Allan Takes Aim Blog

Olympic thought for the day

Posted on: 2 August 2012


Due to unforseen difficulties I couldn’t produce a thought for the day blog which saddened me because many things happened that deserved a paragraph or two.

The performance of many Australians was heart-warming although a picture that kept coming to mind was how much the after effects of the Olympics could be likened to the after effects of a major earthquake or a tsunami.

In the case of competitors some had their ambition destroyed which I hope is not permanent state. However, I find it difficult to express the same sentiment for some commentators and administrators who, when talking of pre events, seemed to have forgotten phrases such as, it’s not over ‘til the fat lady sings; or, there’s many a slip twixt lip and cup; or the only sure things are death and taxes. Indeed, as I listened to the 100 metres men’s freestyle in which James Magnussen was involved I would not have been surprised had some of them used the phrase “we wuz robbed.”

It is to the credit of competitors, and to Magnussen in this case, that most of them did not descend to the same level of crassness as some of Australia’s administrators or commentators whose jingoistic attitude when talking about events and even about competitors from countries other than Australia left many Australians unimpressed. For me, their attitude made Australia seem like a country of poor losers.

And what I found annoying also was their almost constant carping and criticising. If it wasn’t the weather, it was empty seats or not putting the cauldron on top of the stadium. In fact the latter seemed to obsess one radio commentator that he spent more time exhorting people to send e-mails to support his obsession than he did reporting news of the Games, not to mention the TV presenter, sitting in a TV studio making fatuous statements along the lines of London was quiet, that parties were not being held etc. But that’s enough for the day; will write again soon.
dca@netspeed.com.au

11 Responses to "Olympic thought for the day"

I was outraged by the Americans insinuating that the Chinese lady swimmer who beat their own girls must surely have taken some kind of performance-enhancing drug. When the Americans win, it’s all fair and square but when another country is a lot better than they are, they can’t accept it. We’ve seen the same attitude with the America’s Cup, when they changed the rules after they lost to Australia, and the high-tech swimming suits that they were instrumental in banning because their team didn’t have them and were at a disadvantage.

wow, awesome article…keep posting.http://www.casaemail.com.br

While I must agree with Lady Marilyn Kay Dennis regarding the Chinese swimmer as I was disgusted by commented my countrymen made, I must disagree regarding the high tech swimsuits. Technology should play as little a role as possible in Olympic competition.

Thanks for your entire work on this web page. My aunt takes pleasure in conducting research and it is easy to understand why. Many of us hear all about the lively manner you create precious guidelines via the website and in addition boost contribution from other people about this subject then my child is truly becoming educated a lot of things. Have fun with the remaining portion of the new year. You are performing a pretty cool job.

Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I to find It really useful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping
to offer something again and help others like you helped
me.

This idea is necessary just by the way

P.S. Please review our icons for Windows and windows12icons.

You are absolutely right.

P.S. Please review our icons for Windows and windows12icons.

Howdy! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the great work!

First of all I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Cheers!

We absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome web site!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
