Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Opinions

Posted on: 23 September 2012


Green Fugues

Having described Labor’s election promises as a symphony it seems fair the Greens should also be given a musical identity. In keeping with its minor party status and what seems an apt description of Greens policies, I’ve chosen to call them Fugues (a composition for two or more voices). That I describe them as policies is because it seems unlikely that, as a party, the time is far away, if indeed it ever arrives, when it will be in a position to make promises.

Nonetheless, it would be wrong to speak of the Greens as inconsequential politicians because, to some extent, they have made Labor and LIberal look at themselves and bring their minds to bear on issues that normally lie outside their vision. This can be seen in their election platform which identified 33 policies (read them at: http://www.act.greens.org) many of which are modified versions of Labor and Liberal policies, Labor’s in particular.

But credit where it’s due. Both Labor and Liberal use modified versions of some parts of the Greens environment policies. Unfortunately for them, climate change the one policy they hoped would move electorates to support them in greater numbers has not brought the result they hoped for.I suggest it never will.

It is also unlikely that they will ever succeed in attracting enough votes to give them the power necessary to make decisions that affect entire communities. True, they have achieved some limited success in the ACT Assembly perhaps because their policies have a heavy tinge of Labor philosophy. But as the ACT and the Assembly grows, the Greens influence will decline and so will its capacity to influence an ACT Labor government.

Reading their policies also gave me the feeling that apart from their environment policy they didn’t have a policy to begin with but realising they would need policies to get elected, they modified some Labor policies, added some thought of their of their own that sounded politically appealing which became a Green policy. Adding to that, I was confused by their statements of principles and goals. Perhaps the strategy is too clever for me but I have always thought principles and goals would be the same; apparently I am wrong. I also found the use of the words “The ACT Greens want” leading the specified goals section in their policy documents off putting. The phrase sounds Utopian even though everyone knows there never has been nor ever will be a Utopia.

Annoyingly too, the Greens seem to think that alone among political parties it is the only one whose members have common sense. Unfortunately, this thinking often translates into fervour akin to the fanaticism of religious zealots. One would have thought that by this time the wiser heads among would have found that zealots tend to frighten people.

I won’t attempt to cover everything in the Greens policy papers. You’ll find them all at the website I’ve mentioned above, but I will comment on “Disability.” As usual, all political parties promise the world to people with a disability the world particularly if they think it will be good publicity. One group of people with a disability that gets more than their share of promises even though the disability of many sportspeople with a disability allows them to participate in every area of community and social life. Too often, unfortunately, the less well blessed people with a disability get left out.

That said I’d like to pay two current MLAs and a hopeful Candidate a compliment. For years, Brindabella Greens candidate Amanda Bresnan, Molonglo Liberal candidate Steve Doszpot and Molonglo Labor candidate David Mathews have shown their support for people with a disability by their attendance at ACTAADS Inc a Canberra organisation that provides financial help to people with a disability regardless of their disability, sport included.

dca@netspeed.com.au

26 Responses to "ACT Opinions"

Hello.This article was really motivating, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this topic last Wednesday.

Great blog I like what you’ve done please message back and let me know who your host is

Not what I was thinking but superb anyway! Well done!

I was looking through a number of your articles with this website and In my opinion this web site is very informative! Keep upon posting.

I really like your writing style, excellent information, appreciate it for posting : D.

Im grateful for the blog. Thanks Again. Cool.

Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and amazing design and style.

I don’t mind you sharing my blog but I’d be happier if the people you share it with logged on to https://donallan.wordpress.com and read it for themselves. Regards, Don

Hi there, just became alerted to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Excellent info and nicely written. Keep up the great stuff!

Glad to be one of the visitants on this awful website : D.

We’re a gaggle of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable activity and our whole group will be thankful to you.

Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

If the information is of any use to you I’ve only ever used WordPress. Regards, Don

Not what I was thinking but superb anyway! Good for you!

Very nice article and straight to the point. I am not sure if this is in fact the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to get some professional writers? Thx 🙂

Its great as your other written content: D, thanks for posting. Even Albert Einstein reportedly needed aid on the 1040 type. by Ronald Reagan.

you can have an amazing weblog here! would you like to make a few invite content on my blog?

Always happy to oblige. Send me details of what you want.Regards, Don e-mail” dca@netspeed.com.au web: donallan.wordpress.com

I wish to thank you for that efforts you’ve invest writing this site. I feel hoping the identical high-grade internet site post via you inside upcoming additionally. Actually your own creative creating skills provides encouraged me to get my very own blog right now. Really the blogging can be spreading their wings swiftly. Your article is an excellent example of computer.

We still can’t quite think that I could always be one of those reading through the important ideas found on this blog. My family and I are sincerely thankful for the generosity and for giving me the opportunity to pursue my chosen profession path. Thank you for the important information I obtained from your web site.

Just wish to say the article can be as astounding. The clearness within your post is simply spectacular and i really could assume you’re an expert about this subject. Fine together with your permission i want to to grab your feed to help keep updated using forthcoming publish. Thanks a new million as well as please keep on the pleasing work.

Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome blog!

Very good article. Keep writing.

Hi there, I ought to say that Tales from abroad » Weblog Archive » Rafting is a incredibly superb location to slack from function I truly truly like your blog and I’ve already bookmarked it. Make confident you, preserve it up to date a lot a lot more often. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
