Allan Takes Aim Blog

Last post

Posted on: 29 August 2012


The Last post has been published as Farewell to readers and frinds alike. Wednesday, August 29th

The last post has been played for the Don Allan column not because of my death and burial, but because this is my last column for The Chronicle.
However, after nineteen years and a thousand columns it would be remiss of me to leave without saying thanks to present and former Chronicle editors and journalists I worked with. Many of the latter have moved on to new jobs in journalism and other fields. That they have been successful in their new jobs is due in no small measure to the experience they gained at the Chronicle.

Though never meeting them, many readers, including some who already have passed life’s last post, became friends whether they complimented or condemned me about a column; indeed some did both. And thanks also, to readers who suggested ideas for the column. Even if I didn’t use their suggestions rest assured it was never a reflection on the quality of their ideas.

And just as editors and journalists benefitted from working at The Chronicle, so did I. Often indeed, while searching for issues to write about, I became aware of how many disadvantaged and disabled people in Canberra needed help. This experience changed my life because it brought me into contact with a number of individuals who also wanted to help.

These individuals became a small group that has since raised and given close to half a million dollars to the former. It continues to help.

In saying goodbye I make no apologies for occasionally being critical of some ACT politicians in my thousand columns. However, my criticism was not based on a personal dislike of the politicians but because they exhibited signs of believing they had a divine right to political office in the same way as James I of England believed he had a divine right to be king. As a last parting shot it seems to me that some ACT politicians still exhibit these signs.

In any case a goodbye column is not the place to expand on this issue. On the other hand, in keeping with the sentiment of my divine right analogy, perhaps some of our current MLAs would be wise to remember the words: uneasy lies the head that wears the crown.

That apart, in case you wonder if my departure from The Chronicle will drive me to catch the next scheduled departure from the station whence people depart this mortal coil, you can stop wondering. For me, my departure from The Chronicle is but one more challenge in the challenging race of life and a challenge I welcome.

The Chronicle too, is facing a challenge. The challenge: to maintain viability in a rapidly changing newspaper environment. And while inevitable that contributors like me will go I am in no doubt The Chronicle and its staff will meet that challenge.

As to how I will meet my new challenge? I will meet my challenge with AN ACT OPINION, a new online column on my website, and your help. If interested in helping, details of how you can help can be found at: http://www.donallan.wordpress.com. Bookmark it!

If you want to keep in touch, please do but let my last words go to readers: carry on reading The Chronicle!
dca@netspeed.com.au

New post now online at wordpress

14 Responses to "Last post"

Tweeted your write up!

I congratulate, you were visited with a remarkable idea

P.S. Please review our icons for Windows and windows12icons.

Hello my friend! I want to say that this article is amazing, nice written and include approximately all important infos. I would like to see more posts like this.

Perfectly written articles , thanks for information .

Currently it appears like WordPress is the best blogging platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

I’ve recently started a site, the information you offer on this web site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

I¡¦ve been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i am happy to exhibit that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I so much without a doubt will make certain to don¡¦t fail to remember this website and give it a look on a relentless basis.

You should be a part of a contest for one of the most useful blogs on the web. I’m going to highly recommend this site!

Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and net and this is actually irritating. A good site with exciting content, this is what I need. Thank you for keeping this web-site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

“Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well”

It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

I’d have to check with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
