Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT Politics

Posted on: 14 November 2012


Is Canberra’s transformation on the way?

The cast of the ACT’s new political revue has been chosen. Some cast members from the old revue have been retained and some new ones chosen by public acclaim although a dispute as to the truth of that claim, a dispute that, depending on performance, will continue throughout the four years life of the new revue.

Almost certainly the eagle eyed critics who sit in the front seats of the ACT‘s political stalls will make their review of the revue and the performances of various cast members known through the medium of letters to the editor of Canberra City News, the Canberra Times and The Chronicle and this blog.

The content of the revue will be determined by the roles of the various players as indicated in the press release 8 November 2012: ‘Ministerial Portfolios finalised for incoming ACT Government.’ Number one and topping the bill, Labor’s Katy Gallagher will continue as Chief Minister as well as take a number of other roles. Andrew Barr will continue as her deputy also with other roles while Simon Corbell will carry on in his old ministerial role but with a new role in Workplace Safety and Industrial Relations. Completing the Labor bill is Joy Burch, who will add Education and Training to previous ministerial roles. The other Labor performers will form part of Labor’s cheer squad.

Shane Rattenbury in his Green suit is the fifth Minister (or should this be fifth columnist) responsible for Territory and Municipal Services, Minister for Women and Multicultural Affairs and Minister for Ageing. As one cynic said, the latter is an appropriate appointment as he’s likely to make a lot of people feel aged.

In the release the Chief Minister also said she is taking on the Regional Development and Education portfolios because as the most senior member of government it is her responsibility to drive the transformation of Canberra in both areas. In the penultimate paragraph and speaking on behalf of her cabinet she said: ‘we are looking forward to serving the community in our new roles and the hard work of the next four years begins today.’ So it seems citizens should get prepared for four years of hard labour.

Without being too cynical, these words echo the words of government leaders down the centuries. Read what Petronius said in 210 BCE: ‘We trained hard… but it seemed that every time we were beginning to form up into teams we would be re-organised. I was to learn later in life that we tend to meet any new situation by re-organising; and a wonderful method it can be for creating the illusion of progress while producing confusion, inefficiency and demoralisation. Will this be Canberra for the next four years?

With a Green in Cabinet I think this is possible. Clearly those who advocated the Greens take a ministry had never ever studied political history or they would have realised that while a majority of Greens are environmentalists many of their leaders are Fabians those modern Utopians committed to the idea that Government is boss not the people.

But a bigger question: in four years if Canberra isn’t any different what will Canberra voters do? Will they dismiss the Liberal opposition as no better? I suspect many wanted give the Liberals a go at the last election and had Malcolm Turnbull not Tony Abbott been leading the Federal Liberal Party the ACT Liberals might well have had a majority of votes and seats.

Blog: Allan Takes Aim; web: https://donallan.wordpress.com

30 Responses to "ACT Politics"

You have a nice site over here. I just wanna thank you for all the interesting info on it. I’ll follow your weblog if you keep up the good work!

Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs?
I have a blog based on the same information you discuss and
would love to have you share some stories/information.

I know my subscribers would value your work. If you
are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

Bruno, I could be interested.end me details. Blog: Allan takes Aim; web: https://donallan.wordpress.com; e-mail: dca@netspeed.com.au

Keep functioning ,splendid job!

It’s really a nice and helpful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you simply shared this useful information with
us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Hi there, after reading this remarkable article i am too glad to share my experience here with friends.

Fine way of telling, and good paragraph to take information concerning my presentation subject, which i am
going to deliver in school.

This is my first time visit at here and i am truly impressed to read everthing
at one place.

always i used to read smaller content which as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading here.

It is really a nice and useful piece of information.

I am satisfied that you shared this useful info with us.
Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended
up losing months of hard work due to no data backup.
Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

Nothing technical just make sure you backup. Regards, Don

Hi there, yes this piece of writing is in fact nice
and I have learned lot of things from it on the topic of blogging.
thanks.

You should be a part of a contest for one of the
finest websites on the net. I’m going to recommend this web site!

Ahaa, its good conversation regarding this piece of writing here at this
website, I have read all that, so now me also commenting here.

What i do not realize is if truth be told how you’re not actually a lot more well-favored than you might be right now. You are very intelligent. You already know thus considerably when it comes to this matter, produced me personally consider it from numerous varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t
interested unless it’s something to accomplish with Woman gaga! Your personal stuffs nice. At all times handle it up!

I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for.

Do you offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome web log!

Great information. Lucky me I discovered your site
by accident (stumbleupon). I have saved as a favorite for later!

Send me something and l’ll consider it. But don’t forget: this is a free site. And if you want to send soemthing send it dirtect toe me in text to: dca@netspeed.com.au
Regards,
Don
Web: https://donallan.wordpress.com

Thanks on your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage you to continue your great job, have a nice afternoon!

Fastidious respond in return of this difficulty with
firm arguments and describing everything on the topic of that.

Greetings I am so thrilled I found your website, I really
found you by mistake, while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else,
Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a incredible post and a all
round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb job.

Hi! I’ve been reading your weblog for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the great job!

I do accept as true with all of the concepts you
have introduced in your post. They are very convincing
and will certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for starters.

Could you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time?
Thanks for the post.

Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my
twitter group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

Share it by all means but don’t forget to add my website details: https://donallan.wordpress.com

Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all people you really realize what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly also talk over with my website =). We can have a link change contract among us

You can definitely see your expertise in the work you write.

The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe.
All the time go after your heart.

It’s going to be end of mine day, however before ending I am reading this fantastic piece of writing to improve my knowledge.

… [Trackback]…

[…] There you will find 97672 more Infos: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/11/14/act-politics-2/ […]…

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
