Allan Takes Aim Blog

Canberra the ‘Naughty Capital’

Posted on: 4 July 2012


First published ‘The Chronicle’ Canberra, Tuesday 3 July, 2012. Also published online 4 July

Many times during my years in Canberra’s tourism industry I racked my brains about how Canberra could become a destination that adult tourists would visit time and time again. Though the War Memorial and other national institutions might stir the heart of patriots, unfortunately, not all tourists are patriots.

That said, what I thought Canberra needed was something that promised more excitement. In my experience, because tourists expect to remember holidays as exciting I find it hard to imagine many of them on returning home rushing to tell friends and neighbours about their exciting holiday visiting Australia’s national institutions and then urging them to visit the nearest travel agent and make Canberra their next holiday destination. That, I think, would be a big stretch of the imagination.

I raise the subject of tourism because the new multi- million dollar Tourism Australia advertising campaign, which makes no mention of Canberra, has raised the ire of some in the Capital’s tourism industry. Are they wrong? Does the ad have an underlying message they cannot see?

Perhaps the ad does have an underlying message based on the phrase, coined many years ago by the ACT tourism industry, that Canberra is Australia’s best kept secret. On the other hand perhaps the creators of the advertising campaign didn’t know Canberra was the National Capital or that they left Canberra out intentionally so as to prompt the curiosity of potential tourist on the basis that if people thinking of taking a holiday in France or England would probably look at their capitals Paris or London, before making a decision.

If that was the strategy, time will tell if they were right. In particular they will be delighted if they hear reports that not only has Canberra’s accommodation industry gone into overdrive to meet the demand for beds but that Canberra’s institutions, attractions, retail outlets, cafes and restaurants are also being swamped by a demand for information.

But my long experience in tourism also taught me something else. Tourism is a fickle mistress who often dashes the expectations of her suitors. That being the case and in the event the strategy doesn’t work, let me suggest an alternative strategy, the idea of Canberra having a Naughty Quarter that houses the kind of risqué entertainments synonymous with other world capitals. Why, I asked myself doesn’t Canberra have an area like London’s Soho or Montrnartre in Paris, home of the Moulin Rouge and its famous Can-Can girls, not to mention the Folies Bergere and its Bluebell Girls, many of whom are Australians?

This being Canberra, the decision about where to locate the Naughty Quarter would not only be the subject of many planning consultations but also as to whether or not Canberra needed such a quarter. And although planning consultations in Canberra tend to take a long time to be concluded I am optimistic that with an election looming, consultations would be speedy and a decision made quickly.

However, because time waits for no man I have made tentative plans for a grand opening cabaret designed by local company Scallywag Productions, featuring some of Australia’s greatest entertainers and regular performers in Canberra’s Theatre of the Absurd. And so, ladies and gentlemen, without further ado I present: “Canberra Cabaret.”

As befitting the city’s status, no expense would be spared in making this a star studded production. Scallywag Productions has invited famous political juggler Julia Gillard to top the bill and act as Mistress of Ceremonies. And no doubt to, as do other famous Emm Cees, when she introduces each act she will do so with few quips.

To help her a Scallywag’s script writer has suggested she use the following introductions to various acts: Wayne Swan and his economic dance troupe; Bill Shorten and, his knife throwing act The Scalpels; Tony Abbot, as the star of ‘Yes’, a short political sketch; and Christopher Pyne, the famous political escapologist. The script writer also suggested she introduce Rob Oakeshott, Tony Windsor, Bob Katter and Andrew Wilkie as the Four Stooges; Christine Milne the star of Green for Danger, and, depending on circumstances, Craig Thomson as the Playboy Pollie. I feel sure with such top line entertainment that tourists will visit Canberra again and again and again!
dca@netspeed.com.au
The Chronicle for Canberra’s best community news. Published every Tuesday and online on Wednesday at: http://www.chronicleonline.com.au

59 Responses to "Canberra the ‘Naughty Capital’"

it’s my first time visiting here. and i found so many entertaining stuff in this blog, especially its discussion..http://www.ocsoartist.com

Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Well I truly enjoyed reading it. This article offered by you is very helpful for correct planning.

Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am bookmarking your feeds also

Keep functioning ,splendid job!

Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Lovely blog! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am taking your feeds also

Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Of course, what a magnificent website and educative posts, I surely will bookmark your website.Best Regards!

Great site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am taking your feeds also

Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Wow! Thank you! I continuously needed to write on my blog something like that. Can I take a part of your post to my website?

This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I’m quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

I like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Hey, buddy, I have not discovered the best way to subscribe

I wanted to post a small comment to be able to thank you for some of the unique ideas you are showing at this site. My incredibly long internet look up has now been recognized with really good suggestions to exchange with my companions. I would tell you that most of us visitors are very lucky to exist in a notable network with so many lovely professionals with good things. I feel pretty privileged to have encountered your entire webpages and look forward to some more awesome times reading here. Thank you once more for everything.

You completed some good points there. I did a search on the issue and found nearly all persons will consent with your blog.

Great stuff excellent information

Hello. fantastic job. I did not anticipate this. This is a impressive story. Thanks!

It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I am quite sure I will learn plenty of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Very nice post and right to the point. I am not sure if this is in fact the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to employ some professional writers? Thanks 🙂

Wow! Thank you! I continually wanted to write on my blog something like that. Can I take a fragment of your post to my website?

Hi there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

The short answer: YES

Very good written post. It will be valuable to anybody who usess it, as well as me. Keep up the good work – i will definitely read more posts.

My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

Thank you for all of the efforts on this blog. My aunt delights in doing investigation and it’s really easy to see why. Most people learn all concerning the lively way you present reliable guidelines through your web site and inspire contribution from people on that subject so our favorite daughter is actually understanding a great deal. Have fun with the rest of the year. You’re the one performing a splendid job.

Hello. impressive job. I did not imagine this. This is a splendid story. Thanks!

Definitely, what a splendid blog and informative posts, I surely will bookmark your website.All the Best!

Of course, what a magnificent blog and illuminating posts, I surely will bookmark your site.Have an awsome day!

It is tremendous weblog, I would like to be like you

One of the more interesting related posts I have come across.

Very efficiently written article. It will be beneficial to everyone who usess it, as well as yours truly :). Keep doing what you are doing – looking forward to more posts.

Keep functioning ,terrific job!

Keep working ,terrific job!

You are a very capable individual!

[…]always a big fan of linking to bloggers that I love but don’t get a lot of link love from[…]…

This is an awful post

I’m sp glad you liked it. Could you do me a favour? Have a look at other posts on Allan Takes Aim and tell me me which ones you liked so that I can put some of them into my book “My Best Blogs”

It is really a nice and useful piece of information. I’m glad that you shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

I am extremely impressed along with your writing abilities as smartly as with the structure on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a great weblog like this one nowadays..

Gems form the internet…

[…]very few websites that happen to be detailed below, from our point of view are undoubtedly well worth checking out[…]……

Nice Site…

Great post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I am inspired! Extremely useful information specially the closing part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thanks and good luck….

Fanstastic Article…

This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to in quest of extra of your wonderful post. Additionally, I have shared your site in my social networks…

Thank you for another wonderful post. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such an ideal way of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such information.

Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you Nevertheless I’m experiencing situation with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting an identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

[…] Canberra the 'Naughty Capital' « Allan Takes Aim Blog […]

Regards for this post, I am glad I noticed this website on yahoo.

Only wanna tell that this is extremely helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Thank you

It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

Hola! I’ve been following your website for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great work!

Greetings! I’ve been following your website for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great work!

I really liked this article. I assume your subject matter is really ready. 🙂 Yet I noticed the write-up headline a little monotonous! I think you really are able to enhance on the headline by referencing just how the leading bloggers do this. This’s a shame that you do not receive sufficient visibility just due to your post headlines. Also, why is there countless spammers over here commenting on your post?

Great ¡V I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your website. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs as well as related info ended up being truly simple to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Excellent task..

It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
