Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Opinions

Posted on: 19 September 2012


Labor’s symphony of ACT Election promises

Yesterday, Monday 17th September, ACT Chief Minister Katy Gallagher launched Labor’s Parade of Promises she hopes will prove to be the winner in the ACT election race on Saturday 20th October. Like every other party, Labor is sure its promises are so good that voters will find them irresistible. But just to be on the safe side and leaving nothing to chance, it will keep re-iterating them.

That being the case voters can now brace themselves for a continuous barrage of words about various ACT services. Let me mention a few items from the plethora of Labor’s promises: a new hospital; extra beds in existing hospitals; new child care facilities; and a new mental health facility. In education there’s a promise of a $250,000 investment that allegedly will ensure the future of today’s’ children and their children. I don’t know about you but I suspect that by the time the latter arrive how children will be educated will be as different as chalk is to cheese.

No doubt we’ll get announcements in the future about how they will provide affordable housing, how they will house the homeless and how the increase in rates and taxes are desirable

Moving on to transport, better bus services were promised again, for both the general public and the disabled. And where would any ACT Labor Government be without announcements about the Arts and planning. Public art will get money spent on it. One can but hope that this doesn’t mean there will be an explosion of statues of politicians most people haven’t heard of or would like to forget. There’s a lot of them.

As for planning, the Planning Minister responsible for Canberra the Capital as a work in progress, in a par for the course promise of all planning ministers, has promised better consultation with the community?

Unfortunately, the Liberal Opposition has already has already rained on Labor’s parade of planning promises with its allegation that Treasurer and Deputy Chief Minister Andrew Barr broke the promise he made to a roomful of 200 property developers that certain taxes were being waived.

Later it transpired that the Deputy Chief Minister had ‘waved’ away his promise to the developers but when questioned about it on ABC 666 on Tuesday 18th by breakfast Show host Ross Solly, not only did Mr Barr seem uncomfortable with the questioning but his answers also seemed less than convincing. However, in light of the accusations about broken promises that have so damaged Prime Minister Julia Gillard and being so close to an election, it is easy to understand his discomfiture.

I am not going to bore you witless with the other promises but it would be remiss of me not to mention the promise about the greatest moral challenge of our time – climate change. No doubt there was no announcement because the Chief Minister wanted to give her Ministers an opportunity to spread the good news. And so that good news announcement was left to Environment Minister Simon Corbell who on Wednesday, 19 September said that by 2020 that Canberra’s energy will be 90% clean energy composed of windpower, solar and biomass. And the band played, believe it if you like.

Sadly, even with Labor’s new found vision it failed to realise that the best way to get clean energy is to get the young people they are encouraging to study science and technology, to take up the development of Nuclear Fusion (not fission, the bomb maker) which will provide the world with a limitless and endless supply of clean energy.

In later articles you’ll be able to read about policies about a host of other issues not only from the Liberals, but from the Greens and other parties such as the Australian Motorist Party, Pirate Party, Social Justice Party, Liberal Democrats, Bullet Train for Canberra Party and a continuing presence in ACT Politics of an Independent Australian Democrat.

dca@netspeed.com.au

42 Responses to "ACT Opinions"

Hello. splendid job. I did not expect this. This is a fantastic story. Thanks!

I think this is a powerfull weblog with much interesting blogposts about this stuff. And i just wanna thank you for this. I’ll follow your website to see if you post more stuff like these!

Some truly excellent blog posts on this website, appreciate it
for contribution.

Hey sweet heart from a girlyfan contunue the great posts

I discovered your site site on google and appearance a few your
early posts. Preserve on that the fine operate.
I merely extra up your Rss to my MSN News Reader. Hunting for forward to reading a ton more on your part later
on!…

Great blog I like what you’ve done please message back and let me know who your host is

Greetings from across the ocean! This is just what I was looking for, and you nailed it. Thx

It’s really a great and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

Yo, simply become aware of this page via Bing, and found that it must be truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate when you continue this down the road. Lots of others may be benefited via your creating. Thankx

Howdy I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.

fantastic post.Ne’er knew this, thankyou for letting me know.

I saw a lot of website but I believe this one holds something extra in it. “Safeguard the health both of body and soul.” by Cleobulus.

Thank you for creating informative content. I’m impressed together with your capability to compose persuasive material. you have offered me a good deal of thought-provoking views to consider.

I like the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great articles.

Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs? I have a blog based on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e mail.

I needed to create you this very little remark so as to give many thanks yet again considering the remarkable solutions you’ve shown in this case. This has been quite surprisingly generous of people like you giving openly all that most of us might have advertised as an electronic book to get some bucks on their own, specifically since you could have done it in case you decided. The basics additionally served to provide a great way to realize that the rest have the same interest similar to my very own to know good deal more around this matter. I am sure there are thousands of more pleasant occasions up front for individuals who looked over your website.

bonjour I’m Sarah I’m such a air head but I still really loved your posts

I tried to publish a remark earlier, although that hasn’t demonstrated up. I assume your spam filter may possibly be busted?

Wow! This could be one particular of the most useful blogs We have ever arrive across on this subject. Basically Excellent. I’m also an expert in this topic so I can understand your effort.

Very interesting subject , regards for posting.

A actually fascinating read, I might nicely not agree totally, but you do make some quite legitimate factors.

Thanks for helping out, fantastic info .

I am happy that I discovered this blog, precisely the right info that I was searching for! .

Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring on other websites? I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my readers would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

Woh I like your articles, saved to fav! .

Lovely just what I was looking for.Thanks to the author for taking his time on this one.

Excellent write-up. I am a normal visitor of your web web site and appreciate you taking the time to sustain the superb website. I will be a frequent visitor for a long time.

You are my inspiration , I possess few blogs and sometimes run out from to post .

Simply desire to say your own article can be as surprising. The clarity as part of your post is simply nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well along with your permission please let me grab your Rss to preserve updated with forthcoming submit. Thanks a million and please maintain the pleasurable work.

I love this! So amazing that I’m definitely coming back again tomorrow.

This article is the bomb. You have a new fan! I can’t wait for the next update, bookmarked!

I would want to thank you for the efforts you have put on paper this internet site. I are hoping a similar high-grade site post coming from you inside the upcoming additionally. In truth your innovative writing knowledge has prompted me to have my personal blog right now. Actually the blogging will be spreading the wings speedily. Your jot down is an excellent example of computer.

Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually know what you are speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally consult with my website =). We will have a hyperlink exchange arrangement between us!

so much superb information on here, : D.

Very fascinating subject, appreciate the idea for posting.

But wanna state that this is very useful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

Absolutely composed subject material, appreciate it for selective information.

This is a good posting, I was wondering if I could use this write-up on my website, I will link it back to your website though. If this is a problem please let me know and I will take it down right away

It’s not a problem. But be sure to link it back. Regards, Don

Howdy outstanding blog! Does running a blog like this require a massive amount work? I have absolutely no understanding of programming however I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, if you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject however I simply had to ask. Thank you!

I blog often and I seriously appreciate your content. Your article has really peaked my interest. I will book mark your blog and keep checking for new information about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
