Allan Takes Aim Blog

Political apathy is the enemy of Democracy

Posted on: 7 June 2012


Even if this message doesn’t apply directly to people living outside Canberra, nonetheless it has relevance for people anywhere in the world when the time comes for them to decide who they want to elect as their parliamentary representatives.

Too often we let other people decide for us. Sometimes that person might be Grandad, who has been dead for years, or perhaps it’s Dad or Uncle. Often too, we vote as we did at previous elections because we are too lazy to find out what are the policies of parties or Independent.

Many people also accept the words of party apparatchiks that the people they are suggesting are people who care, believe in the sanctity of their oath of service, are loyal and honest, who will use their authority wisely and in line with their commitment to liberty, freedom, and truth. Too often, unfortunately, we find out the values of people we have elected are not the epitome of the foregoing but the epitome of venality.

In this increasingly global world of politics many of the leaders we elect are also proponents of a global government in which they would hope to take part. But as I look around today’s world of global politics I become disillusioned when I ask myself which leaders of current governments would I endorse as members of a world government, never mind as leader?

This concerns me because in the not too distant future, if global government comes to pass Australia will have a role to play.
However, if due to our laziness we have given leadership to someone more interested in personal status that in trying to maintain peace and, subject to the making of common sense decisions, an environment that all people can enjoy, there will be no hope of establishing a successful world government.

Indeed I am of the view that ambitious politicians will set out to dominate and in doing so will divide the world again and as they pursue their ambition they will repeat the cycles of war that have beset the world since mans took his first tentative steps.

A special note:

A subscription to donallan.wordpress.com is free. I am adding this note because I have had a number of requests in answer to the blog asking if they can take out a subscription. They can and all they need is to follow the instructions on the blog site.

I would welcome subscriptions and hope also that if new subscribers feel the blogs provide a benefit they will also encourage their friends to become subscribers.

Remember too, my blog also encourages comment, favourable or otherwise so if you make a comment be prepared for a comment in return.

Happy subscribing and blogging
Don Allan

10 Responses to "Political apathy is the enemy of Democracy"

I keep thinking that I have been born at the wrong time in human development and I think that you might have been, too. Things are supposed to become a lot better when Man realizes that everything – and of course everyone – is connected. Apparently, we knew this a long time ago, but became greedy and materialistic and forgot about it. I hope it comes back soon.

Dear Lady Marylin,

As yet, I haven’t writtem man off even if there are times when I hope my wish could instantly be gramted. I suspect too, that many other people in the world feel the same.

On the other hand knowing that the world still has people who think like you makes me happy it hasn’t been granted.

This very valuable opinion

P.S. Please review our icons for Windows and windows12icons.

I think, that you are mistaken. Write to me in PM, we will communicate.

P.S. Please review our icons for Windows and windows12icons.

Good day! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

Would love to perpetually get updated great blog ! .

I dugg some of you post as I cogitated they were very useful extremely helpful

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
