Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Opinions

Posted on: 26 September 2012


Will the minor parties and Independents spoil major party hopes?

Whether or not minor parties and Independents spoil the major parties’ hopes is yet to be seen but if they do it will be because many voters have become sick of the petty behaviour by some members of the major parties that, if indulged in by a child, would lead to the chid being chastised. Perhaps this will be an election in which voters will chastise some members of the major parties by voting for minor party candidates and Independents.

But much as the major parties might need chastising doing so in a fit of pique is not sensible. Voters need a reason. It may well be that reason enough can be found among the policies of the minor parties and Independents. Unfortunately, whether by design or accident, the media have turned the ACT election into a three horse race between the Greens, Labor and Liberals. (I mention the latter alphabetically not in order of preference.)

And so, because media reports about the minor parties and Independents have been as scarce as hens’ teeth their policy messages do not get publicised. Perhaps the media think the former a waste of time. If so not only Is this presumption on a grand scale it also means that people in the media know better than Canberra’s voters, not a view that fits comfortably with the view that Canberra has the most intelligent, best educated, most literate and most informed city in Australia.

That said my next posts will feature the major parties possible fun spoilers starting with the Australian Motorist Party and its three candidates: BurL Doble, Brindabella, David Cumber, Molonglo and Chic Henry, Ginninderra.

Burl Doble a Canberran for over fifty years, married, with a family, a skilled tradesman and now running his own successful family business. A former Kambah Lions Club, President, Vice President and Treasurer, Burl was an AMP candidate in 2008.

David Cumber has progressed from labourer to holding senior executive roles in a number of business organisations. A long time member of Scouts Australia he has been a leader in both NSW and the ACT and also in ACT community and sporting bodies.

Chic Henry is well known in Canberra for his successful Summernats event that for years brought thousands of tourists to Canberra. His favourite saying describes the man: “Never let fear hold you back.” He likes music, politics, motor racing, playing cards, friends, travel and work and dislikes drugs, political correctness and lack of law and order. What more could you ask for in a politician?

It is only too easy to dismiss the AMP as a party interested only in things to do with the cars but the fact is, David Cumbers and Chic Henry connection with cars is ownership of one. On the other hand they are connected with community activities and, like many other Canberrans, interested only in progressing Canberra as a good place to live and bring up families.

As I sat and talked to them for three hours it became clear that unlike some MLAs they are only interested in Canberra’s status, not their own. But what I did see weas three men interested in passing on the business and life experience they have gained for Canberra’s benefit today and in the future.

Find out more about their policies at http://amp.org.au) and be surprised. You’ll see they think about a whole range of issues, cycling, housing, health sport, recreation, arts, tourism et al, not just cars.

dca@netspeed.com.au

29 Responses to "ACT Opinions"

The Liberal and National parties have merged in Queensland and the Northern Territory , although the resultant parties are different. The Liberal National Party of Queensland , formed in 2008, is a branch of the Liberal Party, but it is affiliated with the Nationals and members elected to federal parliament may sit as either Liberals or Nationals. The Country Liberal Party was formed in 1978 when the Northern Territory gained responsible government. It is a separate member of the federal coalition, but it is affiliated with the two major members and its president has voting rights in the National Party. The name refers to the older name of the National Party.

Great blog I like what you’ve done please message back and let me know who your host is

Hey there my name is Rebecca and I’m a writer and this article really helped me. I’m enthused! Thanks very much!

It’s onerous to find knowledgeable folks on this topic, however you sound like you realize what you’re talking about! Thanks

Just thought I’d personally remark and say great concept, did an individual develop it for your self? It appears to be outstanding!

Thank you for helping out, good information. “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” by J. K. Rowling.

I truly enjoy studying on this web site , it has good content . “Something unpredictable but in the end it’s right, I hope you have the time of your life.” by Greenday.

Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, regards.

Regards for helping out, great info .

Woh I prefer your content articles, saved in order to favorites!.

Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

Hey sweetie from a femalereader maintain the fab writing

I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

Hey just came upon your website from Yahoo after I typed in, “ACT Opinions Allan Takes Aim Blog” or perhaps something similar (can’t quite remember exactly). Anyways, I’m relieved I found it simply because your subject material is exactly what I’m searching for (writing a university paper) and I hope you don’t mind if I collect some material from here and I will of course credit you as the source. Thanks.

Gerardo,

Thanks for your comment. By the way all you need do is type in https://donallan.wordpress.com and youll read the latest blog. All blogs in ACT opiniomns can be accessed on the drop down menu on the right of the blog. The rest of the menu contains all previously posted blogs.

You might be interested in knwowing that, next year, a blog of mine on Same Sex Marriage will be used in a secondary school education booklet.

Regards,
Don

This is funnily enough just the thing I’ve been searching for! Great and cheers!

I consider something genuinely interesting about your blog so I bookmarked .

I have recently started a website, and the information you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work.

Bonjour from across the ocean! This is just what I was thinking of, and you nailed it. Thankyou

Perfectly written subject material, Really enjoyed reading through.

Glad to be one of many visitants on this incredible internet internet site : D.

I real lucky to find this internet site on bing, just what I was looking for : D besides saved to favorites.

Some truly prize posts on this internet site , saved to favorites .

Im no expert, but I believe you just crafted a very good point point. You naturally fully understand what youre talking about, and I can seriously get behind that. Thanks for staying so upfront and so sincere.

Nice, I’ve been scouring for something this good. Playing with RSS- I can keep up to date with your site now- cool feature.

Interesting article. It is rather unfortunate that over the last ten years, the travel industry has already been able to to handle terrorism, SARS, tsunamis, bird flu virus, swine flu, along with the first ever entire global economic depression. Through it all the industry has really proven to be effective, resilient in addition to dynamic, discovering new tips on how to deal with trouble. There are continually fresh difficulties and the opportunity to which the industry must once more adapt and react.

One of the more impressive blogs Ive seen. Thanks so much for keeping the internet classy for a change. Youve got style, class, bravado. I mean it. Please keep it up because without the internet is definitely lacking in intelligence.

Keep up the fantastic work , I read few posts on this web site and I conceive that your weblog is rattling interesting and has circles of great info .

I found so many interesting stuff in your blog especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

    • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
    • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
    • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
