Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Opinions

Posted on: 25 September 2012


A Concerto of Concerns

The election on 20th October brought back to mind an event I organised more than forty years ago that few, if any, Canberra residents, would know of. Held at the Plaza Cinema, Leeds, the event was the world marathon piano playing championships between pianists Sandy Strickland and Gordon Jackson both of whose piano playing ability would, I have to say as a former classical violinist, put people off music for life. In some respects this election campaign is of the same ilk although it must be said that some candidates have more political ability than Strickland and Jackson had musical ability.

My classical music experience is the reason why I called the Chief Minister’s presentation of Labor’s policies as a Symphony of Political Promises,( http://www.katygallagfher.net/p=2222) the Greens promises as Fugues while in this article the Liberals promises are a Concerto of Concerns.
However, the real question is: can you believe their promises? The promises of Labor and Liberal have something in common because both promise to improve the harmony of Canberra. Indeed both claim their promises are in tune with residents’ concerns today but will also help keep Canberra a City of Harmony in the future. Unfortunately for the Greens (www.act.greens.org.au) I doubt their fugues will do the same.

As for the launch of the Liberal campaign, even if a concerto wasn’t used the launch was distinctly theatrical. Zed, the Leader, climbing the stairs at the Convention Centre looked like a man on the way to the top of Canberra’s political mountain as if already Chief Minister. I got the feeling that this climb was designed to show him as a man confident that he and his team of candidates were as one with their campaign slogan “We’re ready!”

The question of course is: what are they ready for? They have an extensive programme of policies focussed on what they think are the bread and butter issues that concern voters. For example, they say they will make sure that children are safe going to and from school. And still on schools they are committing to an audit of public education infrastructure and the building of a school for autistic children.

Most of us, even if pensioners, know the importance of pay day. Delay in pay can mean no food on the table, no money for the mortgage, rent or lease or for any other item. But what many in Government don’t seem to realise is that if government customers don’t get paid in time they are in the same boat. The Liberals promise that won’t happen with them.

The Liberals also promise to reduce rego costs which are an endemic concern in this car driven city and also promise to reduce ground fees at all sports clubs. A major concern, the lack of a constructive system to address Canberra’s long term infrastructure needs they promise to address by establishing an Independent Infrastructure Commissioner who will have to work closely with the community.

In its desire to allay concerns of public servants, perhaps what might be considered contentious is the Liberal plan to set up a full time Independent Public Service Administration Commission to ensure public servants can work without fear and that promotion is based on merit.

While in contention land, let me raise the issue of the tripling of rates in some suburbs which according to the Liberals is what highly respected former Treasurer and Deputy Chief Minister Ted Quinlan laid out in table 45 of his Government Commissioned Quinlan Review. If the Quinlan Review is correct that would clearly be a concern of voters. The Liberals say they will allay that concern by abandoning the tax reform of the current government and reinstate the 2011 -12 formula used to calculate rates.
As from today ACT voters have twenty five days to decide if they want a government with policies that will take care of the future but also devote itself also to rectifying the bread and butter concerns that make or mar their daily life or parties that promise solutions to manufactured social engineering problem that they created. Liberals: (www.canberraliberals.org.au)
Keep reading here about other parties and Independents candidates before you make up your mind.
dca@netspeed.com.au

37 Responses to "ACT Opinions"

I found something similar elsewhere and really found it entertaining. Some more of this please! Thank you

Great blog I like what you’ve done please message back and let me know who your host is

I found something like this elsewhere and really found it helpful. Some more of this please! Thx

It’s in point of fact a great and helpful piece of information. I’m glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, thanks . “To be positive To be mistaken at the top of one’s voice.” by Ambrose Bierce.

I really like your writing style, good information, thankyou for putting up : D.

Hey! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the great work!

Thanks kindly for posting on this particular subject. There is not a great deal of content published about it (not particularly helpful anyway). It is encouraging to see it getting slighlty more coverage. Thanks again!

I like when you talk about this type of stuff in your blog. Perhaps could you continue to do this?

I found something similar elsewhere and really loved. Some more of this please! Thx

Hi there, just became alerted to your blog through Google, and found that it’s very informative. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Would love to always get updated outstanding site! .

This is the finest web blog I have read.

Hey our family simply enjoy your marvelous article as well as please continue going

Nie and informative post, your every post worth atleast something.

I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually hardly ever do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you’ve gotten hit the nail on the head. Your idea is excellent; the difficulty is something that not enough people are talking intelligently about. I am very comfortable that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for one thing regarding this.

hi, your internet site is amazing. I truly do numerous thanks for operate

Hello there, I found your web site via Google while searching for a related topic, your web site came up, it looks great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

I like the efforts you have put in this, thankyou for all the great posts.

Hey There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. This is often a very neatly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark the idea and get back to learn extra of one’s useful data. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

Just wanna input that you have a very decent website , I the design and style it actually stands out.

I have been examinating out many of your articles and i must say pretty clever stuff. I will make sure to bookmark your website.

Regards for this post, I am a big fan of this web site would like to go along updated.

Just added this web site to my own favorites. I take pleasure in reading your own blogs as well as hope you keep them arriving!

Can I just say what a reduction to find somebody who truly is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know how one can bring a difficulty to mild and make it important. Extra folks must learn this and perceive this facet of the story. I cant consider youre not more popular because you undoubtedly have the gift.

I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again

Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing some research on that. And he just bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch!

Wonderful web site. A lot of useful information here. I’m sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you on your effort!

Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to offer one thing back and help others such as you helped me.

I came here expecting something else, but this inspired me regardless. Entertaining stuff!

Thanks for sharing superb information. Your site is so cool. I am impressed by the info that you’ve on this website. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for more articles.

I hope you never stop! This is one of the best blogs Ive ever read. Youve got some mad skill here, man. I just hope that you dont lose your style because youre definitely one of the coolest bloggers out there. Please keep it up because the internet needs someone like you spreading the word.

Certainly along with your thoughts here and that i enjoy your weblog! I’ve bookmarked it making certain that I can come back & read more in the foreseeable future.

Very interesting details you have noted, appreciate it for putting up.

Nice post. I put you in RSS now so I can see more from you sometime again.

I like this blog very much so much great information.

I make a reply after I like a posting on an online site or if perhaps I’ve something to contribute to the conversation. Typically it is brought on by the interest showcased in the post I read. And after reading this post on ACT Opinions Allan Takes Aim Blog. I was really motivated enough to leave a response 😉 I actually do have a few questions for you if it is okay. Could it be only me or do a number of these responses appear as if they are posted by brain empty people? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional places, I would like to follow you. Would you prefer to reveal your online community pages like your twitter feed, Facebook or linkedin account?

Leave a Reply

    • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
    • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
    • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
