Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Opinions

Posted on: 12 October 2012


ACT election choices

With the ACT election only eight days away my favourite election crystal ball is already out of its box and polished so that the images I see in it are nice and clear. It’s important to have clear images because I’d hate it if, due to smudged images, I put Canberra’s voters on the wrong track about candidates in the big race for one of the seventeen places in the Assembly. And to reassure voters that the images in my crystal ball are hunky dory, recently I had an eye test following which I acquired new specs that have given me as close to 20/20 vision as science can make possible.

With my new specs in place I have been walking around the parade ring looking at the 74 starters in the Election Race. My first impression is that some starters are unlikely to fill one of the coveted seventeen places. On the other hand, first impressions can be wrong so some of my tips for taking one of the seventeen places might actually suffer a breakdown between now and race day.

You might think that because crystal balls are notoriously wrong, this will happen. Although a crystal ball might be a poor selection method I think it a better method than deciding that candidates whose picture appears in newspapers more often than that of their competitors or who are interviewed more often that their competitors on the electronic media, are the candidates with the qualities necessary to be good MLAs.

That the media gives some candidates more time and space is because the media has decided they are the candidates you should vote for. Worse; they limit their selection to the major parties. Effectively the media has turned the election into a popularity contest and at the same by limiting the range of contestants has also hijacked a voter’s’ right of choice.

Let me add to that by saying that, at the election, I hope some major party favourites get left behind by some relatively unknown candidates if only to show the media that it is as foolish to select placegetters from popularity contests as it is for the major parties to try and force favourites on voters.

With eight days still to go it is too early for me to nominate placegetters although voters aware that some candidates have run before and aware of their form in the interim, might have made up their minds already. Nonetheless, in time honoured tradition I am prepared to tip a few runners that selectors might consider betting for on race day. I will refine my initial selection over the next eight days then give my final selection which voters can either use to make their final selection or delete.

Initial selection: Labor – Katy Gallagher, David Mathews; Karl Maftoum, Simon Corbell, Andrew Barr, Mick Gentleman, Joy Burch, Mary Porter, Yvette Berry; Liberal – Zed Seselja, Brendan Smyth, Jeremy Hanson, Steve Doszpot; Elizabeth Lee, Jacob Vadakkedathu, Alastair Coe, Vicki Dunne, Nicole Lawder, Greens – Caroline Le Couteur; Amanda Bresnan, Shane Rattenbury, Meredith Hunter; Independent (Democrat) – Darren Churchill; Marion Lê Social Justice Party – Marion Lê; Australian Motorist Party – Chic Henry. David Cumber, Burl Doble; Liberal Democrat – Matt Thomson; Independent (Pirate Party) – Glen Takkenberg.

My decision to not split the list into electorates is deliberate because if a candidate becomes an MLA for Brindabella, Ginininderra or Molonglo and then become a member of Executive Government, they will help make decisions that affect all Canberrans, not just the electorate they represent.

it seems common sense to me also that every Canberran should know every MLA and what better way to find out than by looking them up.

.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
