Allan Takes Aim Blog

Pain, Politics, Common Sense and Dimming Memory

Posted on: 5 December 2012


There have been no posts from me lately not because my computer had broken down but because some parts of the human computer (me) were not functioning properly. It was only to be expected that of the many spare parts I’ve had to have installed over the years due to losing an argument – not with Boadicea my consort, which I do regularly- but with a tree while driving a car, that one of those parts decided it had enough and so sent me a message.

You’ve probably guessed already that I’m talking about the excruciating pain that attends such breakdown in body parts. It is of the same kind of pain experienced when one’s ears are assailed by politician voters were silly enough to elect, when they orate with what they think is wisdom that Solomon would envy. Little do they realise their wisdom is so poor that it will destroy their party’s political image something that Labor, Green and Liberal politicians are engaged in doing to their parties today.

NB. There is a difference in the pain: the pain I fell is in my hip while the pain given by the politicians is in the neck.

You might not agree with me but, in my opinion, computers are making common sense redundant. Once upon a time people actually thought before answering questions whereas today they say hang on a minute not, as you imagine to give them time to think about how they’re going to answer. No the hanging on time is to give them time to log on to Google, Twitter, Facebook or one of the many other alleged sources of wisdom that can be found on the internet. The result: instead of a getting a wide variety of answers what we get are answers that sound as if they come from robots in repetition mode.

As Christmas nears, the truth is that my emotional memory comes on like a sickness that no amount of money or success will ever cure. This happens to me because although I came from a family that suffered from financial poverty I have emotional memories of two or three family generations because in those far gone days, not only did families live close together they also fought and celebrated together.

However, as the world changed so too did families; they broke up. Some of the family moved far away and in in some cases very far away, as in my own case and.as was the case of two brothers and a sister. In turn they each began new lives, made new friends and if marriage took place they became members of another family even as they, themselves, were starting a new family. These changes were often the prelude to fading memories of the original family not because they had forgotten them but due to the fact that not only daily but annual association and longer also ceased.

And then, as members of the original family move closer to departing this mortal coil, for some, these memories of how they laughed, cried, played and celebrated those special times of the year, such as their birthday or that of brothers, sisters, Halloween, Christmas and New Year together, disappeared. Those who retained these memories treated them as treasures brought out regularly so as to give some meaning to life.

It is in this context that as older people lose the capacity to adapt to the new norms of life, they become prisoners of emotional memories, a point that often seems to escape the notice of social engineering experts.

Blog: Allan Takes Aim; web: https://donallan.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
