Allan Takes Aim Blog

Towards more participatory democracy

Posted on: 9 February 2012


First published The Chronicle Canberra, Tuesday, 7 February 2012

Let me make a radical suggestion. Have a member of the public serve on all Standing Committees of the Assembly. Apart from being participatory democracy in action I believe the member’s presence would also help improve a Committee’s performance.

How to pick the public members? The positions would be advertised as being available to registered voters. To avoid conflict of interest and /or political manipulation, successful applicants would be given a number that would be drawn from a barrel by the Clerk of the Assembly. Clearly, applicants should not be members of political parties, officers of ACT unions, executives of trade and business organisations, lobbyists and nor members of the political commentariat.

And I’d put them on Standing Committees because their presence on these Committees, allegedly the protectors of the Assembly’s democratic process, might stop the Committee’s elected members thinking of democracy in phrases like Humpty Dumpty in ‘Alice through the Looking Glass’: ‘’When I use a word,’ Humpty Dumpty said, in rather a scornful tone, ‘it means just what I choose it to mean — neither more nor less.’ ‘The question is,’ said Alice, ‘whether you can make words mean so many different things.’ ‘The question is,’ said Humpty Dumpty, ‘which is to be master — that’s all.’

Regardless of their chosen political philosophy, it is likely that all MLAs would argue against such appointments. However, in the course of a year, and because new problems arise will have arisen, it seems a not unreasonable assumption to make that some of the problems voters thought important on election day are no longer thought important. With that in mind, where better than a committee to make both Government Ministers and bureaucrats aware of the changes and also tell them why current policies are either working or not working.

I am in no doubt Ministers would say that voters have ample opportunities to meet them even though anecdotal evidence might suggest otherwise. Indeed, I have heard people say that trying to arrange a meeting with a Minister to complain about a problem that might possibly reflect badly on the Minister, is like trying to make a bare foot attempt to climb Everest. Some say this also applies to meetings with senior bureaucrats. Indeed some go as far as to say that by trying to arrange a meeting with either Minister or bureaucrat hey get branded as whingers.

In my conception of democracy all elected members of parliament are supposed to represent all the people all the time. Ask yourself: do you think they do? And you also need ask the question: does democracy mean the same for all politicians?

I think not. Indeed in the case of the ACT Assembly I suggest that neither Chief Minister, Katy Gallagher, Leader of the Opposition Zed Sejelsa, Leader of the Greens Meredith Hunter or any other MLA think of democracy in the same terms? If they did, there would be no factions of any kind.

The MLAs would argue also that at election time voters have the chance to decide between the competing political philosophies on offer. Unfortunately at election time this doesn’t happen. Popularity reigns and so during the election campaign the money parties use to publicize policies of surface popularity that they hope will give them government is far in excess of that given to policies that wouldn’t give them government but put into practice would be better for the community.

It could be argued it is the responsibility of voters to ask about the latter policies. Some do, but, unfortunately, because the media focus is on the popular, reporting of the latter is limited. Indeed it seems to me that Federal, State and Territory Elections are now reported on as if they were television talent quests where viewers telephone to pick the winners. (Could this system be worth a try?)

But talent quests aside, more and more it seems to me and many others, that politicians have forgotten that voters are their paymasters and so deserve to be fully informed about how and if they are solving the problems they were elected to solve.

And while co-opting public members to Standing Committees won’t change politicians’ thinking overnight it could be a step in the right direction.
dca@netspeed.com.au.

The Chronicle for Canberra’s best community news. Published every Tuesday

38 Responses to "Towards more participatory democracy"

This is done at Local Council level in at least one town in France. When the left-leaning Councillors found themselves in the majority, after years of right-leaning Mayors, the Council set up a series of Commissions which covered absolutely all aspects of municipal life, and advertised in the local papers as well as in the Municipal Bulletin for members of the public to sit on the Commissions. Each Commission was presided by one or more Councillers and you could sign up for as many Commissions as you liked. I was on six at one stage. You had to be “approved” by a certain number of people concerned by the Commission’s decisions (I was turned down for one because one person didn’t like me personally, which was news to me). The Commissions studied everything and voted on actions to be taken, which were then put before the Council by the Councillor in charge of the Commission. Council Meetings were public and attended by the Press. Commission Meetings were private and confidential. This system worked quite well, I thought.

Dear Lady Marylin, And here was I thinking I was being radical. However, I am pleased that such a system is in force in France. That leads me to hope that Australia will eventaully experience real participatory democracy. After all, Australia’s prides itself on being egalitaian though its egalitarianism seems to have as many divisions as its democracy. But while there’s life there’s hope.

Sorry, but I dispute with this blog post. I actually do take pleasure in your particular site still and may keep moving right back for the latest.

Mohammad, I’m pleased you say you disagree with this post but for me what is important is what particular thing you’re in disgreement with. For exaample I would be interested in knowing whether or not you disagree with my view that we need more participatory democracy and why. You may have an argument that I find irrefutable. If you have I’ll publish it on my blog. BUt I’m glad you’ll return and read future blogs.

I must express my appreciation to the writer just for rescuing me from this incident. As a result of looking out through the the web and obtaining principles which are not powerful, I believed my entire life was over. Existing minus the answers to the difficulties you’ve solved by means of your short post is a serious case, as well as the kind which may have negatively affected my career if I hadn’t come across your blog post. Your own capability and kindness in controlling everything was very useful. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I had not discovered such a thing like this. It’s possible to at this moment look ahead to my future. Thank you very much for the reliable and results-oriented guide. I won’t be reluctant to refer your web site to anybody who needs and wants recommendations on this matter.

Respecting the hard work you put into your blog and very informative information you offer here. It’s awesome to come across a blog in a rare occasion that is not all the same unwanted rehashed information. Wonderful work! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feed to my Favorites now. Moreover, I like your site so much that I am interested to advertise my own site http://www.emt.co.il on it. I would appreciate you email me at: everythingrainbowhk (AT) gmail.com specifying your monthly banner rates. Looking forward to your email!

To Israel Investigations. Thank you for your generous remarks. Unfortuantel I must advise that I don’t take paid advertisng. However, I don’t rule out taking advertising in the future as I have had a number of requests for space. I will l;et you know if the position changes. Regards,www.donallan.wordpress.com

One thing I would like to say is the fact car insurance cancellations is a dreaded experience so if you’re doing the proper things like a driver you simply won’t get one. Some people do have the notice that they’ve been officially dropped by their own insurance company and many have to struggle to get supplemental insurance after a cancellation. Low cost auto insurance rates tend to be hard to get from a cancellation. Knowing the main reasons for auto insurance cancellations can help motorists prevent completely losing in one of the most vital privileges offered. Thanks for the concepts shared through your blog.

Thank you for your own work on this web site. Kate delights in doing investigation and it’s really easy to see why. A number of us learn all concerning the compelling means you make invaluable techniques via your web blog and in addition cause response from website visitors on that issue then our own daughter is now discovering a whole lot. Enjoy the rest of the new year. Your doing a really good job.

I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later. All the best

Would you be fascinated about exchanging hyperlinks?

Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful blog. A great read. I will definitely be back.

Thanks for your post. One other thing is when you are promoting your property on your own, one of the difficulties you need to be mindful of upfront is when to deal with property inspection accounts. As a FSBO retailer, the key concerning successfully switching your property plus saving money about real estate agent commission rates is expertise. The more you recognize, the softer your sales effort will probably be. One area exactly where this is particularly important is information about home inspections.

I have seen that wise real estate agents almost everywhere are getting set to FSBO Marketing. They are noticing that it’s not just placing a poster in the front place. It’s really about building connections with these vendors who sooner or later will become consumers. So, when you give your time and energy to aiding these sellers go it alone : the “Law involving Reciprocity” kicks in. Interesting blog post.

Hello my family member! I wish to say that this article is awesome, nice written and come with almost all significant infos. I’d like to peer extra posts like this .

Almost all of the things you articulate happens to be astonishingly appropriate and that makes me ponder the reason why I had not looked at this in this light before. This particular piece truly did switch the light on for me personally as far as this particular subject goes. Nonetheless there is one particular issue I am not really too comfortable with and while I try to reconcile that with the core theme of your issue, allow me see what all the rest of your visitors have to say.Nicely done.

There are some fascinating deadlines in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There may be some validity but I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we wish more! Added to FeedBurner as well

Hello Webmaster, I noticed that https://donallan.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/towards-more-participatory-democracy/ is ranking pretty low on Google and has a low Google PageRank. Now the Google PageRank is how Google is able to see how relevant your webpage is compared to all the other webpages online, if you cannot rank high at the top of Google, then you will NOT get the traffic you need. Now usually trying to get to the top of Google costs hundreds if not thousands of dollars and very highly optimized targeted marketing campaigns that takes a team of experts months to achieve. However, we can show you how to get to the top of Google with no out of pocket expenses (free traffic), no stupid ninja tricks, no silly mind control techniques, and this will be all white hat with no blackhat software or tactics that could possibly land you on bad terms with Google and put you in the dreaded “Google Sandbox”. We’ll show you how to easily capture all the targeted traffic you need, for free, multiple ways to land fast (not months) first-page rankings in Google and other major search engines (Bing, Yahoo, Ask, etc), even show you strategies on how to earn daily commissions just try Ranking Top of Google, please check out our 5 minute video.

WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..extra wait .. …

There are some attention-grabbing cut-off dates on this article but I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There’s some validity however I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we wish more! Added to FeedBurner as nicely

I am not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this info for my mission.

Thanks for a tremendous post, may examine one’s others content. i appreciate your ideas on this, I experienced a bit made an impact to by this short article. Many thanks again! You earn a good point. Displays the beauty through excellent facts here. I feel if a greater number of people thought of it doing this, they’d have a very better moment in time have the suspend ofing the issue.

Great weblog here! Also your internet site a good deal up pretty rapid! What internet host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate hyperlink to your host? I want my web site loaded up as swiftly as yours lol

Many thanks for an unbelievable put up, would study your particular others topics. thank you your notions with this, I experienced a lttle bit made an impact to by this post. Merit again! You wanna make a great time. Got some excellent data here. I do think that if more individuals thought about it like this, they’d have got a better time have the hold ofing the matter.

Thanks , I’ve just been looking for information about this subject for ages and yours is the best I have discovered till now. But, what about the bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

Excellent web site. Plenty of useful info here. I am sending it to some friends ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thanks for your sweat!

Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

After study a few of the weblog posts in your website now, and I truly like your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site list and will be checking back soon. Pls try my website online as well and let me know what you think.

Thank you for this infomation

I’ll right away grab your rss as I can not find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

I like it….

[…]below you’ll find the link to some sites that we think you should visit[…]……

I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

Nice post…

[…]The information mentioned in the article are some of the best available […]…

Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and terrific design.

Appreciating the dedication you put into your site and in depth information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Thank you for another informative blog. Where else could I get that kind of information written in such a perfect way? I’ve a project that I am just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

Excellent blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article? I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get opinions from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Cheers!

Can’t be of help IU’m afraid. Regards, Don

Leave a Reply

    • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
    • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
    • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
