn’t looked at this with this light before. Your piece truly did switch the light on for me as far as this particular subject matter goes. But at this time there is one point I am not necessarily too cozy with and whilst I attempt to reconcile that with the main idea of your issue, let me observe exactly what all the rest of your subscribers have to say.Nicely done.

Thanks for a tremendous submit, will study your personal others content. thank you your thoughts on this, I soon became somewhat struck by this short article. Thanks again! You commit a terrific moment. Has excellent data here. I feel if a greater number of people thought about it like this, they’d have a very better time frame have the suspend ofing the issue.

Reading by way of one’s nice content, will help me to complete so from time to time.

My brother suggested I might like this website. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

I’m still learning from you, but I’m improving myself. I definitely love reading all that is posted on your site.Keep the stories coming. I enjoyed it!

Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

I conceive this web site has some really wonderful information for everyone : D.

I want to convey my affection for your kind-heartedness in support of men who need assistance with this one question. Your real dedication to passing the solution all-around has been incredibly powerful and have without exception empowered folks like me to realize their ambitions. This warm and helpful guide implies a lot to me and especially to my colleagues. Regards; from all of us.

Many thanks for an incredible publish, can study your others reviews. many thanks for your ideas on this, I experienced a bit thump by this article. Thanks again again! You commit an excellent time. Displays the beauty through fantastic facts here. I feel that when more individuals thought about it doing this, they’d possess a better time frame get the suspend ofing the situation.

Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

Thanks for an unbelievable publish, would examine your others reviews. many thanks for your ideas within this, I felt somewhat thump by this post. Many thanks again! You make a great moment. Has wonderful facts here. I feel that if more individuals consideration for it like this, they’d have got a better moment in time get the hold ofing the situation.

Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

Contact page: Allan Taks Aim at: donallan.wordpress.com

Excellent post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
