Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Opinions

Posted on: 8 October 2012


The Jones Boy meets his nemeses

If Alan Jones is a misogynist are the women leading the campaign for his removal from the airwaves misandrists? You might disagree with me using that word (perhaps you prefer nemeses), but from where I sit I don’t think you can disagree with my description of them as verbal bullies.

In the Jones case that they are verbal bullies is clear as they indulge in a campaign to cow advertisers into doing what they tell them to do.

The phrase, truth is stranger than fiction, is an oft used phrase that I think applies to the actions of some of these bullies when they try to excuse themselves from being called bullies by mis-attributing the phrase “I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it” to Voltaire.

What most of them don’t realise is the phrase is not Voltaire’s but a phrase coined by English author Evelyn Beatrice Hall (pseudonym S.G. Tallentyre) to describe Voltaire’s belief in the principle of freedom of speech in her 1906 book “The Friends of Voltaire.” If Ball, was alive today I wonder what she would say to these women bullies?

And what about the cowed companies that pulled their advertising from the Alan Jones show? Have any of them condemned bullying in the workplace? If so, shame on them that they have allowed themselves to be bullied on this issue? Perhaps they keep their principles about bullying in a box marked “only to be used when convenient.”

So what now for freedom of speech? Is it to be measured by unsocial twitteratti or by common sense although one might legitimately ask: has common sense any currency today or can it only be common sense if it meets standards set down by academic journalists?

Over the past week much has been said about the Jones Boy and I don’t intend to say much more except: only once did I try to listen to an Alan Jones broadcast but gave up long before it ended because I don’t like people who talk at and down to me. I am quite capable of thinking for myself; something many of the twitteratti don’t seem capable of.
dca@netspeed.com.au

29 Responses to "ACT Opinions"

Great blog I like what you’ve done please message back and let me know who your host is

very nice submit, i actually love this website, keep on it

I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. All the best

I admire your piece of work, appreciate it for all the great articles.

I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again

I would like to convey my respect for your generosity for men and women that need help with this particular subject. Your special dedication to getting the solution all over had become wonderfully significant and has really empowered somebody like me to arrive at their dreams. Your own informative help and advice indicates a great deal to me and far more to my office colleagues. Many thanks; from each one of us.

Thank for this post. I appreciate reading your current article to enhance my British

Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading through your posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics? Thank you so much!

Hey there your site url: https://donallan.wordpress.com/2012/10/08/act-opinions-27/ seems to be redirecting to a completely different web-site when I click the home-page button. You may want to have this looked at.

Allen, When logging on to my site just type in: https://donallan.wordpress.com. When the site comes up you’ll find a drop down menu on the right hand site that contains every blog including ACT Opinions. Regards, Don

Thank you for that auspicious writeup. It actually was a new amusement consideration it. Glance sophisticated to additional added agreeable from an individual! However, how may we talk?

You have brought up a very great details , thankyou for the post.

Very interesting topic, thanks for posting.

Awsome site! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am taking your feeds also.

Wow, nice internet site you might have here. I hope you are going to maintain updating. Regards TJ

I really like your wp style, where would you get it by means of?

It comes naturally. Regards,Don

I like this! So wonderful that I’m definitely coming back again later.

I saw lots of website but I believe this one has got something special in it in it

Too many times I passed over this blog, and that was a tragedy. I’m happy I will be back!

You can certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

I always was interested in this subject and stock still am, regards for putting up.

Thanks for yet another informative post. Exactly where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a straightforward to recognize way of presentation.

Regards for this post, I am a big big fan of this website would like to continue updated.

Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have genuinely enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon

I consider something really special in this internet site.

This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

I like this site very much so much wonderful information.

Just wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is simply great and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
