Allan Takes Aim Blog

Cornucopia Day

Posted on: 24 November 2012


A Cornucopian Celebration

AS it is being touted as one of the world’s great food bowls, it seems odd that Australia doesn’t have a national day of celebration similar to, but not a copy of America’s Thanksgiving Day. I thought of Bounty Day but dropped it because bounty in Australia has more association with the sea than with food.

Garden Of Eden Day also came to mind. However, I discarded this too, because the religious associations attached to that name attribute Australia’s creation to God. That said, I think the name would not have national appeal and nor would it appeal to atheists or agnostics or people whose religion contains no reference to the Garden of Eden.

Trying to find a suitable name was turning out to be harder than I thought although I knew there was a word lurking in the back of my mind that would fit the bill if only I could remember it. And so I continued tapping away at my keyboard all the while wishing the cloud of forgetfulness that was obscuring my thoughts would let a ray of remembrance light up that forgotten word.

However, the delay remembering the word did some good because as I was tapped away at the computer keyboard I remembered the saying: ‘be careful what you wish for’ because if your wish comes true it might bring with it a number of unintended consequences. I can testify to the apparent truth of that saying because on more than one occasion without and getting my wish, I got more than I bargained for.

But nothing ventured, nothing gained and so I carried on wishing. Although it took more than a day I am pleased to report the word did come back. I hope you like it?

The word was ‘Cornucopia,’ which I like not only because it carries the connotation of Australia as a land of milk and honey but word that in essence also described its resources such as iron ore, copper, aluminium, timber, uranium, rare earth metals and the tourism resources that are part of the Cornucopia loked up in itas vast and spectacular landscape.

And as I kept saying Cornucopia Day to myself, I liked it even more.

A second reason for like Cornucopia Day is that it would be would be a day of celebration different to Australia Day which on 26th January commemorates the arrival of the First Fleet in 1788 in Sydney Cove. It would be different because Cornucopia Day would be a celebration of all the things discovered and being added to since then, and into the future, that has made Australia, and will continue to make it, a desirable country in to live in.

A third reason I like the idea of a Cornucopia Day is that it is not an imported ceremony but a home based creation based on creations of its first people and the creations of a continuing flow of migrants, whether refugees or asylum seekers. This is a ceremony that could make its home in Canberra (the meeting place) as an example to all Australians and also make them aware of the value of their bounty.

The first Cornucopia Day could be celebrated in 2013, Canberra’s centenary year.

Blog: Allan Takes Aim; Web: https://donallan.wordpress.com

1 Response to "Cornucopia Day"

Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you have done a very good job with this. Also, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Firefox. Outstanding Blog.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
