Allan Takes Aim Blog

Special Days

Posted on: 21 March 2012


First Posted The Chronicle, Canberra,Tuesday 19 March, 2012
A long catalogue already exists of days that commemorate local people and important local and national events: a prime example of the latter: ‘Sorry Day.’
That said, I do not want to see that list extended to include days just for the purpose of satisfying the egos of people who wield influence and/or power, or both, and think people or events they have recommended should be commemorated for no reason other than it is their recommendation. Indeed I can think of no better reason for not adding them to the list.

Unfortunately Canberra’s demographic make- up is such that it harbours many such people. It must be said also, that special days of commemoration should not be promulgated by politicians only, even if some commemorative days are born of politics.

In true community based organisations, however, many of the people involved think their cause more important than politics. And while politicians might say otherwise, even more Canberrans might well think them right. At the same time, politicians of every ideology also think them important. Never knowing when they might need a political snack to sustain them as they ply their trade commemorative days are often the snack they always carry in their political tool kit.

But let me put politics aside to say my reason for writing about this subject came as the result of a remark I overheard during a conversation between two ladies in a city café, when one said she was fed up getting telephone calls from all kinds of organisations seeking support for their pet projects. She blamed this on the government but, to be fair, activists are more to blame than the government even though the governments might endorse a project it if they thought it would pull votes.

That apart, in the foreseeable future, and only having 366 days to play with, the idea of commemorative days might soon become unsustainable, which raises the question: has the time come for for organisations that share similar objectives to look at the possibility of sharing days? Indeed, by combining resources they could maximise publicity and they gained on their sharing day, to ensure their message will get through to the public without impinging on their organisation’s ability to do their own thing on other days in the year.

Unfortunately, the proliferation of days commemorating individuals thought of as saints – though many people think them sinners – and days dedicated to helping overcome either a special problem or social conditions that need attention, money, or both, have now assumed epidemic proportions. In some cases also, efforts to promote them might also have become an exercise in futility as they battle other organisations while trying to capture the public’s collective mind and dollars.

In the social sense it has to be said that many of the events that people want observed and commemorated on a particular day are so worthy that communities far from Australia and Canberra also want to commemorate the same days. Not that this is a case of great minds thinking alike; it is more the case that people in every country across the world face the same problems and as do some Canberrans, they band together in an effort to have it remembered..

Of more interest to me however, is that people across the world in organisations big and small want to commemorate the same kind of people and events as do Canberrans. In a sense this is a paradox that raises the question: why are people enemies when they share so many values?

Indeed as I think of the world today, the act of sharing the same days of commemoration fosters strong bonds of friendship, not enmity. And in that spirit of friendship when each person thinks of distant friends pursuing the same goals, they do not think of them as friends with a particular religious belief, or as wealthy friends or as friends of a particular colour. They think of them as people with the greatest quality of all: humanity.

Let me end by suggesting days of commemoration would no longer be needed if the world’s powerbrokers in every sphere of life, cultivated that same sense of humanity.

Is that too much to hope for?
dca@netspeed.com.au

The Chronicle for Canberra’s best community news. Published every Tuesday and online on Wdnesday at: http://www.chronicleonline.com.au

54 Responses to "Special Days"

… [Trackback]…

[…] There you will find 627 more Infos: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/03/21/special-days/ […]…

Are you bragging or complaining?

Where can I find blogging websites that deal with legal issues?

Try the law society that operates where you live

hello!,I like your writing very much! share we communicate more about your post on AOL? I need an expert on this area to solve my problem. Maybe that’s you! Looking forward to see you.

Skipflyq…

Great blog post, saw on…

Youre so right. Im there with you. Your blog post is unquestionably worth a read if anyone comes throughout it. Im lucky Used to do because now Ive got such a completely new look at this. I didnt realise this issue was so important and thus universal. You undoubtedly place it in perspective to me.

I was reading some of your blog posts on this website and I think this website is very instructive! Retain posting.

Really nice style and design and great articles, nothing at all else we need .

Hello there, I recently have become aware of your site, and found that it’s truly insightful. Many thanks!

how do I receive a lot more admirers?

Just keep trying

Drastically, now this write-up is usually the best for this well known concern. I just harmonise to your findings and definately will thirstily count on a inward revisions. Explaining with thanks won’t just remain acceptable, for your outstanding lucidity in the formulating. We’ll in particular get any feed to be able to wise associated with a improvements. Marvelous do the job and far being successful in the business venture purchases! Please alibi brand new harmful Language free of cost . not really the best really language.

great site.. nice layout

Thanks for all of your effort on this site. My aunt take interest in engaging in internet research and it is simple to grasp why. Most of us hear all relating to the powerful manner you provide advantageous steps via your website and as well as encourage response from other ones on the area of interest and our favorite simple princess is now starting to learn a lot of things. Take advantage of the rest of the year. Your doing a brilliant job.

Very nice creation site internet on this blog, thank you for your article is really good….

creation site internet…

Great…

I like this blog very much, Its a very nice situation to read and receive info ….

Trackback Priority…

Helpful info. Fortunate me I discovered your site unintentionally, and I’m surprised why this coincidence didn’t took place in advance! I bookmarked it….

Web Marketing Pakistan…

Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thanks, However I am going through problems with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting the same RSS issues? Anyone who knows the solution can you ki…

livesmalltitshow…

Great weblog here! Also your web site a lot up very fast! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for? you made running a blog glance easy. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content…

Prestashop Templates…

You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!…

Good read…

I have been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this web site. Thank you, I will try and check back more often. How frequently you update your web site?…

Lemonade Diet…

Very interesting topic , regards for posting . “The height of cleverness is to be able to conceal it.” by Francois de La Rochefoucauld….

Surfing…

My friend put together my small business website in dreamweaver for me. However, I now want to maintain it myself—my friend recommended putting it into wordpress. However, I am not a web designer and have no idea what I’m doing—is there an easy wa…

ORDER ACETAMINOPHEN…

Thanks for your exciting article. One other problem is that mesothelioma is generally due to the inhalation of fibers from asbestos, which is a extremely dangerous material. It’s commonly seen among workers in the building industry who have long exper…

Interested…

I’d like to be able to tag blogs I like and have them show on my website. Any suggestions on the best route to take on this. Any input would be helpful…..

Interested…

How do I delete computer passwords from a different user on my computer?…

Just having a look…

great issues altogether, you simply won a logo new reader. What could you recommend about your put up that you simply made some days in the past? Any positive?…

Your article…

Some genuinely wonderful information, Gladiola I noticed this. “Now hatred is by far the longest pleasure men love in haste but they detest at leisure.” by George Gordon Byron….

Toronto Web Design…

Only wanna input on few general things, The website layout is perfect, the written content is rattling great. “To establish oneself in the world, one has to do all one can to appear established.” by Francois de La Rochefoucauld….

Thank you for this article. I’d also like to mention that it can be hard when you’re in school and merely starting out to establish a long history of credit. There are many college students who are simply trying to endure and have a protracted or positive credit history can occasionally be a difficult thing to have.

Well well effectively assess what we include right here. It looks like an additional incredible blogging site that a bunch of people are discussing. Thank you so much with regard to the insightful data as well as judgment, I subscribed to the opinions in case another would like to turn up and also have a contention on this stuff

Merely prefered to stop in and say hello. Thank you for the fantastic blog site content. One recommendation, is to get rid of all of the spam commentsw.

Super post…

I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thx again!…

Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I’m very glad to see such excellent info being shared freely out there.

I think you have remarked some very interesting points , thankyou for the post.

I believe this site has some real wonderful information for everyone :D. “When you get a thing the way you want it, leave it alone.” by Sir Winston Leonard Spenser Churchill.

Thanks for the nice blog. It was very useful for me. Keep sharing such ideas in the future as well. This was actually what I was looking for, and I am glad to came here! Thanks for sharing the such information with us

I like this blog so much, saved to favorites. “I don’t care what is written about me so long as it isn’t true.” by Dorothy Parker.

You are my aspiration, I own few blogs and infrequently run out from post :). “The soul that is within me no man can degrade.” by Frederick Douglas.

One of the more impressive blogs Ive seen. Thanks so much for keeping the internet classy for a change. Youve got style, class, bravado. I mean it. Please keep it up because without the internet is definitely lacking in intelligence.

When are you going to post again? You really entertain me!

Good…

That you are my function models. Thanks for the post…

Thanks…

Beautiful essay, got the satisfaction of reading…

Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article! It’s the little changes that produce the most significant changes. Many thanks for sharing!

Hi to every body, it’s my first visit of this website; this webpage includes remarkable and truly excellent data in favor of visitors.

Youre not the general blog writer, man. You certainly have something important to contribute to the World Wide Web. Such a special blog. I’ll return for more.

I just added your page to my bookmarks. I really enjoy reading your posts. Thank you!

This blogis so much better than my cousin Steves blog. He really doesnt know what hes writing about.

I like this information presented and it has given me some sort of commitment to succeed for some reason, so keep up the good work.

Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this write-up and
the rest of the site is also very good.

I and my friends watch the soccer game clips at Video game for all time, for the reason that they have in nice quality. guild wars 2 buying gold illegal http://www.hotscripts.com/forums/members/jiacck88.html

Here you can download plenty of stuff: http://www.downloadprovider.me/?aff.id=4249

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
