Allan Takes Aim Blog

Mind your language

Posted on: 23 February 2012


First published The Chronicle, Canberra,Tuesday 21 February 2012

Today, sadly, some peoples’ grasp of language is so tenuous they seem to think that unless they use expletives, no one will understand their feelings about particular issues. In support of their position they argue that because expletives are often used in conversation between two men, two women, or between a male and a female, they should be accepted as part of conversational English.

While you might agree with this position I don’t. My view is that the loss of language and the increasing use of bad language is a major contributor to people without a reasonable grasp of words. But let me be even more frank, much as I like technology, I think this loss of language stems from an increasing use of what I call technology’s verbal shorthand.

These days when I get these verbal shorthand messages on my mobile phone, I need time to work out what they mean much as I did back in my intelligence days when trying to make sense of what was being said

Nevertheless when some older people complain about the young’s poor behaviour and language I say RUBBISH! Instead of complaining they should stop looking back at their young days through rose coloured glasses. The fact is: the behaviour and language standards of young people today are based on the standards set by them in their young days.

Listening to some older people talk it would be easy to gain the impression that in their young days society was close to be being a society of saints where, truth, honour, integrity and respect for others prevailed. The unfortunate thing is, the society they talk of is imagined. And as someone who long ago joined the ageing group I confess that, at times, as I listen to the radio, watch television or attend the theatre, I harbour the same imaginings.

Unfortunately reality soon sets in and I see the reality of society in my young days. Rose coloured glasses aside, the fact is that many older people were rebellious like many young people today and of the opinion that older people were nothing but a bunch of old fuddy- duddies who would be happy if society regressed to what they imagined was nothing more than their Utopian vision of the perfect society. I rather suspect that is how every society has progressed since man first trod the earth and how they will continue to progress.

The fact is that in Australia young people today are the successors of bodgies and widgies of earlier years and now our aged fuddy – duddies. Of course, some of today’s older people will never admit to it but obdurately they continue living in their personal Utopian time warps.

The same thing is happening in the UK. Many older men don’t want their grandchildren to see them as once reputedly degenerate Teddy boys. Some hope their days as Teddy boys with drainpipe trousers, full drape jackets with narrow lapels and velvet collars, thick crepe-soled shoes called brothel creepers and DA hairstyles with a quiff have been buried six feet deep.

As for older women I suspect some would rather forget their days as Teddy Girls, or Judies as sometimes they were called, who styled themselves to match. Indeed look- alikes were as much in fashion then as they are today.

And if only to show that no matter how things change they remain the same, further back, in what are known today as the Roaring Twenties, rebellious youth outraged a socially conservative society. They danced to the Charleston, Black Bottom, listened to jazz and ragtime, endorsed art deco, cars, cinema and took drugs, not to mention they frequented Illegal clubs which, in their time, were the equivalent of today’s Rave centres.

At the same time, the young should remember that many benefits they enjoy today, were initiated by these old fuddy- duddies. That said however, I do have a beef with those rude and crude young people who think using bad language is smart. It isn’t. In fact their bad language does a dis-service to themselves and their peers. Speaking personally, they would find politeness beneficial as it goes a long way towards getting what you have to say listened to.
dca@netspeed.com.au

The Chronicle for Canberra’s best community news, published every Tuesday

26 Responses to "Mind your language"

I would like to thnkx for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a great example of it.

Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is magnificent, as well as the content!

is obama going to keep giving away our money?

Not being American I can’t comment on Obama except to say he’s a politician and if there’s one thing I know about politicians it’s that they’re very good at giving away other people’s money.

Things i have seen in terms of personal computer memory is that often there are specifications such as SDRAM, DDR etc, that must match the specific features of the mother board. If the computer’s motherboard is reasonably current while there are no computer OS issues, changing the storage space literally will take under an hour. It’s one of several easiest pc upgrade techniques one can picture. Thanks for sharing your ideas.

Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Fantastic blog by the way!

Hey just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results. If you know of any please share. Appreciate it!

Really required post admin fantastic one particular i bookmarked your word wide web site see you in future weblog put up.

Hello admin great submit considerably thanks beloved this webpage seriously significantly

oh my god great publish admin will verify your web site at all times

Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

Great put up admin thank you. I observed what i used to be searching for right here. I will review overall of posts in this working day

I used to be seeking this webpage last a few days great blog site owner wonderful posts all the things is amazing

I am not sure where an individual are taking your information, but good subject matter. I needs to spend some time learning more or comprehending more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this info with regard to my mission.

Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your design. Bless you

Wonderful do the job! This is the form of information that should be shared around the web. Shame on Google pertaining to not positioning this post higher! Come on over as well as visit my site. Thanks =)

I used to be curious about your future article admin truly needed this website super wonderful blog

I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

I possess recently started the site, the information you actually offer about this site includes helped my family tremendously. Give thanks to you for your time & job.

F*ckin’ remarkable elements here. I’m pretty glad to check out your post. Thanks a whole lot and i i’m awaiting contact an individual. Will everyone please shed me a good e-mail?

Pretty area of content. I just found your blog in addition to in accession capital to assert that When i get actually relished account your website posts. Any way I’ll always be subscribing to your feeds and also I achievement you admittance consistently rapidly.

An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

Great one website owner achievement webpage submit great sharings in this website always have fun

Greetings thanks for good submit i used to be seeking for this concern last a couple of days. I’ll search for next valuable posts. Have pleasurable admin.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
