Allan Takes Aim Blog

The importance of community newspapers

Posted on: 14 March 2012


First published as hard copy in The Chronicle, Tuesday 12 March, 2012

This weekend I had four topics in mind from which to choose this weeks’ column: weather, religion, sport and politics. But as I couldn’t say anything other than it had been raining for weeks I gave weather the flick and moved on to religion for a moment or two before moving on again to sport and the question of what could be done do to ensure that sooner, rather than later, Canberra gets a team in Australian soccer’s (football) A League. However, as that’s more a 7000 word that a 700 word argument, it also got the flick, which left me with politics.

Politics, of course, is not only one of four staple items on the menu of Australian broadsheets such as the Canberra Times, Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian, it is also on the menus of English, Irish, Scottish and Welsh broadsheets. And from perusal of the web, politics is also on the menu of broadsheets in every country of the world even those under the yoke of dictators or terrorists.

In a sense it is also a staple on the menu of great community newspapers like The Chronicle, although the focus of The Chronicle is more community news. Nevertheless comment in broadsheets on politics, economics, the arts, education, science, and myriad other issues that also affect community life, are often reflected in community nrewspapers.

However, the most important reports in community newspapers are about local news and events because they help keep the community informed about policies that could affect them, for example: a proposal to develop new infrastructure, be it a new school or any other community facility or even a change to existing services.

In The Chronicle’s case, apart from the news reports by the Chronicle’s journalists and contributions by columnists, The Chronicle also gives Canberra’s Community Councils space to report on issues they think important enough for the community to be made aware of and whether the Council supports or rejects them. In a sense The Chronicle is the community’s communications hub albeit at a level below, although no less important, than that of The Times.

After reading The Chronicle’s and Community Councils’ reports and columnists opinions, the community at large is in a better position to give informed comment about whether or not they like what a Government is proposing. If they don’t like it, they can use the time honoured method of making their approval or disapproval known by laying out their reasons in a letter to the editor.

Indeed these letters make the politicians aware of what a community thinks about their proposals without having to wait until the next election to make it obvious. In fact, weekly community newspapers can play a strong role in articulating a community’s wish, or wishes to politicians. Whether or not the politician’s pay heed, of course, is debatable.

Equally important Community newspapers like The Chronicle do not take political sides through letters to the editor often do. Indeed it has been known for a letter to the editor to cause a change in Government policy something not something as rare as people think. At the same time letters to the editor often become the source of comment on talk back radio so exposing a particular issue to possibly even a wider range of the community.

In The Chronicle’s case giving space to local Senators and Members of Federal Parliament helps them keep the community informed about their activities. (My congratulations to Senator Lundy for her promotion to Ministerial rank). With The Chronicle now online this will also assist people from across the country and the world to keep in touch with what is happening in Canberra and commenting on it.

So pay a visit to The Chronicle website (www.chronicleonline.com.au). Perhaps you’ll get a surprise when photographs stir happy memories of childhood friends or of places long forgotten. At the same time you will also find mention of those special members of the community who bring recognition of the National Capital to the wider world.

So keep in touch by signing up and every Wednesday take time to read The Chronicle. If you haven’t already signed up, do it now. Enjoy it. It’s FREE).
dca@netspeed.com.au

For Canberra’s best community news read The Chronicle online every Wednesday or a hard copy on Tuesday

143 Responses to "The importance of community newspapers"

Not having received the paper version of The Chronicle since well before Christmas, I have now signed up for it online. However, this means that the television programme is no longer convenient and I can’t do the puzzles. Of course, I could print out the pages concerned, but by doing that every week it is no longer going to be “free”. So, I won’t. However, online is better than no paper at all. How do pensioners without computers manage?

Dear Lady Marylin,

Your points are well made. Perhaps the editor of The Chronicle will take them on board and give you an answer? Your comments certainly invite answers of agreement or disagreement from readers who in turn may be tempted to send a letter to the editor.

Best regards, Don.

Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?

Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website so i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

An e-mail to the addrees that comes with the blog is the best way of contacting me.

Hi, this is actually a nice post. You receive my vote for The importance of community newspapers Allan Takes Aim Blog and also I am going to bookmark this blog now.

I simply want to say I am just all new to blogging and actually loved this website. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You absolutely have fabulous well written articles. Regards for sharing with us your website.

Hey there, Thank you for this fantastic article! I must bookmark The importance of community newspapers Allan Takes Aim Blog. Many thanks.

I am trying to start a formal, influential blog and I want to make sure it is professional. Since I have little to no blogging experience, I am trying to save some time by asking you..

The best advice I can give is just be yourself. Say what you want to say clearly and simply.

As soon as I found this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

I leave a response when I especially enjoy a article on a website or if I have something to add to the discussion. It’s a result of the passion communicated in the article I read. And after this article The importance of community newspapers Allan Takes Aim Blog. I was excited enough to drop a thought 😉 I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or do a few of these remarks appear like left by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional social sites, I would like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Could you list every one of all your public sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Enjoyed reading this, very good stuff, regards . “It is in justice that the ordering of society is centered.” by Aristotle.

Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my weblog so right here i’m!.I’m trying to come across things to improve my website!Is it ok if i use some of the things i saw the following?!

I do not leave a great deal of comments, but after browsing through a great deal of responses on this page The importance of community newspapers Allan Takes Aim Blog. I do have 2 questions for you if it’s okay. Is it simply me or do some of these comments look as if they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional online social sites, I would like to follow anything new you have to post. Would you post a list of every one of your public pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

I think this web site contains some real fantastic information for everyone. “I prefer the wicked rather than the foolish. The wicked sometimes rest.” by Alexandre Dumas.

Thanks so much with regard to giving my family an update on this topic on your site. Please realise that if a brand-new post becomes available or when any variations occur on the current publication, I would consider reading a lot more and focusing on how to make good utilization of those approaches you reveal. Thanks for your time and consideration of other men and women by making this blog available.

Information provides each light source of which we can notice the truthfulness. This really attractive very good just one and gives in-depth information. Very good this amazing great post

Some genuinely nice and useful info on this web site, as well I believe the layout contains great features.

Hi there, just wanted to tell you, I loved this article. It was helpful. Keep on posting!

Hiya, I am really glad I have found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossips and internet and this is actually irritating. A good blog with interesting content, this is what I need. Thank you for keeping this web site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Cant find it.

Enjoyed looking at this, very good stuff, appreciate it. “While thou livest keep a good tongue in thy head.” by William Shakespeare.

This web site is really a walk-through for all of the info you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll definitely discover it.

You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for the issue and found most individuals will go along with with your website.

I was looking through some of your blog posts on this site and I think this website is really instructive! Continue putting up.

I am glad to be a visitor of this arrant web blog ! , appreciate it for this rare information! .

I just want to say I’m newbie to weblog and truly savored this website. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your website . You definitely have awesome posts. Many thanks for sharing your web page.

I just want to tell you that I am beginner to blogging and site-building and certainly loved you’re web blog. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You absolutely have awesome posts. With thanks for sharing your website page.

I would prefer to uslysht somewhat more on this topic

Wohh precisely what I was looking for, thanks for putting up.

But wanna state that this is invaluable , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

I was examining some of your content on this site and I think this site is real instructive! Continue putting up.

Your internet site is taking forever to load. This is the second page I tried loading and it took almost 30 seconds to load the page. And there is hardly something on it! I know it is not my world-wide-web connection speed for the reason that anything else that I attempt works fine. Maybe your server is beneath attack or some thing? Or do you just have THAT numerous visitors at your site correct now?? Just thought I’d give you a heads up!

But, zero online marketing skilled is in any moment going to disagree that you should develop a list.

I always was concerned in this subject and still am, regards for putting up.

I reckon something truly special in this internet site.

But wanna comment that you have a very decent internet site , I enjoy the design it actually stands out.

I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already

It truly is truly a nice and beneficial piece of info. I’m satisfied which you shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Very interesting points you have remarked, regards for posting.

I was studying some of your content on this internet site and I think this website is real informative ! Continue posting .

It takes only a few minutes and you don’t feel apprehensive.

It’s really a great and helpful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

You have mentioned very interesting points! ps nice site.

Very interesting subject , regards for posting . “Remember when life’s path is steep to keep your mind even.” by Horace.

Dead indited articles, Really enjoyed looking at.

I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i am happy to convey that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most certainly will make sure to do not forget this website and give it a look on a constant basis.

I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for putting up. “The basis of optimism is sheer terror.” by Oscar Wilde.

The supervisory stress scenario was intended to represent developments in a recession, with negative economic growth for at least a couple of quarters, a rise in unemployment, and a sharp drop in risky asset prices.

I like this website so much, saved to bookmarks. “To hold a pen is to be at war.” by Francois Marie Arouet Voltaire.

Terrific paintings! This is the type of info that should be shared across the net. Disgrace on the search engines for no longer positioning this publish higher! Come on over and discuss with my site . Thank you =)

Thank you so much for giving everyone an extremely splendid possiblity to read articles and blog posts from this website. It’s always very sweet and packed with amusement for me and my office acquaintances to search your web site at the very least three times every week to read the latest issues you have got. And indeed, I’m also usually motivated for the sensational suggestions you serve. Selected 3 ideas in this posting are basically the simplest we’ve ever had.

It¡¦s really a great and useful piece of information. I am satisfied that you simply shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

I saw a lot of website but I think this one has something extra in it. “Our minds are lazier than our bodies.” by La Rochefoucauld.

The Federal Reserve will continue to evaluate the appropriate reference level over time, in light of economic and financial market developments as well as regulatory developments such as the implementation of the Basel III capital agreement.

This expectation is consistent with ensuring that these firms are financially robust individually, and also with limiting the risks to the financial system from spillovers among these and other financial institutions.

You have mentioned very interesting details ! ps decent web site . “Loneliness seems to have become the great American disease.” by John Corry.

thanckv you ! good article if you like outillage peinture

Jabbertypeq…

Great blog post, saw on…

Just what I was searching for, thankyou for putting up.

I dugg some of you post as I cogitated they were very beneficial very beneficial

I think other website proprietors should take this internet site as an example , very clean and good user pleasant pattern . “He who lives without folly isn’t so wise as he thinks.” by Francois de La Rochefoucauld.

Keep up the fantastic work, I read few blog posts on this site and I believe that your web site is rattling interesting and holds circles of great info.

I reckon something really special in this site.

I genuinely enjoy looking through on this site, it has got wonderful blog posts. “Heavier-than-air flying machines are impossible.” by Lord Kelvin.

I visited a lot of website but I think this one contains something extra in it. “Of writing well the source and fountainhead is wise thinking.” by Horace.

In this awesome pattern of things you receive a B- with regard to effort. Where exactly you lost everybody was first on the facts. You know, they say, details make or break the argument.. And it could not be more correct here. Having said that, let me inform you just what exactly did do the job. Your writing is definitely highly convincing which is possibly the reason why I am making an effort in order to opine. I do not make it a regular habit of doing that. 2nd, although I can certainly notice the jumps in reasoning you make, I am not really confident of exactly how you appear to connect the ideas which in turn make the actual conclusion. For now I will, no doubt yield to your issue however trust in the foreseeable future you actually connect the dots much better.

I truly like your writing style, good information, appreciate it for posting : D.

The supervisory stress scenario was intended to represent developments in a recession, with negative economic growth for at least a couple of quarters, a rise in unemployment, and a sharp drop in risky asset prices.

An impressive share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing a little bit evaluation on this. And he in truth bought me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If potential, as you turn into experience, would you thoughts updating your weblog with extra details? It is highly helpful for me. Huge thumb up for this weblog submit!

Perfectly composed content material, Really enjoyed reading through.

Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was looking for!

Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this info. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and internet and this is actually irritating. A good website with exciting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for keeping this website, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

I love checking your writing, The importance of community newspapers Allan Takes Aim Blog was added to my bookmarks in chrome.

Honor and shame from no condition rise; Act well your part, there all the honor lies. -Alexander Pope

Only wanna comment that you have a very decent web site , I love the design it actually stands out.

Institutions by hospitals to household health providers, from surgery care features to the Reddish colored Cross — each of them is desperate for far more qualified nurses.

Perfect piece of work you have done, this internet site is really cool with excellent information.

Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. “An unpopular rule is never long maintained.” by Seneca.

I like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it’ll improve the value of my website :). “Blessed is he who has found his work let him ask no other blessedness.” by Thomas Carlyle.

Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

hey there and thanks for your info – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however experience a few technical issues using this website, since I experienced to reload the website many instances prior to I could get it to load correctly. I had been thinking about in case your web hosting is OK? Now not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could harm your high-quality score if advertising and ***********|advertising|advertising|advertising and *********** with Adwords. Anyway I am including this RSS to my email and could glance out for much extra of your respective intriguing content. Ensure that you replace this again very soon..

WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. …

We web adddress m1ght saw now 1’m checkingg oout 1 repeatedly,.

I haven’t checked in here for some time as I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess I will add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch as I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

You made some nice points there. I did a search on the subject matter and found most individuals will go along with with your site.

WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. …

Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

Good write-up, I’m regular visitor of one’s web site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time. “Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” by Mark Twain.

I’d forever want to be update on new articles on this website , saved to bookmarks ! .

To follow up on the up-date of this issue on your web-site and would want to let you know simply how much I valued the time you took to generate this beneficial post. Inside the post, you spoke of how to truly handle this issue with all comfort. It would be my personal pleasure to get some more strategies from your website and come up to offer other folks what I learned from you. Thanks for your usual terrific effort.

I’ll complain that you simply have copied material from yet another supply

Excellent job writing The importance of community newspapers Allan Takes Aim Blog. I would like to read more on this topic.

I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were handy extremely helpful

I’d perpetually want to be update on new articles on this website , saved to bookmarks ! .

Everyone loves tend to be This type of reporting great added my personal

Such is human psychology that if we don’t express our joy, we soon cease to feel it. -Lin Yutang

Dead indited written content, Really enjoyed examining.

Wohh just what I was looking for, thanks for posting . “Talent develops in tranquillity, character in the full current of human life.” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

Real nice design and excellent content, nothing at all else we need :D.

Usually I do not learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, quite great post.

Thanks so much for sharing such fantastic posts. Your website is truly informative and filled with really great content. I am impressed by the info that you have written it shows how well you perceive the subject. I’ve bookmarked your website page and plan to return regularly for additional great updates. Thanks again, your hard work is appreciated!

Very decent blog post. I stumbled upon your blog and wanted to state that I have really loved surfing around your website.

There’s noticeably a bundle to comprehend this. I presume you have got produced precise good points in characteristics also.

Another very entertaining post. Ive been reading through some of your posts and finally decided to drop a comment on this one. Please feel free to visit my site colon cleanse tablets

I like this web blog its a master peace ! Glad I observed this on google. “Live…..Laugh…..GOLF” by Kathryn Schaefer Plaum.

Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is simply nice and I can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

I truly enjoy looking at on this website , it holds superb posts . “Literature is the orchestration of platitudes.” by Thornton.

Hiya very cool web site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally…I am happy to search out so many helpful information right here within the publish, we’d like develop extra strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing.

I view something truly special in this website.

Lucius Annaeus Seneca – is believed for having mentioned This body is not a home but an inn and that only briefly. – Epistulae ad Lucilium

I truly enjoy studying on this website , it holds fantastic blog posts. “We find comfort among those who agree with us–growth among those who don’t.” by Frank A. Clark.

Howdy! I simply wish to give a huge thumbs up for the great information you’ve gotten right here on this post. I will probably be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

futureshape fat burner…

You could certainly see your skills within the work you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart. “Until you walk a mile in another man’s moccasins…

I really enjoy looking through on this website , it has excellent content . “Beauty in things exist in the mind which contemplates them.” by David Hume.

There’s noticeably a bundle to find out about this. I assume you made sure nice factors in options also.

You should ring your ISP who will be able to tell you.

Unlimited Worldwide Traffic…

very good post, i actually love this website, carry on it…

Travail à domicile…

I got what you mean , regards for posting .Woh I am happy to find this website through google. “Money is the most egalitarian force in society. It confers power on whoever holds it.” by Roger Starr….

Outstanding post, we detect blog owners should larn the lot from this web site the really user friendly. So most great report upon here .

I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again!

I am not really fantastic with English but I come up this rattling easygoing to read.

Great…

[…]please check out the web sites we follow, which includes this a single, as it represents our picks from the web[…]…

I really wanted to write a quick remark so as to appreciate you for those precious ideas you are posting on this website. My rather long internet investigation has at the end of the day been compensated with professional information to go over with my colleagues. I ‘d repeat that most of us readers are rather blessed to dwell in a superb place with so many brilliant professionals with good basics. I feel pretty privileged to have come across your entire site and look forward to many more excellent moments reading here. Thanks once again for everything.

Online Articles…

[…]Added to our Online Articles[…]…

It pleases me that you find the blogs informative and uesful. Hopefully you will continue to find them so. If not don’t be afraid to write and tell me. And let me say the same to all readers. Don Allan

Let me return the compliment

Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, as well as the content!

Normally I do not learn post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very great post.

Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours and my users would genuinely benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks!

We stumbled over here different website and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking at your web page for a second time.

Hey there! I’ve been following your website for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the good work!

[url=http://alumni.esaunggul.ac.id/forum/index.php?topic=1239399.new#new] There is a site on a theme interesting you.[/url]

Some really nice stuff on this website , I love it.

superb post.Never knew this, appreciate it for letting me know.

I just could not go away your web site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard information a person supply on your guests? Is gonna be back often in order to inspect new posts

Youre not the general blog writer, man. You certainly have something important to contribute to the World Wide Web. Such a special blog. I’ll return for more.

I just added your page to my bookmarks. I really enjoy reading your posts. Thank you!

I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. kudos San Francisco Roofing, 1276 7th Ave., San Francisco, CA, 94122, US, 415-800-4100

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
