Allan Takes Aim Blog

Olympic thought for the day

Posted on: 9 August 2012


Measurement of sporting greatness

Are Olympic medals the true measure of sporting greatness? It could be argued they aren’t because the four years between the games negates the results produced by many athletes during those four years are better than the results achieved by Olympic medal winners. That apart, they are also deprived of the glory, status and financial rewards an Olympic medal can bring.

It could be argued also that the Olympics has helped to widen, rather than close, the gap between peoples and societies where sport is not a war but an activity whose aim is to encourage good health. Western nations make such claims but practice it more in the breech than the observance.

To some extent the Olympics have become political wars in which bragging rights describe the status of participating countries with athletes the ammunition used in their non-lethal fighting but as in lethal wars get decorated as heroes.

As with wars, the generals directing the athletes can be found giving advice from the rear along with politicians who like nothing more than grab the opportunity to bask in the reflected glory of the winning athletes in hope that it will help them win their political race.
It seems inequitable also that more riches attach to some events than to others despite every athlete facing similar regimes of discipline and arduous training, many of which are managed by parents and siblings, that are considered necessary to win medals.

I feel sure also that every competitor is full of admiration for every other competitor whether they win or lose because they know what it takes to compete. With that in mind I’d like to suggest that every competitor get an Olympic ribbon to show they have competed, so that they too can show it to their children and grandchildren. Such an award could well help restore the lustre the Games seem to be losing.
dca@netspeed.com.au

9 Responses to "Olympic thought for the day"

I love the idea of an Olympic competition ribbon

Thank you so much for giving everyone an extraordinarily superb possiblity to read critical reviews from here. It is often so awesome and also packed with fun for me and my office colleagues to search your blog a minimum of thrice every week to learn the latest stuff you have got. Not to mention, I am certainly impressed for the exceptional suggestions served by you. Some 2 ideas in this posting are absolutely the most suitable we’ve ever had.

This is certainly a splendid post. Thanks a lot for taking that the time to describe all of this out for us.
Its a great guide!

Absolutely with you it agree. In it something is also idea excellent, I support.

P.S. Please review our icons for Windows and windows12icons.

The helpful information

P.S. Please review our icons for Windows and windows12icons.

I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later. Many thanks

We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

I always was concerned in this subject and still am, thankyou for putting up.

I make a reply whenever I like a post on a website or if perhaps I have some thing to contribute to the conversation. Typically it is brought on by the enthusiasm exhibited in the article I read. And after studying this particular posting on Olympic thought for the day Allan Takes Aim Blog. I was really moved enough to leave a feedback 😉 I actually do have a couple of queries for you if it is alright. Could it be only me or do a couple of these responses appear just as if they’re posted by brain dead people? 😛 And, in case you are writing at some other websites, I would like to follow you. Would you like to share your online community pages like your twitter feed, Facebook or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

    • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
    • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
    • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
