Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Opinions

Posted on: 5 September 2012


This website is not supported by adverting. Its founder, Don Allan, is hoping that 100 Canberra supporters of free speech will donate $50 (.96c a week) to help keep it going. Since its founding two weeks ago 48 donations have been made. Importantly, 500 -1000 word opinion pieces are accepted for publication. So if you have an opinion and believe in free speech why not join the other donors. Donation details at the end of this article.

Articles for publication to:dca@netspeed.com.au

At the next election will voters change the ACT Government?
Many people experience one of life’s three AAAs: I don’t know anyone, saint or sinner, who hasn’t. Some are in business, some in politics, some in academia, some in science, in a religious life and some in the public service. The three AAAs: authoritarian, arrogant, autocratic..

Having lived in Canberra for nearly four decades I don’t think I’m overstating when I say that Canberra is not short of people in each of these categories. Fortunately there is another A category, the Amiable, to which most Canberrans belong. On the other hand I‘ve heard of some people being rudely described as being in another A category, whose definition I’ll leave to your imagination.

But due, perhaps, to Canberra having more politicians, bureaucrats, and, to a lesser extent, academics, than other Australian cities, it also has more autocrats. I hasten to add, however, that, contrary to the picture often presented of Canberra as having many politicians in that well known two AAs category, many are of sober habits. I think that view arises due to the fact that some of their ideas sound as if conceived by people in an alcoholic daze.

Politics however, is a very serious business and with the ACT having an election on 26th October, voters will soon have the opportunity to judge how they will either categorize or, re-categorise those MLAs seeking re-election. I expect that some voters, even if they have no idea of what the policies of the candidates are, will vote for them on the basis that they are members of a particular party.

To those who have taken that line I say, beware! Before deciding on how you will vote you should check if the policies candidates are spruiking are fresh policies or merely regurgitated policies of four years ago. And whenever possible, you should take the opportunity of questioning them. If you don’t, you might find out later that their policies were pigs in pokes.

In fact it’s time voters stopped being apathetic about politics. Why? They should stop being apathetic because not only will the policies of the candidates they elect determine how they will live for the next four year they will also help determine the lives of their children and grandchildren even further ahead.

That said, now let me ask: do you know anything about the policies of the Australian Motorists Party or The Liberal Democrat Party or the Marion Le Social Justice Party? I have met the AMP’s three candidates, Burl Doble – Brindabella, Chic Henry – Ginninderra, and David Cumber – Molonglo. They are ebullient about their chances of turning the tables on major party candidates because they feel their policies will resonate better with many voters.

And then there is the young Veterinary, Matt Thomson, a Candidate in Ginninderra who, when I met him, impressed me with his determination to make voters aware that as Liberal Democrat he was not a conservative but a man who believed strongly in encouraging people to invest their talents on behalf of all Canberrans and do his best for Ginninderra and the city as a whole with new policies not rehashes of failed policies.

Unfortunately, I have not yet met Marion Le Leader of the Social Justice Party, but I knew her many years ago. While I doubt she has changed much, I think you can be sure of one thing: she will take a strong stand on the issues she thinks important to making life better for every Canberran.

As the election draws nearer I hope to bring you some of the policies of the foregoing candidates but also profile major party candidates.
Let me add that opinions on a variety of subjects other than politics will also be published.

Donation details:

Cash and cheque donations To: Don Allan, OAM, 17 The Pines Avenue, Sundown Village, Symonston, 2609. For details of Electronic Funds Transfer call: 6239 7919; or, 0409 308 410

10 Responses to "ACT Opinions"

My goal this week will be to have more on the Farmers Wife blocks done. I’m thinking 10 should be doable, maybe more as I tend to do these in big batches rather than the 2/wk that it started out as. Great luck to everyone on your own goals! 🙂

This is something new at least to me that I’m able to offer to my client as well as to my blog.

You have hit the mark. In it something is also I think, what is it good idea.

P.S. Please review our icons for Windows and windows12icons.

Bravo, your opinion is useful

P.S. Please review our icons for Windows and windows12icons.

Absolutely with you it agree. In it something is alsk idea good, agree with you.

P.S. Please review our icons for Windows and windows12icons.

Thanks for the valuable information. I have used it.

P.S. Please review our icons for Windows and windows12icons.

Keep up the excellent work, I read few articles on this web site and I conceive that your web blog is real interesting and contains sets of wonderful info.

Hi there! Do you understand if they make any plugins to protect towards hackers? I am kinda paranoid about losing everything I have worked really hard on. Any recommendations?

Hey there my name is Jill and I’m a student and this website really helped me. I’m inspired! Thanks!

The Slave of the Husband…

Seeking forward to researching more from you afterward!……

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
