Allan Takes Aim Blog

Olympics thought for the day

Posted on: 6 August 2012


Olympic Change of pace

Before adding to my previous blogs I have to say it is difficult to please every viewer and reader about the Olympics because it is much like the curate’s egg, only good in parts. Let me add also that because I thought the commentary poor I had started to switch off because the performance of so many commentators paled when compared with the performance of competitors, whether medallists or not.

As I said about competitors in my first blog the fact that they had made it to London made every one of them a winner. That said it struck me as odd that over the years, while many competitors had subjected themselves to rigorous physical exercise and tough competition to show they deserved to represent Australia in London, commentators faced no such test.

Regardless of the fact that Australia’s medal haul was less than the expectations of the swimming hierarchy took me back to the 1948 Games also in London, when the expectations of the people in my home town of Motherwell, Scotland, were different. The 1948 Games were expressions of joy not of war which seems to be the case today.

A young lady Cathie Gibson who lived at the top of our street and had only a twenty five yards public pool to train in won a bronze medal in swimming. Other non medallists from my home town also competed but had had Cathie’s medal been tin, the respect and admiration that Cathie and the others received would have been no less rapturous. Unfortunately in Australia today that kind of respect and admiration seems to have diminished.

With the first half of the games wrapped up we now come to the second half and athletics which have been given a huge boost by Usain Bolt and the other 100 metres competitors for the 100 metres title which all of them are capable of winning. In a thrilling dash for the wining line Bolt retained the tile he won in Beijing.

I make no apologies for the fact that I prefer watching athletics to swimming. However I make no distinction between the competitors. I think also it’s about time that some of Australia’s sports administrators stepped aside or at the very least, instead of making excuses for poor results, started to improve their own performance.
dva@netspeed.com.au

12 Responses to "Olympics thought for the day"

Australia’s 20 medals would seem to me to be a respectable total placing it ninth overall and within just a few medals of 6th place France or even 5th place Japan. Both of these are Swimming or Gymnastic oriented programs and those programs are medal count generators. Alhough you were not specific in your complaint about the commentary I would imagine that Australia’s poor showing in gold medals is part of it. It is unfortunate that the sacrifices and years of preparation are deemed to be “wasted” should an athlete only win a silver medal or worse be only the 4th best on the planet in his or her sport. This is an absurd, although understandable viewpoint and I would ask anyone that makes such a comment, “at what are you 4th best in the world”? Most of us have dedicated our lives to something but how many of us would make the Olympic team in our occupation let alone a medal?
I am old enough to recall the days when The United States was dominated by Russia and Romania and Japan in Gymnastics and was happy to be competing for any medal. When we had a single swimmer upon which to pin our hopes or a decathlete, a sport unknown to Americans until Olympic competition. Now one of those same decathletes is known to the current generation only as the much put upon dad in a Kardashian drama.
Last night our little planet landed another machine on Mars. Not a cute little probe of a few pounds for the world to ooh and ahh over but an automobile sized mobile laboratory a triumph for those less athletically gifted and watched by far fewer people. There are no gold medals for them. No ceral box covers or endorsement deals. Success was measured in simple terms. “Did we make it there”? It’s sad that some of the athletes feel that only being among the best in the world makes them losers. With that mindset even a gold medal is wasted. “Curiosity” was a team event. Perhaps that is a lesson these Olympics can learn.

… [Trackback]…

[…] Find More Informations here: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/olympics-thought-for-the-day/ […]…

So very true….Thanks for blogging this….

So very true….Thanks for blogging this….

I want to express some thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this particular incident. Right after searching through the the web and getting things that were not beneficial, I figured my entire life was over. Being alive devoid of the solutions to the problems you’ve resolved by way of your good article content is a crucial case, as well as the ones which may have adversely affected my career if I had not noticed the blog. Your actual natural talent and kindness in handling all the pieces was very useful. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come across such a solution like this. It’s possible to at this moment relish my future. Thank you so much for your reliable and amazing help. I won’t think twice to propose your blog post to any person who would need guide on this matter.

Have you ever thought about publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs? I have a blog based on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

T make it easier for yourself just give them mmy web details: donallan.wordpress.com. Blog: allan takes aim. You can also give them my e-mail address: dca@netspeed.com.au. Regards, Don

Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme. Many thanks

I write my own blogs.Regards, Don

Hi! I’ve been reading your website for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
