Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT opinions

Posted on: 8 November 2012


Having written for months about politics and politicians I decided to amuse myself by writing a lighter piece I hope will amuse you.

Polls, politicians’ promises and a psychologist

More in hope than expectation I set out to discover why the words, polls and politicians’ promises kept running through my mind. No matter what I tried, I couldn’t stop them. Worse still, due to lack of success the reasons for not being able to stop them were becoming so fantastic and, in some cases, so frightening, I began to think I was losing my marbles.

That seemed a logical explanation and much better than the other suggestion that I was suffering delusions because I was getting elderly – not a term I am enamoured of. The suggestion that because I had to add a higher number at the end of the two number digit that describes my age I had moved into that age category mistakenly taken to mean I had become dotty is nonsense. Indeed, the dottiness applies to the people who made that suggestion. Indeed, as acquired extra years it also seemed to me that my mental powers also had increased.

Nonetheless, I was much relieved when my GP told me not to worry; apart from obvious defects such as my permanent state of limited mobility, I was in fine fettle. However, he did suggest that if I still felt uneasy, I should talk to a psychologist he knew.

A great believer in the saying that cobblers should stick to their lasts I took his advice and ended up talking to lady with a reputation second to none in this area.

To be honest, I thaough the lady I would see would be rather sad looking, of indeterminate age and worn down with listening to stories like mine. What did I get? The lady I met was so gorgeous looking I thought to myself I might make a habit of coming for treatment, depending, of course, on what she said.

At my appointment I sat and recounted my life for the last few months. As you will recall, for the last few months, we poor citizens of Canberra had been regaled with promises from politicians about the bright new future that awaited us if only we voted for them at the October election.

Concommitantly we had been inundated with newspaper polls about the status of parties, which, although having the same name as the parties contesting the ACT Election were talking about an Australian Federal election of which no one in the ACT, as yet, knows the date.

Making matters worse, the United States of America was also engaged in an election that the Australian media seemed to have decided was more important than either the ACT or the Australian Federal election. Indeed I suspect that some ACT citizens knew more about the US election than the ACT election.

Dr Claire Voyant after listening to my tale of woe came up with the cause of my problem. She said that because of the constant brainwashing with polls and politicians promises, not only had I subconsciously stored these words in my memory bank so that every time I heard the word election these three words immediately sprang to mind.

But she did give me one piece of good news. When the elections had taken place my problem would vanish. She was partly right. Although he ACT and US elections have come and gone the polls are still with us and with a politician’s promise as useful as a left handed hammer I won’t worry because it will another visit to Dr Claire

Blog : Allan Takes Aim; website: https://donallan.wordpress.com

2 Responses to "ACT opinions"

I think that is among the such a lot important info for me. And i am happy reading your article. But wanna statement on some basic things, The website taste is wonderful, the articles is in reality great . Just right job, cheers.

You have noted very interesting details! ps decent site.

Leave a Reply

    • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
    • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
    • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
