Allan Takes Aim Blog

Send an Electronic Easter Egg

Posted on: 4 April 2012


The Chronicle Canberra. Published online every Wedesday at: chronicleonline.com.au

Not being able to speak German I hope at least one reader can who is also willing to send me an accurate translation of the following comment “Wunderbare Geschichte, rechnen wir könnten ein paar unabhängige Daten zu kombinieren, dennoch lohnt sich ein Blick, whoa hat man über Mid East lernen verfügt über mehr problerms sowie.” posted to my website – donallan.wordpress.com – Monday, 26 March, in response to my column in The Chronicle so that I can make suitable response to the person who sent it.

It pleases me to know the column is being read by people who live far from Canberra and Australia now that The Chronicle has gone online. So if you have relatives or friends you keep in touch with online but you haven’t yet told them about The Chronicle’s foray into cyber space, why not send them an electronic Easter Egg. And while you’re at it, why not send an electronic Easter Egg to all Members of the ACT Assembly.

Why an Easter Egg? I suggest an Easter Egg because Easter is said to be the time of the year that herald’s rebirth. That being the case I cannot think of a more appropriate gift to MLAS if only because so many voters are under the impression that most of them are either dead or in a catatonic state. That being the case, and although I make no promises, if an electronic egg helped cause their rebirth that could be cause for celebration.

In all seriousness however, don’t you think the world is in need of a celebration? Wouldn’t it be wonderful if, at Easter, instead of news stories that almost daily report double digit numbers of soldiers dying in Iraq or Afghanistan, what was being announced was an increased birth rate?

And wouldn’t it be even more wonderful if sincere Easter messages of peace were sent out not just from the US and Britain but from all nations that have personnel on active service in areas of danger yet never seem to get mentioned in news reports? Better still and regardless of religion if the US, UK and their allies plus, Jews, Arabs, copts, Hindus et al, could forget their animosities, exchange the same message of peace and enjoy a rebirth of humanity.

My touching on Easter has also brought to mind some of the happiest days of my young life, albeit they occurred during World War II. At the time I didn’t know anything about Easter being celebrated as the rebirth of life. What Easter meant to me was picnic time, the time for rolling coloured eggs in races against my brothers and sisters down the grassy slopes of the Duchess Park, eating sandwiches, getting the rare treat of an ice cream and at least two drinks of lemonade or Irn Bru. Perhaps there are people living in Canberra who enjoyed the same experience.

Like many of my companions in the park, I had but a dim knowledge of war. Although we were surrounded by the war, it only became reality when unaware that Uncle Willie had been killed or gone missing in some other war zone, some children said how they would have loved him to be there to referee one of the many impromptu games of football, played with a tennis ball that, almost certainly, would spring up.

Sadly, as many found out later, there were many Uncle Willies.

As I think of those Easter days spent picnicking in the park I remember them almost as heavenly. The hell that was war never crossed my mind. Unfortunately as time passed many in my peer group became disenchanted with the heavenly idea because they could not understand who, and why Uncle Willie, been chosen to go to heaven rather than be sent home. I am in no doubt that, like me, many questioned the explanations given by parents and relatives and found them unconvincing.

Despite my earlier optimistic hope of Easter being a time for the rebirth of peace and humanity, as a realist and for many years having spent my days try and understand mans’ reasoning about the ‘need’ for war, sadly, I could not. Perhaps because there is no answer.

Happy Easter to all.
dca@netspeed.com.au
The Chronicle for Canberra’s best comunity news. Hard copy published every Tuesday

158 Responses to "Send an Electronic Easter Egg"

Fivezoneq…

Wonderful blog post, saw on…

“… so many voters are under the impression that most of them are either dead or in a catatonic state.” I had a good laugh at that one, even though, or perhaps because, it is so true. The only ones who appear to be saying anything only seem to be making personal attacks on some of the others. It’s all so petty and far from dignified.

Wow, that’s what I was seeking for, what a stuff! present here at this weblog, thanks admin of this web site. Free Accounts!

I am always pleased to get a response to my paltry efforts at trying to stir people not just into thinking about things but also to providing whether or not they agree or disagree with what I’ve written. In the above cases, while Gabsberg and Free Account have been complimentary they have not offered any new ideas whereas Lady Marylin has offered some points for readers to mull over.
Could I distrain on other readers wherever they come from to follow her lead, as I feel sure things similar to those I wrote about occur in every community world wide.
And could I request once again that, if possible, respondents address their comments directly to my website: donallan.wordpress.com. The more comments made this way the more likely the blog will continue.
Don Allan

hi!,I love your writing very so much! proportion we keep up a correspondence more approximately your post on AOL? I need an expert in this area to solve my problem. May be that’s you! Looking forward to look you.

Thanks for the writeup. I definitely agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my brother so hopefully this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

This was a genuinely really good submit. In theory I’d wish to publish like this also getting time and actual effort to make a great piece of writing… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means appear to obtain a thing done.

futureshape fat burner…

You could certainly see your skills within the work you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart. “Every man serves a useful purpose A miser, for ex…

Unlimited Worldwide Traffic…

You need to take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I’ll suggest this site!…

Nice…

Just desire to say your article is as surprising. The clearness for your put up is just great and i can assume you are a professional on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with imminent post. Thanks …

Hello very cool web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…I’m glad to find numerous helpful info here within the post, we need develop more techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing.

Awesome blog. I’ve read just about every post of yours and this one is probably my favorite.

Trackback Priority…

excellent submit, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector do not notice this. You must continue your writing. I am sure, you’ve a great readers’ base already!…

PPC Pay Per Click Pakistan…

This page really has all the info I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask….

Prestashop Templates…

Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs much more consideration. I’ll probably be again to read much more, thanks for that info….

asiangirlchatroom…

Nice blog right here! Additionally your site quite a bit up fast! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for? you make running a blog look easy. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made just right content…

Just Looking…

When I was browsing today I noticed a great post about…

Yes It’s very good content…

What are the best websites and blogs dedicated to reading and literature?…

My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome site!

Just passing by…

I have read some excellent stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much effort you set to make this kind of great informative web site….

Great…

[…]that would be the end of this post. Here you will locate some sites that we think you’ll enjoy, just click the hyperlinks over[…]…

Lemonade Diet…

Very interesting topic , thanks for putting up. “Challenge is a dragon with a gift in its mouthTame the dragon and the gift is yours.” by Noela Evans….

Best website…

What is the difference between Computer Engineering and Computer Science?…

Advice…

I want to switch to a clean new WordPress theme for a site, but Google has indexed 2500 pages from the old site (mainly due to a calendar module creating a new page for each day). How do I ensure all those pages remain accessible for Google, without th…

I’ve read a few good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much effort you set to create such a excellent informative web site.

Well well adequately evaluate the things we have below. It appears to be yet another excellent website that a ton of folks are talking. Thank you so much with respect to the insightful details and also clear thinking, I signed upped to the feedbacks in case someone desires to come over as well as receive a controversy on this item

You’re so awesome! I don’t suppose I have read through something like that before. So wonderful to discover another person with some genuine thoughts on this subject. Really.. thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that’s needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any suggestions?

Admiring the time and energy you put into your site and detailed information you offer. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Great post…

Good write-up, I’m regular visitor of one’s site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time….

Great story over again. Thumbs up:)

Great…

I went over this website and I conceive you have a lot of great info, saved to bookmarks (:….

I do believe all the ideas you’ve introduced for your post. They are very convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too brief for newbies. May just you please prolong them a bit from next time? Thank you for the post.

Awseome article, I am a big believer in posting comments on sites to help the blog writers know that they’ve added something worthwhile to the world wide web!

You made some fine points there. I did a search on the matter and found most persons will have the same opinion with your blog.

Absolutely written subject material, Really enjoyed reading.

I am so glad I lastly found a person else who shares my views and opinions. It’s good to understand that you simply aren’t weird. My Website: http://bit.ly/HQk5RC

Some truly superb content on this internet site , appreciate it for contribution.

I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for posting .

I discovered this internet site by performing a key phrase look for my niche. I’m so glad I came upon your website. You have yourself a loyal reader now. My Blog: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WNnyzkwT7l0

Well well properly check out just what you contain right here. This appears to be yet another awesome blogging site that a lot of folks are commenting on. Thank you so much with regard to the intelligent info as well as prudence, I subscribed to the remarks in case another needs to come by and receive a debate on this stuff

Some really prize content on this website , saved to my bookmarks .

Sorry. Can’t help you out. I have no technological expertise. Don

You need to be a part of a contest for one of the greatest websites on the web. I’m going to recommend this site!

Some really prize content on this website , saved to favorites .

It’s the first time when i’ve seen your site. I can gather lots of hard work has gone in to it. It’s actually good.

Tamilnadu Blog…

What’s up, just wanted to mention, I loved this blog post. It was funny. Keep on posting!…

I have recently started a site, the info you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

I’m still learning from you, as I’m trying to reach my goals. I certainly love reading all that is posted on your website.Keep the tips coming. I liked it!

Just discovered this blog thru Bing, what a pleasant surprise!

Hey there this is a fantastic post. I’m going to e mail this to my friends. I stumbled on this while browsing on bing I’ll be sure to come back. thanks for sharing.

Recommend…

Read it, liked it, thank you for it…

I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thx again!

I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this web site. Studying this information So i am glad to express that I have a very good uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed. I so much definitely will make sure to don’t omit this website and provides it a glance regularly.

Keep up the wonderful work , I read few blog posts on this site and I conceive that your web site is really interesting and holds circles of good info .

fairly valuable stuff, overall I picture this is worthy of a book mark, cheers

Keep up the excellent work, I read few blog posts on this site and I conceive that your blog is rattling interesting and contains bands of fantastic information.

Appreciate it for helping out, good info. “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” by J. K. Rowling.

This is a topic that’s near to my heart… Cheers! Where are your contact details though?

Very helpful data. Hope to view more posts shortly!

I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for putting up. “Money is a poor man’s credit card.” by Herbert Marshall McLuhan.

I was reading some of your posts on this website and I conceive this internet site is real informative ! Continue putting up.

Is it okay to put part of this in my personal blog if I post a reference point to this web page?

I like this weblog so much, saved to bookmarks. “Respect for the fragility and importance of an individual life is still the mark of an educated man.” by Norman Cousins.

Thanks for writing this. I really feel as though I know so much more about this than I did before. Your blog really brought some things to light that I never would have thought about before reading it. You should continue this, Im sure most people would agree youve got a gift.

Amazing article, thank you, I will subscribe to you RSS soon!

This blog has got lots of very helpful info on it. Cheers for sharing it with me!

Keep up the wonderful work , I read few blog posts on this internet site and I believe that your blog is real interesting and has sets of excellent information.

I like this weblog it’s a master piece! Glad I found this on google.

I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog. I really hope to view the same high-grade content from you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own site now 😉

Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my web site so i got here to “go back the favor”.I’m trying to in finding issues to enhance my site!I guess its good enough to make use of some of your ideas!!

I hope you never stop! This is one of the best blogs Ive ever read. Youve got some mad skill here, man. I just hope that you dont lose your style because youre definitely one of the coolest bloggers out there. Please keep it up because the internet needs someone like you spreading the word.

Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, thanks . “Whenever you want to marry someone, go have lunch with his ex-wife.” by Francis William Bourdillon.

I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

I like reading through a post that will make men and women think. Also, many thanks for allowing me to comment!

I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog. I’m hoping exactly the same high-grade website post from you within the upcoming also. Truly your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own website now. Truly the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is actually a great example of it.

Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

Very interesting subject , appreciate it for posting . “Not by age but by capacity is wisdom acquired.” by Titus Maccius Plautus.

Thank you for sharing this excellent piece. Very inspiring! (as always, btw)

It has taken me forever to track down your website. Finally. This is exactly the information I was looking for.

Really big thankies for the article.Much cheers again. Keep publishing.

Some genuinely prize articles on this web site , saved to my bookmarks .

Really enjoyed this article wonderful post. Amazing.

Very interesting points you have mentioned , thankyou for putting up. “The thing always happens that you really believe in and the belief in a thing makes it happen.” by Frank Lloyd Wright.

Very interesting points you have observed, thanks for posting.

Great write-up, I’m regular visitor of one’s blog, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time. “There is a time for departure even when there’s no certain place to go.” by Tennessee Williams.

salutations from over the sea. precise blog I will return for more.

You have brought up a very wonderful points , thanks for the post. “For visions come not to polluted eyes.” by Mary Howitt.

Normally I do not read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice post.

One of the more impressive blogs Ive seen. Thanks so much for keeping the internet classy for a change. Youve got style, class, bravado. I mean it. Please keep it up because without the internet is definitely lacking in intelligence.

You have brought up a very good points , thanks for the post.

Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday. It’s always useful to read articles from other writers and use a little something from other sites.

I regard something truly interesting about your website so I saved to bookmarks .

A person necessarily lend a hand to make critically articles I might state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular publish extraordinary. Wonderful task!

Normally I don’t read article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice article.

I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Well written!

Hello – I must say, I’m impressed with your site. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs and information was very easy to access. I found what I wanted in no time at all. Pretty awesome. Would appreciate it if you add forums or something, it would be a perfect way for your clients to interact. Great job

Really nice style and design and good content material , very little else we want : D.

Good info! Keep it flowing… 🙂

I am so glad I lastly discovered somebody else who shares my views and opinions. It is good to know that you aren’t weird. My Website: http://www.alivenews4u.net/html-4603098157.html

Some truly great content on this web site, thank you for contribution. “Gratitude is merely the secret hope of further favors.” by La Rochefoucauld.

I am grateful for this wonderful blog.Much thanks again. Great.

Awseome article, I am a big believer in commenting on blogs to inform the blog writers know that they’ve added something of great benefit to the world wide web!

This article gives the light in which we can observe the reality. this is very nice one and gives indepth information. thanks for this nice article!

I was looking at some of your blog posts on this internet site and I think this web site is very instructive! Keep posting.

Enjoyed reading this, very good stuff, regards . “Hereafter, in a better world than this, I shall desire more love and knowledge of you.” by William Shakespeare.

Absolutely written written content, Really enjoyed reading through.

Great post, I conceive website owners should larn a lot from this web site its really user genial . “A happy childhood has spoiled many a promising life.” by Robertson Davies.

I’ve read some just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you put to create this type of excellent informative site.

Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..extra wait .. …

Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

You are so interesting! I don’t suppose I have read something like that before. So nice to find somebody with unique thoughts on this issue. Really.. thank you for starting this up. This website is one thing that is required on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

You clearly know your stuff. Wish I could think of something clever to write here. Thanks for sharing.

I saw a lot of website but I believe this one has something extra in it. “Valor grows by daring, fear by holding back.” by Publilius Syrus.

I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for posting. “The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.” by Albert Einstein.

Its great as your other content : D, thanks for putting up. “The squeaking wheel doesn’t always get the grease. Sometimes it gets replaced.” by Vic Gold.

Don’t try to think of something clever. Just say what you want to say. Let readers decide on whether or not it’s clever. If they like it that’s good. If they don’t it doesn’t really matter; you’ve said what you wanted to say.

Thank you so much.

Its good as your other posts : D, thankyou for putting up. “Love is like an hourglass, with the heart filling up as the brain empties.” by Jules Renard.

I just like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and test once more here frequently. I am rather certain I will learn lots of new stuff proper right here! Good luck for the following!

I like this post, enjoyed this one thank you for posting. “What is a thousand years Time is short for one who thinks, endless for one who yearns.” by Alain.

Saved as a favorite, I really like your web site!

Nice site, loving it.

Enjoyed looking through this, very good stuff, appreciate it.

Very interesting topic, thank you for posting.

Hi I think that you have got a very good blog going right here, I found it on Google and plan on returning habitually for the information that you all are featuring.|Thanks a lot for making my morning a bit bit better with this very good page!nice post!

Great site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also

Thanks so much for providing individuals with an extraordinarily brilliant chance to read from here. It can be very superb and as well , full of a lot of fun for me personally and my office mates to search the blog not less than three times per week to see the latest things you have. And indeed, I’m always happy considering the fabulous advice served by you. Selected 2 points in this posting are unquestionably the very best we’ve had.

Really nice layout and superb written content , nothing at all else we want : D.

I enjoyed the post. There is some good information here to bookmark.

Great site awesome article really enjoying it.

I always was concerned in this topic and still am, regards for putting up.

I like this site very much so much great info.

I have recently started a web site, the information you offer on this web site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

I saw a lot of website but I think this one holds something extra in it. “Culture is the arts elevated to a set of beliefs.” by Thomas Wolfe.

I like this blog so much, saved to bookmarks. “Respect for the fragility and importance of an individual life is still the mark of an educated man.” by Norman Cousins.

Respect to post author, some good entropy. “If you don’t leap, you’ll never know what it’s like to fly.” by Guy Finley.

Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. “Never grow a wishbone, daughter, where your backbone ought to be.” by Clementine Paddleford.

I like this blog very much so much good information.

Is there anywhere else I can get information about this? I’m thinking I might write my term paper on it.

This is a great tip especially to those new to the blogosphere. Short but very precise information… Thank you for sharing this one. A must read article!

I like this site very much so much great information. “Abstract art is a product of the untalented, sold by the unprincipled to the utterly bewildered.” by Al Capp.

ogrodzenia plastikowe…

Thank you for your function. Post aided me a lot…

You have brought up a very good details , thankyou for the post. “For visions come not to polluted eyes.” by Mary Howitt.

Hello. impressive job. I did not expect this. This is a impressive story. Thanks!

Interesting blog post.

Wow. Guter Schreibstil….

Ernsthaft, du schreibst sehr gut!…

I was looking at some of your articles on this website and I think this website is very informative! Keep on putting up.

Really nice design and fantastic written content , nothing at all else we require : D.

You are a very bright person!

Some really prize articles on this website , saved to fav.

You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

Great blog here! Also your website loads up very fast! What web host are you using? Can I get your affiliate link to your host? I wish my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

I just added your page to my bookmarks. I really enjoy reading your posts. Thank you!

This blogis so much better than my cousin Steves blog. He really doesnt know what hes writing about.

I like this information presented and it has given me some sort of commitment to succeed for some reason, so keep up the good work.

I want to convey my respect for your kind-heartedness for men and women that actually need help with your issue. Your personal commitment to getting the message all over had become surprisingly significant and have continually encouraged individuals much like me to get to their pursuits. The informative information means a lot a person like me and further more to my peers. Thanks a lot from all of us.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
