Allan Takes Aim Blog

Old and young in same boat

Posted on: 16 February 2012


First published The Chronicle, Canberra, Tuesday 14 February, 2012

Could someone please define “old” for me? I’m interested in the subject because many people seem to think “old age” is a category to be used exclusively by age pensioners.

This assumption is egregiously wrong. Many people will attest to (myself included) that age is a relative state which is why as a boy of fifteen and on a rung near the bottom of life’s ladder, I wanted to be seen old enough to be thought in the age bracket that would help enhance my standing among the girls. And although I never asked them, I think most girls thought the same in reverse.

That apart, having cogitated about old age for many years and although old ag has given rise to some famous aphorisms that some of us know to be true, eg. “Old sins cast long shadows” I think age is simply a state of mind. Unfortunately however, many ageing men and women who having nearly reached the top of life’s ladder and now need help to climb the last few rungs because they require more care and attention than those still at the bottom and those only halfway up, seem to be regarded as pests that need exterminating.

This seems strange to me when the Federal Government is exhorting older people who haven’t retired to keep on working and those who have retired to look for a job. While such exhortations sound good in a thirty second TV grab, I wish I could cast my cynicism aside to say this shows how the Federal Government appreciates older people.

Sadly I have to say it seems more than likely these exhortations are due to the fact that the working old will mean the Government not having to pay out as much for pensions while paying tax and so helping to fill up the treasury’s coffers.

Also, despite such exhortations, many older people still face prejudice. Many, healthy, fit, alert highly skilled people in the 60 and 70 years age bracket who apply for jobs they could do standing on their head get turned down with remarks that they are over qualified. And I’m not only talking about men, many women are in the same boat.

And as I cogitate I recall it is not eons ago that these same people were looked upon, not with jaundiced and prejudiced eyes but with respect for having climbed life’s ladder despite a great many difficulties. Today, unfortunately, instead of being respected, many of them – too many – now feel valueless and without dignity. Many also hope that as they put their foot on the topmost rung of life’s ladder, it will break and they will suffer a fatal fall.

But as life is not meant to be sad, on a more cheerful note let say that one of my life’s greatest pleasures has been meeting and talking to people older than me who have gained much wisdom and experience that has passed me by. Some of these people live in Canberra and though I do not know them personally their names are familiar to me, and likely familiar to you as writers of letters to the editor or writers of opinion features. Nevertheless, and regardless of whether or not I agree with them, many times I wish I had written such pieces myself.

But perhaps one of the greatest ironies about age prejudice is that it doesn’t only apply to older people. It applies also to many young people who educated themselves to help make climbing the ladder of life easier. Sadly, as many have found out, their education counted for naught because, at job after job interview, interviewers said they did not have enough experience. The result: in common with some older people, some young people start to feel valueless and wonder if life is worth living.

But whether old or young I think it wise to be careful about what you wish for. For example: the old shouldn’t wish to be young again because they can’t take their experience with them while the young shouldn’t wish to be old because they don’t have enough life experience to take with them. As you can see, young or old, age really is a problem.
dca@netspeed.com.au

The Chronicle for Canberra’s best community news. Published every Tuesday.

38 Responses to "Old and young in same boat"

I agree that old age is a state of mind. My ex-husband told me when he was 34 that he was no longer young, and withing two weeks, he had become old. I mentioned this to a lady whom I barely knew, and she told me that her husband had done exactly the same thing, at the same age, and had also become old within two weeks. There is a lesson to be learnt here, I think.

Dear Lady Marylin,

Glad someone agrees with me.

Regards, Don

I’m a long time watcher and I just believed I’d drop by and say hello there for your very first time.
I seriously enjoy your posts. Thanks
You are my role models. Thanks for the article
thank you for helpful tips and simply good info
i can agree with the article
r u sure that is true?
Not so bad. Interesting things here
really good things here, just thanks
hey buddy, this is a very interesting article
Read it, liked it, thanks for it
I am looking for a competent writer, long time in this area. Excellent article!
I have read not one article on your blog. You’re a big lad
This is exactly what I was looking for, thanks
Thank you for your work. Article helped me a lot
Really worthwhile article. Pay attention
Hey, buddy, I have not figured out how to subscribe
I am a long time ago I read your blog and has long been saying that you’re a great writer
Say “thanks” you to your parents that they gave you the world
It’s super blog, I want to be like you
You are my role models. Thanks for the article
Beautiful essay, got the pleasure of reading
I found what I was looking for. great article, thanks
Subscribed to your blog, thanks
I can not figure out how do I subscribe to your blog
Thank you for what you have. This is the best post I’ve read
I will not talk about your competence, the article simply disgusting
You just copied someone else’s story
All material copied from another source
I’ll complain that you have copied material from another source
This is the worst article of all, I’ve read
You are the worst writer
Thank you, this is the worst thing I’ve read
Reading this article – the gift of your time
Learn to write himself, the article from another source
I would like to uslysht a little more on this topic
I have not found what I wanted
This is a set of words, not an essay. you are incompetent
if you want, I’ll write you articles. Copywriter looking for work
I have a few question to you, write to those I do not e-mail
I can not subscribe to your channel
Blog moved out in chrome
Hi! Your article rocks as well as being a legitimate wonderful understand!??
I can??t really help but admire your blog site, your site is adorable and nice
My spouse and I stumbled over here different website and thought I should check things out.
I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to exploring your web page yet again.
There is noticeably a bundle to comprehend this. I assume you have made specific nice points in features also.
Lately, I didn’t give lots of consideration to leaving feedback on blog page posts and have placed comments even much less.
Reading by way of your nice content, will help me to do so sometimes.
I’m a long time watcher and I just believed I’d drop by and say hello there for your very first time.
I seriously enjoy your posts. Thanks
You are my role models. Thanks for the article
thank you for helpful tips and simply good info
i can agree with the article
r u sure that is true?
Not so bad. Interesting things here
really good things here, just thanks
hey buddy, this is a very interesting article
Read it, liked it, thanks for it
I am looking for a competent writer, long time in this area. Excellent article!
I have read not one article on your blog. You’re a big lad
This is exactly what I was looking for, thanks
Thank you for your work. Article helped me a lot
Really worthwhile article. Pay attention
Hey, buddy, I have not figured out how to subscribe
I am a long time ago I read your blog and has long been saying that you’re a great writer
Say “thanks” you to your parents that they gave you the world
It’s super blog, I want to be like you
You are my role models. Thanks for the article
Beautiful essay, got the pleasure of reading
I found what I was looking for. great article, thanks
Subscribed to your blog, thanks
I can not figure out how do I subscribe to your blog
Thank you for what you have. This is the best post I’ve read
I will not talk about your competence, the article simply disgusting
You just copied someone else’s story
All material copied from another source
I’ll complain that you have copied material from another source
This is the worst article of all, I’ve read
You are the worst writer
Thank you, this is the worst thing I’ve read
Reading this article – the gift of your time
Learn to write himself, the article from another source
I would like to uslysht a little more on this topic
I have not found what I wanted
This is a set of words, not an essay. you are incompetent
if you want, I’ll write you articles. Copywriter looking for work
I have a few question to you, write to those I do not e-mail
I can not subscribe to your channel
Blog moved out in chrome
Hi! Your article rocks as well as being a legitimate wonderful understand!??
I can??t really help but admire your blog site, your site is adorable and nice
My spouse and I stumbled over here different website and thought I should check things out.
I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to exploring your web page yet again.
There is noticeably a bundle to comprehend this. I assume you have made specific nice points in features also.
Lately, I didn’t give lots of consideration to leaving feedback on blog page posts and have placed comments even much less.
Reading by way of your nice content, will help me to do so sometimes.

Thanks for the summary. Hope all commentators thought it interesting.

obviously like your web-site but you need to test the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very troublesome to tell the truth on the other hand I’ll surely come back again.

Very nice post, I certainly love this website, keep on it.

I used to be very happy to seek out this web-site.I needed to thanks on your time for this wonderful learn!! I definitely having fun with every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you weblog post.

Thanks for the compliment and the picture

Hello my friend! I want to say that this post is awesome, nice written and include almost all vital infos. I would like to see more posts like this .

… [Trackback]…

[…] There you will find 34765 more Infos: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/02/16/old-and-young-in-same-boat/ […]…

I think this is among the most important information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

How to fix BSOD error 0x00000ED. There are two possible roots of this error.

I used to be able to find good info from your articles.

You are a very intelligent person!

Usually I don’t read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice article.

Good write-up, I am regular visitor of one’s web site, maintain up the nice operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

The next time I learn a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I mean, I do know it was my choice to read, however I truly thought youd have something attention-grabbing to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you might fix should you werent too busy in search of attention.

Hi there, I do think your website could be having web browser compatibility issues. Whenever I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in IE, it has some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Aside from that, great site!

This page truly has all the information and facts I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

Hello there, I found your site by the use of Google while looking for a related subject, your web site came up, it seems to be good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

Good site you have here.. It’s difficult to find quality writing like yours these days. I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

Just remember…

[…]Being single has its advantages such as constant independence, limited responsibility and having no one to answer to. However, there will come a time where you may see these advantages outweighed by the advantages of being in a loving relationship…

I was here before…

[…]After I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a comment is added I recieve four emails with the exact same comment. There has to be a means you are able to …

Just remember…

[…]Being single has its advantages such as constant independence, limited responsibility and having no one to answer to. However, there will come a time where you may see these advantages outweighed by the advantages of being in a loving relationship…

Nice Message…

[…]Majority of relationships begin with lots of excitement. You are learning about a new person, physical attraction is different, and if it is taken a little slow, the anticipation makes the enjoyment greater. […]…

Definitely interesting weblog youve created – blogesaurus vso software convertxtodvd serial Old and young in same boat Allan Takes Aim Blog

Click Here…

[…]I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I really hope to check out the same high-grade content by you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own blog now ;)[…..

Greetings thanks for fantastic post i was seeking for this issue last two times. I’ll search for up coming precious posts. Have exciting admin.

Now i’m encountering a fresh short issues Once i can’t look like allowed to sign up for the particular give food to, Now i’m utilizing search engines like google audience.

Thank you an amazing put up, may examine your personal others posts. thanks for your ideas for this, I experienced a bit made an impact to by this text. Thanks again again! You earn a good time. Displays the beauty through excellent report here. I do think that if a greater number of people considered it that way, they’d have a better time period receive the hold ofing the matter.

Thanks for an unbelievable submit, would study your particular others reviews. thank you your thinking within this, I experienced a bit struck by this post. Many thanks again! You commit a great point. Portrays natures best by the great info here. I feel that when a greater number thought about it like that, they’d possess a better time frame get the grasp ofing the situation.

Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Regards!

Go ahead. Quote as many as you want.

Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My site covers a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

I’m impressed, I must say. Truly rarely can i encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you’ve got hit the nail for the head. Your notion is outstanding; the discomfort is something which you can find not enough every person is speaking intelligently about. We are very happy that we stumbled across this during my try to discover some thing concerning this.

Some truly marvelous work on behalf of the owner of this internet site , utterly great content material .

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
