Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Opinions

Posted on: 28 September 2012


The Pocock view

For me the right to Freedom of Speech, which I hold dear, also comes with the responsibility that it must never be used to demean another person’s right to free speech. Sadly this often happens and none more so than in in the current debate about same sex marriage.

Recently the Independent candidate for Molonglo Philip Pocock, who has lived in Canberra for 43 years, got into hot water when he made some strong statements about “gay” marriage. While you might not agree with views on the subject provided he does not demean people when he argues his case he has the same right to make them as his opponents have to criticise them.

Describing himself as a conservative Independent he makes no bones about his views and credit where it’s due he has had the courage, perhaps some people might call it foolishness, to make his views known in Canberra, a city that for many people is a continuing experiment in social engineering.

On the other hand, in a conversation with him he declared a strong belief in a reduction of chemical and atmospheric pollution. Trained in biology and genetics he says, it has been shown quite clearly the resultant health gains in people that occur when carbon and sulphur pollution are reduced bring far greater economic health savings than the costs of preventing such pollution.

He believes also, that the Greens have lost their claim to be a party for the environment. In his view they have become a party of inanity and irrelevance with silly schemes, an anti-religious philosophy that ha fantasy notions of equality.

For him, he said, it was the latest agreement between the Greens and Labour to promote legislation for Civil Unions, ie de facto “Gay Marriage”, that prompted his candidacy “ in the hope that at least one more vote against, not just homosexuality, but the Hegelian philosophy – no God, no spirit – that influences much of the decision making approach of politics today – in the broadest sense – can be rolled back along with at least some of the myriad practical ways in which this philosophy has taken personal freedom away from voters”

While I doubt the Pocock view will take hold in Canberra, nonetheless as personally I believe in free speech, I think people deserve to know what he thinks.

To help you form your own opinion, I suggest you read what he has to say by logging on to his website: http://www.philippocock.info/

45 Responses to "ACT Opinions"

I didnt seek this, but I like this, found it enlightening! Keep up the likable work!

Great blog I like what you’ve done please message back and let me know who your host is

Thanks to all the those who sent the above message. The web site on which you’ll find the blog is:
donallan.wordpress.com and the Blog title: Allan Takes Aim. If anyone is interested in sending me an e-mail direct my e-mail address is: dca@netspeed.com.au mail.au

Some genuinely fantastic articles on this internet site, thanks for contribution.

Some genuinely quality content about this web web site, saved for you to my book marks.

Usually I do not read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice article.

I’m really inspired with your writing talents and also with the structure for your weblog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you customize it your self? Anyway keep up the excellent high quality writing, it’s uncommon to look a great weblog like this one these days..

Some truly prime posts on this site, bookmarked .

Some really fantastic information, Glad I observed this. “Never put off until tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow.” by Mark Twain.

Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

Its wonderful as your other blog posts : D, appreciate it for posting.

Hi there your web site url: https://donallan.wordpress.com/2012/09/28/act-opinions-19/ seems to be redirecting to a completely different webpage when I click the homepage button. You might want to have this looked at.

Awesome info and entertainingly written. Keep up the wonderful stuff!

Alonzo,

Just post the site address https://donallan.wordpress.com and the posts disply straight away.

Regards,
Don

Hey sweetie from a teenage girlfan maintain the fab blog

I genuinely value your piece of work, Great post.

excellent points altogether, you basically gained a new reader. What would you recommend about your post which you made several days in the past? Any optimistic?

How would you do? We just loves your marvelous blog and could you don’t end!

I’d should test with you here. Which is not one thing I normally do! I take pleasure in reading a post that may make individuals think. Additionally, thanks for permitting me to remark!

Fantastic article:D Going to require a decent period of time to think about this blog!!

Properly written articles like yours renews my faith in today’s writers. You’ve written details I can finally agree on and use. Thank you for sharing.

Hello there I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by error, while I was searching on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

I like the efforts you’ve put in this, regards for all the excellent articles .

I really like your writing style, good info , regards for posting : D.

Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics? Thanks a lot!

Not what I was expecting but great anyway! Good for you!

Appreciating the commitment you put into your website and detailed information you present. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

I’ve recently started a web site, the information you provide on this site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

Absorbing info and nicely written. Keep up the superb stuff!

After research some of the blog posts on the web site now, and My partner and i actually similar to your method of blogging. I saved it to be able to my book mark website record and is going to be checking again soon. Pls check out my web page as effectively and i want to know what you think.

I wish far more folks would write blogs like this that are in fact valuable to read. With all the crap floating around on the internet, it’s rare to read a blog like yours rather.

I’d need to test with you here. Which isn’t one thing I normally do! I enjoy studying a publish that can make folks think. Also, thanks for allowing me to remark!

One of the more impressive blogs Ive seen. Thanks so much for keeping the internet classy for a change. Youve got style, class, bravado. I mean it. Please keep it up because without the internet is definitely lacking in intelligence.

I was very thrilled to discover this site on yahoo.I wished to say many thanks to you with regard to this good article!! I undoubtedlyappreciated every little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you post.

What you said made a lot of sense. But, think about this, what if you added a little content? I mean, I dont want to tell you how to run your blog, but what if you added something to maybe get peoples attention? Just like a video or a picture or two to get people excited about what youve got to say. In my opinion, it would make your blog come to life a little bit.

Thanks for the advice but I’ve said it a number of times: I don’t do video.I’m a word man. Regards, Don

I don’t usually reply to posts but I will in this case, great info…I will bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

Howdy My partner and i loves your striking editorial thank you and please stick in it

I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain I will learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Admiring the time and effort you put into your site and in depth information you offer. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material. Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

I’ve recently been thinking the exact same thing myself lately. Delighted to see a person on the same wavelength! Nice article.

I’m glad to be one of many visitors on this outstanding web web site (:, thankyou for putting up.

Those who love most are least valued. – English Proverb

I really like gathering utile information , this post has got me even more info! .

Cristobal, thanks for bringing back to me the fact that although ‘utile’ may have fallen out of fashion, some people still use it. Regards, Don

Leave a Reply

    • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
    • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
    • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
