Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Opinions

Posted on: 9 September 2012


ACT Election thoughts
In electoral terms Friday 14th September is almost as important as Saturday 20th September because it’s the day when all parties and Independent candidates must declare which candidates, if any, they will field at the ACT Election, Saturday 20th October.

While some people will have made up their minds already if, for example, the media gave the Pirate Party some space, some voters might find their policies more attractive than those of ACT Labor Liberals, Greens and other parties.

I am neither Pirate Party member nor a member of any other party. I am but a member of Canberra’s Great Unwashed Party whose members have no affiliation with any party contesting the election many of whom, like me dislike being treated as a political illiterate by self-appointed political experts and commentators of whom many have strong ties to existing political hierarchies.

To come to that conclusion, one need go no further than read newspapers, watch TV news and listen to current affairs radio programmes where, day after day, these self-appointed political experts in the guise of providing information to the public subtly push the political philosophy of the party they support. And while it is said that comparisons are odious, in a sense these experts are to be compared with the people who supported recent political tyrants not to mention those who support the current tyrants still hogging the political stage in many countries around the world.

Sadly, with respect to Canberra, the Community Alliance has decided not contest the next election. On the other hand it is pleasing to note that some of its members still have that revolutionary urge. Indeed keeping the idea of political revolution alive is important. Without revolutionaries, democracy will stagnate and decay as people become comfortable with the reigning status quo.

That said it seems to me democracy in Canberra has stagnated already and now needs a political revolution to bring it alive again. Perhaps this will happen if the Assembly elected on 20th October has enough political revolutionaries to keep voters thinking constantly about how to make democracy work even better. If that happens, perhaps Canberra will become the city it was intended to be, a dynamic city where progressive development and social engineering were in balance.

Perhaps if candidates from the Pirates Party, the AMP, the Social Justice Party or the Liberal Democrats also get elected they will stir their fellow Members and infuse them with energy and ideas that will make Canberra the exemplar to be followed when Australia’s future cities are being built.
dca@netspeed.com.au

16 Responses to "ACT Opinions"

Websites we think you should visit…

we like to honor many other internet sites on the web, even if they aren’t linked to us, by linking to them. Under are some webpages worth checking out…

Nice post. I be taught something more challenging on completely different blogs everyday. It’ll always be stimulating to read content material from different writers and follow a little bit something from their store. I’d favor to make use of some with the content material on my weblog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a hyperlink on your internet blog. Thanks for sharing.

Go ahead and use whatever parts you like. I’m just glad you find it useful.

Hello there, just became alerted to your blog through Google, and found that it’s very informative. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Great blog I like what you’ve done please message back and let me know who your host is

Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

Hello there, You have done an incredible job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this site.

Hello.This article was extremely motivating, particularly since I was browsing for thoughts on this topic last Saturday.

I gotta bookmark this website it seems extremely helpful .

Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; we have created some nice methods and we are looking to swap strategies with other folks, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

I can only reply spam is one of the penalties you pay for having a free website site and a wish to make a lot of connections. Unfortunately too, your website has lots of viruses. Regards, Don

I have been reading the posts, so i definitely concur with the information Tom said.

I went over this site and I think you have a lot of great information, saved to my bookmarks (:.

I was studying some of your content on this internet site and I think this site is very informative ! Keep posting .

Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on
the internet the easiest thing to be aware of.

I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people consider worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This paragraph posted at
this web page is genuinely fastidious.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
