Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Opinions

Posted on: 15 September 2012


“Change” is the first of what I hope will be many contributions from donors. So thank you Marylin but let me add that, as the first donor to make a contribution, you could not have picked a better subject because, as a donor you know that ACT Opinions itself has come about as a result of change.

So let everyone read and enjoy. Don Allan

CHANGE

Change is not always easy to accept. Everything that lives, changes. It grows, it flourishes, it declines. Finally, it dies. Individuals, families, political parties, countries, civilizations, life-forms, stars, planets, galaxies… Everything is constantly changing, evolving.

Sometimes, we wholeheartedly embrace change. Sometimes we dig in our heels and fight it, tooth and nail.

From up here on my perch, safely away from the agitation below, the elderly bird that I am surveys the panic caused by any hint of change in Australian habits.

I have been back in this country for seven years now, having lived in France for nearly four decades. Over these seven years, I have been watching a great part of the Australian population frantically resisting any change to its way of life. It will accept any electronic gadget that you can throw at it, but it absolutely refuses anything that might temporarily affect its comfort. It “needs” bigger houses, bigger cars, bigger television screens. It doesn’t want to know about “inconvenient truths”. Australia is an island, isn’t it? It exists on its own, disconnected from the rest of the world, except for the Internet, of course.

This part of the population sees desperate asylum seekers as dangerous to the “Australian way of life”. It does not want them on our shores. This part of the population is indifferent to the fact that Australian Governments, both past and present, appear to have abandoned Australian citizens in foreign countries, for the simple reason that the United States of America has taken a dislike to them. On the other hand, it sees nothing wrong with part of the armed forces of this same United States of America being permanently stationed on our mainland.

There exists another part of the Australian population which used to be described as made up of “concerned citizens”. This part sees Australia still lolling around in the middle of the XXth Century while the rest of the world has moved on. It sees Australia clinging to obsolete technology and infrastructure. It sees the damage we have done to the Earth in general and Australia in particular. Fifty per cent of Australian flora and fauna species have been wiped out since the British invasion of 1788, and many others are still in danger of extinction.

All changes are not beneficial. Some, however, are necessary, whether or not they upset our habits. It is up to the individual to create the world in which (s)he wants to live. We can begin in our own homes, in our choice of transport… We can vote for politicians who reflect our views and write to those who are already elected. They are our servants. Most of them do not seem to be aware of this. They are supposed to do what we tell them to do. Most of them don’t. They are not supposed to hide things from us. Most of them do. Shouldn’t these things be changed?

One thing is certain: change will occur. It is up to each one of us to make sure that it is for the better.

Marilyn Kay Dennis

12 Responses to "ACT Opinions"

Reblogged this on Smudges, Blots & Stains and commented:
A little while ago, Canberra columnist Don Allan, who used to write his column in The Chronicle before being “made redundant”, issued an invitation to donors to his new website page ACT Opinions to contribute an article to it. I accepted and the following was posted on 15 September 2012:

Hey from across the sea! This is just what I was hunting for, and you did it well. Thx

Great blog I like what you’ve done please message back and let me know who your host is

I like this weblog it’s a master piece! Glad I noticed this on google.

This is exactly a very good read in my view, Must admit that you are one of the ideal bloggers I ever saw.Many thanks for publishing this useful article.

I conceive other website owners should take this site as an model, very clean and great user friendly design.

Regards for helping out, great information.

You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for the subject and found most people will agree with your site.

Great write-up. I am an everyday visitor of your website and also appreciate you finding the time to conserve the nice web site. I will be a frequent visitor for any really long time.

Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My website is in the very same niche as yours and my users would definitely benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Appreciate it!

Hi I am so grateful I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
