Allan Takes Aim Blog

The dizzying world of politics

Posted on: 25 April 2012


Published in The Chronicle Canberra, Tuesday 24 April. Published online Wednesday, 25 April at: http://www.chronicleonline.com.au

With political football now an international game played in virtually every country in the world, many people interested in politics who tried to keep their eyes on the political balls being kicked around in the games played in the global political arena would, in all probability, have experienced serious bouts of dizziness.

The reason: across the globe, free speech and democracy do not enjoy the same popularity they have in Australia, while the quality of politicians in countries without these gifts is often questionable. Nevertheless I hope that, over time, as free speech and democracy make their presence felt, the quality will improve. But I also have another hope: as the quality of the political players in these countries improves, I hope not too many of them try to model themselves on some of Australia’s well known political players.

So who should be their model? Should it be the soon to depart parliament Green Senator Bob Brown, thought by some to be a man of integrity and exemplar of the good politician, who, over the years, has shown considerable political skills? Indeed some environmentalists think him a political saint while less fanatical people see him more as political sinner and anti-progress politician who would keep all Australians deprived of the benefits that resource mining and nuclear energy can bring.

He talks much about equality which sounds strange in a society that boasts of its egalitarian status. And writing as someone who, when young, lived at the bottom of the wealth ladder and once climbed it not quite to the top, but now again if not quite at the bottom, close to it, Senator Brown’s solution of taking from the people who have grown rich from mining to give to the poor, will turn Australia into an even more unequal society.

I’m not sure how much experience Senator Brown and his supporting coterie of environmentalists know about being poor but take it from me that having grown up poor midst a community of poor people, most discovered that in return for the charity legalised by politicians as welfare they were expected to vote for them. Effectively they were being asked to take a bribe.

But enough of Senator Brown: what about Labor, Liberals and The Greens at the next ACT election? As an apolitical citizen, my hope is that the next ACT Government will not be composed of elected but often inadequate members who owe their position in The Assembly to leaders of party factions. In truth, faction leaders are really gang leaders who control inadequate members some of whom some succumb to a form of Stockholm Syndrome.

So which party do you think will form the next ACT Government? Will it be Labor, Liberal or The Greens or will the current system that some people have labelled a dog’s breakfast continue? With Australian politics in a chaotic state, who can say?

In the ACT and despite Government after Government promising cure to the problems of transport, education, health, housing – with particular emphasis on homelessness – and planning and despite streams of letters to the editor, the problems remain. Indeed as I look back over the years, I have no great confidence in that whosever forms the next government will solve them particularly if the ACT ends up with a Government where the green tail is again wagging the government dog. Not that I would be happier if, should the government change, the tail of the developers’ mutt wagged the government dog.

On the other hand I would be happier, if the ACT’s apathetic voters showed their alleged political savvy and said it’s good government we want, not a political club where politicians want to show how good they are at slagging opponents, of which a good example is the recent pot calling the kettle black slanging match about the time sheets of people employed in the office of the Opposition Leader.

While the Opposition Leader was guilty of poor management, nevertheless it mystifies me how time sheets in the Opposition Leader’s office ever became a Freedom of Information issue and media story, when the previous Chief Minister had the same thing happen in his office but without mention by the media?
dca@netspeed.com.au
The Chronicle for Canberra’s best community news. Published every Tuesday

14 Responses to "The dizzying world of politics"

No mystery, Don. Elections this year!

It’s an remarkable paragraph in favor of all the online people; they will take benefit from it I am sure.

This is a comment to the admin. I discovered your “The dizzying world of politics Allan Takes Aim Blog” page via Google but it was hard to find as you were not on the front page of search results. I see you could have more traffic because there are not many comments on your site yet. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your rankings and traffic to your website: http://www.linklegends.com/free-trial. I managed to get close to 1000 visitors/day using their services, you could also get lot more targeted visitors from search engines than you have now. Their free trial and brought significantly more traffic to my site. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

Mandi,

Many thanks for the advice. I shall give it due considertaion.

Best regards,
Don

Uncovered your write-up incredibly fascinating in fact. I seriously experienced looking at it therefore you make very some superior factors. I will bookmark this web-site for the foreseeable future! Relly good short article.

Thank you for all your valuable labor on this site. Kate really likes conducting investigation and it is simple to grasp why. My partner and i notice all regarding the lively medium you give informative techniques by means of your blog and as well as foster contribution from others on that concept and my simple princess has always been discovering a great deal. Have fun with the rest of the year. You are always carrying out a fabulous job.

Observed your write-up incredibly exciting indeed. I actually really enjoyed reading it and you also make really some superior points. I am going to bookmark this web-site for that long run! Relly fantastic short article.

howdy, many thanks for that fantastic list, hope u can feature some of our freebies at themeshock.com in ur potential lists !!

I’m still learning from you, as I’m trying to reach my goals. I certainly liked reading all that is written on your website.Keep the aarticles coming. I enjoyed it!

Just want to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your post is simply spectacular and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My website is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would really benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Many thanks!

I don’t mind being quoted and credited. Best regards, Don

I don’t mind people creating or elaborating on a post I’ve writeen so if you think you’ve got a good article send it to me and I’ll give serious consideration to posting it. Regards, Don

Thankyou for this howling post, I am glad I detected this website on yahoo.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!