Allan Takes Aim Blog

A short Christmas blog

Posted on: 24 December 2012


As I write this short blog it is 7.30pm on Christmas Eve in Canberra, Australia. The temperature is still 18 degree C a drop from 35 degrees C. Even after forty three years in Austraiia I still find it difficult to equate the latter temperature with Christmas.

Also an agnostic, I had almost decided not to do a Christmas blog but then changed my mind. That I changed my mind was not because I had suddenly been reconverted to a belief in God but because I think the idea of a God might be no more fanciful that some of the ideas in history that people have come to believe in.

The fact is that as a religion only 2,000 years old, Christianity is only a babe in arms compared to other religions still being practiced today. For example Paganism is still extant and practiced, as is Animism, Zoroastrianism, Judaism, and a host of other beliefs that existed long before Christianity was born. And that is not to mention the many other religions in Asia that were not known about in the Roman world.

And who can prove that Animistic, Jewish or Pagan Gods didn’t have the same powers allegedly held by the Christian God. Although the foundation of these beliefs took root thousands of years before Christianity, their followers all managed to invest them with a hierarchy of high and low priests a practice that continues to this day even in the Christian church.

At the same time, some of these ancient religions had priestesses. Unfortunately the males in the larger groups of pre Christian believers identified God as male, also an identification that continues to this day. Curiously smaller Christian Churches today have re-appointed women as priests while the larger Christian Churches are split on the matter. Little wonder that the proverb attributed to Jean-Baptise Alphonse Karr (1808 -1890) but likely based on a phrase by Aristotle that ‘everything changes but everything stays the same,’ is still in common use.

A prime goal of all churches is the pursuit of peace. And while my wish for Christmas is fanciful and having realised long ago that not only is it unachievable but that it would take the miracle of miracles for it to ever happen, nonetheless my wish for Universal Peace in the world remains.

Now you might think that by my words I am unduly pessimistic; not so: I am merely expressing an opinion that has grown in my thinking over many years. To some extent peace is a universal value. Unfortunately it has also become a commodity that some people use as they pursue their ambition for power.

Indeed the word peace has become so devalued it has lost its meaning and become the shibboleth of politicians, demagogues, dictators, religious leaders and leaders of military regimes who use it to support the falsehood that theirs is the way to peace if people would only support them.

Would that it was otherwise, but unfortunately, no one can guarantee peace.

But fanciful or not let me say to all my readers, do what you can for peace because it seems to me that peace will come only when those whose religion is war are defeated when they meet the might of all people who want peace.

Merry Christmas Blog: Allan Takes Aim; web: https://donallan.wordpress.com; e-mail: dca@netspeed.com.au v

14 Responses to "A short Christmas blog"

…Take a look for more Information on that topic…

[…]you make blogging glance[…]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] Find More Informations here: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/a-short-christmas-blog/ […]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] Read More Infos here: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/a-short-christmas-blog/ […]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] Read More here: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/a-short-christmas-blog/ […]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] Read More here: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/a-short-christmas-blog/ […]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] Read More here: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/a-short-christmas-blog/ […]…

This is the right A short Christmas blog Allan Takes Aim Blog blog for anyone who wants to move out out virtually this subject. You asking so some its almost tiring to represent with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new revolve on a message thats been codified near for years. Metropolis meaninglessness, simply eager!

… [Trackback]…

[…] Find More Informations here: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/a-short-christmas-blog/ […]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] Read More Infos here: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/a-short-christmas-blog/ […]…

… [Trackback]…

[…] There you will find 43296 more Infos: donallan.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/a-short-christmas-blog/ […]…

Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard
against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve
worked hard on. Any suggestions?

Why not e-mail your administrator at yahoo to see if they can advise. Don

What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively
useful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & aid different
users like its aided me. Great job.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
