Allan Takes Aim Blog

Next Post

Posted on: 31 March 2012


Canberra’s Centenary-Australia’s biggest ever birthday party

Let me present to readers a brief history of Canberra, home for the Allan family for more than forty years.

Most readers probably know is Canberra is not only the seat of Australian Government but also Australia’s National Capital. What they might not know is that land for the Capital was excised from the State of New South Wales.
Some might not know either that the design of the city came from two Chicago architects, the husband and wife team of Walter Burley Griffin and Marion Mahony, who won the 1912 International architectural competition to design the capital.

When the first sod of the new Capital was turned in March 1913 the area’s population was very small. It has grown slowly but now numbers around 350,000. Most of the population were public servants. They still are.
Many of the first buildings erected were for Government Departments and houses for residents to live in.

Being in the mood to flatter Canberra let me say the face of the baby city was beautiful but as is generally the case with all babies it has developed into a strikingly beautiful modern city. You might want to take that comment with a pinch of salt as some of its critics have said to me that I must have forgotten the old adage that beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

However, despite it being Australia’s national capital arguments about the city’s planning started even before the first brick was laid. Needless to say, ever since, arguments about the plan have continued. Ninety nine years later they are still going on. Indeed I doubt they will ever stop. And perhaps it could be said with some degree of truth, that without planning arguments, Canberra might have become the deserted capital.

Nevertheless, despite the arguments, next year Canberra will celebrate its hundredth birthday with an almost non-stop party that not only will leave visitors and residents exhausted but also will change for ever Canberra’s reputation as a stodgy, sterile, and unexciting city where nothing ever happens

In fact the year 2013 will be so exhausting that for a short time afterwards Canberra might well become the deserted Capital as residents go elsewhere to recover.

It’s early days yet I know but, after August, let me suggest that as well as reading my website, donallan.wordpress.com, read the Canberra Centenary website http://www.canberra 100.com.au and the Chronicle’s www://chronicleonline.com.au to see what Canberra has in store.

And next year when you come for a holiday let The Chronicle know. In the meantime keep an eye on the Centenary and Chronice websites for the non-stop party updates.

30 Responses to "Next Post"

Don, there seems to be a big mix-up with your dates in this. You say that the Architectural competition took place in 1012 and that the first sod was turned in March 2013. I stopped reading after that. I’ll come back tomorrow.

Lady Mmarylin,
Many thanks for your notice. Errors now fixed. fixed
Best regards,
Don

Highly fascinating. Continue to keep those articles coming.

Jabbertypeq…

Great blog post, saw on…

Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly loved browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing for your feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

I will right away clutch your rss feed as I can not find your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please let me recognise so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

Excellent blog right here! Also your web site a lot up very fast! What web host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate hyperlink to your host? I desire my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

We are a bunch of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with useful info to work on. You have performed a formidable activity and our whole community might be thankful to you.

It’s actually a nice and useful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you just shared this useful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for pointing that out. I am sure there are other people besides me which find What would be a good dog to take mountain climbing? a useful source of information.

Very nice creation site internet on this blog, thank you for your article is really good….

creation site internet…

I admire the great information you share in your posts. I will bookmark your website and have my friends visit here frequently. I am really certain they will read lots of fresh articles here than anywhere else!

Another great site about this product you can find over here sex!!! Let me know what you think about this site and i’ll subscribe to your blog!

Excelent…

Keep up the fantastic work , I read few posts on this internet site and I conceive that your web blog is really interesting and holds circles of wonderful information….

Thanks for the offer but no thanks.

Trackback Priority…

You actually make it seem really easy with your presentation but I to find this topic to be really one thing that I think I’d by no means understand. It kind of feels too complex and very extensive for me. I’m looking ahead to your next publish, I wi…

vip seo services…

Can I just say what a comfort to discover a person that actually understands what they are discussing on the internet. You certainly know how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people need to look at this and understand th…

4sexsquirt…

Excellent weblog here! Also your web site lots up very fast! How lengthy have you been running a blog for? you make blogging glance easy. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content material…

Prestashop Templates…

Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs much more consideration. I’ll probably be again to read much more, thanks for that info….

Weebly article…

I saw someone writing about this on Weebly and it linked to…

BUY STRATTERA ONLINE…

I really like your writing style, excellent info , appreciate it for posting : D….

Lemonade Diet…

Very interesting topic , appreciate it for posting . “Stranger in a strange country.” by Sophocles….

ACETAMINOPHEN CODEINE ONLINE…

It’s really a nice and useful piece of info. I’m happy that you simply shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing….

Best website…

I am trying to find a free Dreamweaver alternative and it looks like Kompozer is good. But I could not find any feedback with using this program for wordpress templates. I wanted to know if anyone has used it and how well it works. Thanks in advance…..

Cool post…

Keep up the excellent work , I read few content on this web site and I believe that your site is rattling interesting and has circles of superb information….

Thanks for your interesting and sympathetic blog.

Very creative, one of the nicer sites I have seen today. Keep up the great work.

Hello…

Read it, liked it, thank you for it…

Great…

[…]we like to honor several other world-wide-web web-sites around the net, even though they aren’t linked to us, by linking to them. Under are some webpages really worth checking out[…]…

This blogis so much better than my cousin Steves blog. He really doesnt know what hes writing about.

Leave a Reply

    • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
    • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
    • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
