Allan Takes Aim Blog

ACT opinions

Posted on: 18 November 2012


A difference problem

As I write this piece I look back to the distant past then look ahead and try to imagine the distant future. Unfortunately too few people have any real idea of the past and not enough imagination to conjure up a realistic image of a distant future. However, the past that many people think they know is a created past they feel comfortable with that is set in a society that never existed.

This caused many problems when, following the advent of mass travel and in hope of advancing themselves materially they decided to travel and settle in Australia, America, Canada and Africa. Like Alfred trying to stem the tide the residents of these of lands objected when the travellers tried to impose on them their customs and cultures. This caused confrontation and its accompanying brutality and, as has been the case for centuries, the people who came to dominate were the people best prepared for confrontation.

In the case of Australia the dominant people at the time were the British, the less dominant, people from Asia and Europe and Australia’s Aboriginal inhabitants. I am in doubt either that what accounts for some of the internal problems America and Australia are experiencing today, is due to the fact that they started life as British penal colonies.

It is also natural that they would use the British system of society with its attendant racial class and creed problems, as the role model for Australia. Had they been able to see into the future they may have done things differently. That said, it is unfortunate that, as Australia has progressed and its society changed, some people continue to exhibit those original cultures of race, class and creed.

If only a country had existed that Australia could have copied where those problems have been solved. That said, there is no use Australia looking back at those days through rose coloured glasses and wishing things were different.

At the same time Australians would forget the history of the land from whence past generations had come and so too would Australia’s Aboriginals. Thus it was inevitable that, over time, Australia would develop new customs, culture and to some degree language and as was common in many cultures would experience miscegenation. The result: as time went by it would become very difficult if not impossible to recognise some people as Aboriginal.

Sadly this has resulted today in a man who would fight tooth and nail to ensure that every person, white, black, brown or any of the various shades of white such as Arabic would be treated as he himself would like to be treated, being called a racist.

This man is not an Aboriginal but Indigenous, having been born, brought up and educated in Australia. His genetic background would be celtic, perhaps with viking genes. His colour is white.

To help flesh out the picture I am an Indigenous not an Aboriginal Scot (I only wish I could claim that distinction) whose genetic heritage might be the same as the accused man but without the same dose of the intelligence gene.

The fact that this man is being sued for $6 million for having passed a comment that he couldn’t see his accuser as other than white would put him among millions of other Australians, including non miscegenated Aboriginals, who think the same.

The only thing this suit will achieve is to further widen the divide between Aboriginal Australians and Indigenous Australians that the accused man has spent a good part of his life trying to eradicate.
I think his accuser should think carefully before going further.

What say you?

Blog: Allan Takes Aim; web: https://donallan.wordpress.com

15 Responses to "ACT opinions"

Aboriginal: “being the first or earliest known of its kind present in a region” – Merriam-Webster dictionary.

I don’t generally comment on local Autralian matters, not being one myself and I can’t claim any particular familiarity with what I assume is the Andrew Bolt case prior to this blog posting. Since I can’t find information on the suit itself I will confine my comment to other matters.

I have always found the idea of an aboriginal strange. Humans are, according to paleontology are native to the Great Rift Valley in Africa where we are both aboriginal and indigenous. In every other part of the globe we are an invasive species. A rather successful one at that. Native Americans, to site one example, are not “native” to North America. Neither were the Clovis people before them, nor the Vikings or perhaps even the Chinese if it is even proven they came to America as some say. This holds true for Europeans, Asians, all of the New World, Pacific Islanders and every other color and geographic area. Aboriginal, viewed this way simply means “we got there first” making Neil Armstrong a lunar aboriginal, had he stayed. A thought that is both amusing and provacative as we venture into outer space. Another example closer to home is Emilio Marcos Palma, born on January 7, 1978 to Argentine parents at Esperanza, Hope Bay, near the tip of the Antarctic peninsula. The first child born in Antarctica.

These are both somewhat silly examples, of course for various reasons, but they help to show that the the line between “them and us” is not always so clear. Barring outright liars, frauds and the mentally ill I submit that one’s personal identity is up to oneself. I myself was born in Scotland but having spent more time in elevators than in the land of my birth I in no way consider myself a Scot.

As for Mr. Bolt, he is just another example of those who have eyes but can not see. Whether he is guilty under Austrailian law is a matter for the courts. Personally, I tend to agree with Voltaire on matter of speech. Even distasteful speech such as this. “Je désapprouve ce que vous dites, mais je défendrai à la mort votre droit à le dire”.

Scott,

My dictionary preference is the OECD.

On your Great Rift Valley comments in January 2010 an article of mine ‘We’re all a paler shade of black’ was published in Online Opinion, Australia’s biggest online newspaper.

Reconciliation News, published by Reconcilaition Australia a national organisation funded by but not operated by the Australian government, requested my permission to publish the article under the title ‘We’re all a shade of black.’ The article appeared in the May edition.

As to the question of identity, rather sadly this is a limiting factor in the quest for peace. In your case perhaps you should be pushing for a chnage to the American Consitution.

On your Voltaire reference the quotation you cite was actually written by Engishwoman Susan Hall, writing as S.G. Tallentyre. AS Voltaire express the same sentiments I am surprised you find the words distasteful.

Regards,
Don

I will be very surprised to see in my life any change to the American Constitution. I’m shocked when they can pass a budget.

As for Voltaire it was not his sentiment I find distasteful, but Bolt’s and I was aware of the misattribution but it has becaome legend so I chose not to belabor it.

I was just browsing for related blog posts for my project research and I happened to discover yours. Thanks for the useful information!

Nice post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I am impressed! Very helpful info particularly the closing part 🙂 I maintain such information a lot. I used to be looking for this certain information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

I’m a extended time watcher and I just considered I’d drop by and say hello there there for your quite 1st time.

I seriously enjoy your posts. Many thanks
You are my role designs. Thanks for the write-up

… [Trackback]…

[…] There you will find 71811 more Infos: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/3247/ […]…

I am curious to obtain out what blog platform you have been
using? I’m having some little security problems with my latest website and I’d for example to discover something more risk-free.
Do you have any other advice?

An attention-grabbing discussion is worth comment.
I think that you need to write more on this subject, it may not be a taboo topic then
again typically persons are not sufficient to speak on such topics.
To the next. Cheers

… [Trackback]…

[…] Find More Informations here: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/3247/ […]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] Read More: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/3247/ […]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] Read More here: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/3247/ […]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] Read More: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/3247/ […]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] There you will find 61383 more Infos: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/3247/ […]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] Read More here: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/3247/ […]…

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
