Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT opinions

Posted on: 16 October 2012


A short comment on the ACT election

Although voting doesn’t take place until Saturday, October 20th, I gave myself time off today from writing a blog not on the basis of what I think but on the basis of emails from voters bored to death with what they say is the mindless repetition of slogans and the regurgitation of policies from a number of candidates who seem incapable of thinking for themselves.

One correspondent said she hoped enough of the seventeen candidates elected will be competent and capable of protecting the democratic process thus preventing the Assembly from becoming a rabble.

It may surprise candidates that some voters think of them in this light. But whether or not that represents the views of many voters I don’t know. In fact I think that voters are too intelligent to be taken in by the constant emphasis by members of one party that its competitors cannot be believed while the competing party say the same about its accusers.

Were the election of a parliament not such a serious matter it would be easy to dismiss these thoughts with the phrase: it’s six to one and half a dozen of the other. However, because parliament is such a serious matter and its decisions affect every member of our society – not just voters- on Saturday when numbering the boxes on your ballot paper just remember that you are helping shape the ACT’s future

So who should we elect? Some voters will take the view, better the devil you know than the devil you don’t. But that’s not good enough and if you don’t believe me history shows how disaster overtook many countries where voters took that course.

That said, before Saturday comes, it behoves voters to think seriously if they want to continue with the ACT’s present political arrangement, or make a change. And while I’m in the mood for adages, voters might like to consider this one: a change is as good as a rest.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
