Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Opinions

Posted on: 4 October 2012


Bribery: a big tool in election campaigns

A question: how many of the policies used by ACT Labor, Liberal and Greens in their campaign launches for the ACT election do you remember? I ask because, since launching their campaigns, they have launched more policies than you can poke a stick at. So again I ask: How many of these policies do you remember? I haven’t done a count but I suspect they outstrip the number of policies used at the start of the campaign.

That said, it might be said also, that calling them policies is drawing a very long bow as the word bribe seems to fit some of them better. So beware: experience should tell us that believing a policy will fix a problem often makes the problem worse than it was pre the policy.

I posit also that in elections, bribes often seem a better word to describe policy. Indeed so many bribes have been offered in this campaign as to describe Canberra as the capital of ‘”Hope and Money.”

Indeed the bribes are so good they remind me of the song “The Mountains of Mourne” composed as a lament for Irish labourers who moved to London in search of wealth and a better life: “Sure they don’t sow potatoes, nor barley nor wheat, but there’s gangs of them digging for gold in the street.” Alas the reality was a different. One hopes that not too many ACT voters will be lamenting the difference between bribes and reality after this election.

And the same applies to the word promise. In my view the word promise should be re-defined. Once upon a time, a promise was like a sacred vow. Breaking a promise could lead to people being exiled. Sadly, the word “promise” has lost its meaning and in many cases today has become a convenient and insincere expression used by politicians lacking honesty, integrity and moral strength.

This can be seen when, buffeted by the wind of criticism they think might affect their standing in the polls, their moral strength gets blown away like gossamer. Suddenly they forswear their original promises and replace them with promises they say are better. Little wonder voters are increasingly sceptical of politicians.

Unfortunately too, political parties today have as many rituals as churches, which no doubt accounts for the ‘broad church’ phrase that party hierarchies use to cover up serious internal divisions.

Money, lots of it, also features prominently in these post campaign launch policies. However, Labor having held the reins of Government for many years and responsible (I use that word in the sense of managing) should be in a better position to know if the money to run the policies is available without the need to increase taxes. If it isn’t, then for the next four years and beyond, not only will every voter’s tax burden increase significantly it will show Labor as a poor money manager.

When questioned about the cost of their policies no doubt the Liberals will say that, because they didn’t have access to the books they were at a disadvantage in assessing the cost of policies but, in the interests of all Canberrans, they drew on expert advice from people used to managing money responsibly.

So which party will voters elect? Will they re-elect Labor a party that might tax them to death to meet its policy commitments or a Liberal Party that says it is a good money manager.

But let me not forget the Greens which claims to be the ACT’s third party. Unfortunately, except for their accidental MLA Caroline Le Couteur, a founding member of Australian Ethical Investments, a company that as a director she helped grow into a major company now listed on the Australian Stock Exchange, the Greens have little experience of business management. They may have academic qualifications bur it takes business experience to invest and manage the tax dollars we contribute to the operation of essential community and social services.

As I watch the progress of the election on television memories surge back to my school days and the squabbles that erupted between classmates during which they indulged in venomous tit for tat. This ACT election reminds me of those squabbles. The only difference; the squabbles of my school days had short lifespans while the ACT election tit for tat continues.

I feel also that the myth of federal issues not affecting local elections is dead. My feeling is based on the results of the recent Northern Territory and State election because, despite the Greens supporting Prime Minister Julia Gillard in her battle with Opposition Leader Tony Abbott, their vote dropped. I rather think the drop was due to their preventing Labor from implementing its policies, a situation that has been repeated in the ACT.

As I speak to voters I get the impression this situation could be resolved by the election on Saturday, 20th October.
dca@netspeed.com.au

44 Responses to "ACT Opinions"

you have got a great weblog here! do you wish to
make some invite posts on my small weblog?

You willl need to say what kind of items you are looking for and where to send them. Don

Great blog I like what you’ve done please message back and let me know who your host is

Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

I believe this web site has some really good information for everyone :D. “This is an age in which one cannot find common sense without a search warrant.” by George Will.

Can I simply say what a relief to seek out somebody who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know easy methods to convey a problem to light and make it important. More individuals need to read this and understand this facet of the story. I cant believe youre not more fashionable because you positively have the gift.

I don’t ordinarily comment but I gotta say regards for that post on this one.

Heya! It looks as though we both have a interest for the same thing. Your blog, “ACT Opinions Allan Takes Aim Blog” and mine are very similar. Have you ever considered authoring a guest post for a related website? It will certainly help gain publicity to your website (my website recieves a lot of visitors). If you happen to be interested, e-mail me at: Quick@gekk.edu. Thanks

Hola! I’ve been following your blog for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic work!

This internet site is my inhalation, very excellent style and perfect content.

To show you the reality, I has been passing close to and encounter your web site. It is wonderful. I mean as being a content as well as design. I added that you my record and made a decision to spent other weekend surfing around. Well done!

Thankyou for this post, I am a big big fan of this web site would like to proceed updated.

Very interesting points you have mentioned , appreciate it for putting up. “Brass bands are all very well in their place – outdoors and several miles away.” by Sir Thomas Beecham.

Great post, you might have pointed out some fantastic points , I also feel this s a quite exceptional website.

Thanks for your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed studying it, you could possibly be a fantastic author. I will always bookmark your website and probably will come back to any extent further. I desire to encourage carry on your wonderful writing, have a good weekend! 2012 hostgator voucher: 25PERCENTOFFSAVE

Some really nice along with utilitarian data for this web web page, likewise I think the design and style holds amazing attributes.

I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

I’m not truly fantastic with English but I get hold this very easygoing to read .

I think your site is pretty good, i found it from a good mate of mine from Thailand

Thank you for sharing excellent information. Your web site is very cool. I am impressed by the info that you have on this website. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for extra articles.

Nice article. It came up up in my feed this morning.

Its great as your own other articles: D, thanks regarding posting. Even Albert Einstein supposedly needed support on his 1040 variety. by Ronald Reagan.

I found so many interesting stuff in your blog especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! keep up the good work.

Awseome article, I am a big believer in commenting on blogs to inform the blog writers know that they’ve added some thing useful to the world wide web!

Awseome article, I am a big believer in writing comments on weblogs to help the blog writers know that they’ve added something worthwhile to the world wide web!

Loving the info on this web site, you have done great job on the posts.

I just added this weblog to my rss reader, exceptional stuff. I like your writing style.

Outstanding post, I believe people should learn a lot from this blog its really user pleasant. So much good info on here :D.

Great articles and nice a website design too 🙂

I was very ecstatic to discover this site on google.I wanted to say thank you to you with regard to this great read!! I surelyappreciated every little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

hello right now there, your website is really unquie. I do thank you for give great results

Just added this website to our favorites. I appreciate reading your blogs and also hope you keep them on its way!

Hi, I do think this is a great site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to return yet again since I saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

fantastic points altogether, you simply gained a brand new reader. What would you suggest about your post that you made a few days ago? Any positive?

For a nice and reading through the articles, so i must concur in regards to what John said.

Utterly written articles, Really enjoyed reading.

One of the more impressive blogs Ive seen. Thanks so much for keeping the internet classy for a change. Youve got style, class, bravado. I mean it. Please keep it up because without the internet is definitely lacking in intelligence.

Woh I like your content , saved to fav! .

Hello this is a superb post. I’m going to mail this to my associates. I stumbled on this while browsing on bing I’ll be sure to come back. thanks for sharing.

I regard something genuinely interesting about your web blog so I bookmarked.

I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that too few men and women are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my search for something concerning this.

I was very happy to find this site on google.I wished to say thanks to you with regard to this good read!! I definitelyloved every little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you post.

I love the efforts you have put in this, thank you for all the great blog posts.

Oh my goodness! a fantastic post dude. Thanks Nevertheless My business is experiencing problem with ur rss . Don’t know why Not able to sign up for it. Possibly there is any person obtaining identical rss difficulty? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
